Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      I found this recipe very versatile as I did not have a few of the ingredients on hand and substituted veggies and added other spices to it. I used 2.5 lb of london broil and followed the cooking times to a T- came out perfect!!! Thankyou ever so much for a keeper!! (This was my first time. making beef stew.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Here is a great hearty stew with lots of great flavors, and one that my family and I really enjoyed. We sopped up the gravy with Shirley's Homemade Biscuits, that we had on the side. We will make this often this winter when the weather is cold and we want something to warm our tummies! Great stew Wildflour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      my family and i enjoyed this. next time we'll omit the corn..just our preference. thanks for sharing a great stew recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      This was great! It was very easy to make. Everybody liked it. Thanks for posting! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I cannot use this recipe!Far too much sodium!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I wanted to make a good stew for my grandmother who's sick with the cold right now. This turned out very very good! The meat was really tender and my grandmother loved it! If I could phisically eat the entire pot I would, still have plenty of leftovers for tomorrow YUM! I didn't have the stewed tomatoes so used fresh ones and added an extra 2 cups water. I substutited the Crisco for olive oil and 2 garlic cloves for the garlic powder. Didn't have pepper flakes so added black pepper and extra pinch of chili powder to compensate. I added a small can of peas, 3/4 cup celery, 1 small can of green beans, and only used one large onion. This is really really good and easy will be making it over and over again. Thank you Wildflour!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I made this last night wanting something warm as the colder weather is here in NY. Your picture sold me!! I did cut back on the red pepper flakes using 1/8 tsp. because I have one here who doesn't do spicy. I omitted the corn, again due to one not able to eat corn. Next time I will increase the red pepper flakes. We all agreed it needed more spicing up. I will also add the corn to bowls for use who can eat it. Otherwise this is now in the keeper file! Thank you for sharing your recipe! I`ll be making another batch to freeze so I have it on hand and ready to re-heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Ok, I had to adjust some things to what I had on hand and didn't have, so this is what I did. I was out of paprika, but other than that I used the spices called for. I coated the beef cubes with cornstarch and spices, and browned them in vegetable oil. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used a can of crushed tomatoes, cut the chili powder to about two tsp, left out the bay leaf, never use them. everything else I did as directed. I simmered the beef for about 2 hrs so it would be nice and tender. I also added some frozen green beans I needed to use up along with the other vegetables and used corn starch to thicken and added the corn at the end, It was delicious and a nice change from the usual beef stew. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I started this at noon for dinner, and by 2 when it was done i had to have some. Being 6 months pregnant its hard to find things i want to eat, and i've had 2 bowls of this already. It really has a good flavor. I don't like whole tomatos, so i used a can of tomato sauce (8 oz.), and that worked fine for me. I also didn't use the red pepper flakes, so my 3 year old could have some. Letting it simmer a little longer the sauce thickened perfect without any starch. Hopefully i'll have some left to freeze for my husband so he can taste it when he gets home next week. Thanks for a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Delicious - no need to make any adjustments! Not too hot, not too bland - just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This stew was very good. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Very easy to make, and delicious... a great zest of spice. Quicker to "stew" than most stews but tastes better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      We all really enjoyed this very much! It tasted wonderful! When I make it again I will cut back on the tomatoes and add a little more beef broth, just personal taste. Thanks peacefulnightdove....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      Very good! I used a london broil, that I cubed up. I served it again the next day, and MAN! it was even better!! I think I'd like it with some corn and green beans in it next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      I really enjoyed this new recipe for beef stew while my husband thought it was too tomato-y. I liked it so much that I'm going to make it agian and cut the tomatoes in half and all more beef broth. Great recipe though that I'm going to try again!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      I really enjoyed this stew. It's different than what I usually make. I left out the corn and I didn't have the red pepper flakes so I added a couple of tbs. of chipotle salsa at the end. I think I would like it a little spicier tho, so I'll add the pepper to my shopping list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      This stew was very good. I used some extra cayenne pepper and chili powder. We like spicy food and loved this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Very tasty. I liked the heat that the chili powder and the red pepper flakes added. I think next time I will cut the meat a little smaller (personal preference) and will cook longer. I found my meat to be a little tough. The flavor was great, the smell was amazing. It was the perfect thing for the first snow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This is a fabulous stew, with quite a kick! I've made this twice in two weeks now and have really enjoyed it both times. I used a beef brisket that I cut into cubes, so I simmered it about 1 1/2 hours in the broth and tomatoes, rather than 45 minutes as stated to make sure it turns out tender. Apart from that I followed the recipe directly and it came out wonderful. Really spicy and flavoursome. The meat was lovely and tender and the veg still had a bit of a bite to them, just how I like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Ten stars! The whole family raved about how good this stew is. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was perfect as written. Just enough spice to be wonderful. It's going in my "Perfection" cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (508 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    35%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 100.9 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1151.7 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 35.8 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites