50 Reviews

I enjoyed this but left out the pepper flakes since I wasn't sure the kids would eat it if spicy. I did let it cook for longer than stated to ensure that the beef was tender. I added green beans as well as corn. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 November 12, 2015

This is the best stew ever.I put this in the pressure cooker for thirty minutes before letting is simmer on low for the rest of the day.deserves more stars....good job and thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwyatt4400 March 06, 2015

Wow would give you more stars if I could. Made this just like the recipe said. Cooked it low and slow on the stove. YUMMY. Highly recommend this. Husband loved it and then I took it to work and they all loved it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alayane May 19, 2014

I have made this stew twice. 1st time I floured and browned the meat, then put it and everything else in the crock pot. 2nd time I just put it all in the crock. I cooked them both on high x1.5hrs and low x5-7hrs and it was EXCELLENT each time. I added the corn starch about an hour before serving each time. I omitted the salt and sugar. I added a can of green chiles, cumin, cayenne pepper, and Mexican oregano. I used low sodium beef broth and 2 cans Trader Joe's fire roasted tomatoes chopped in the blender first. I didn't have onions on hand so both times I subbed 2 Tbsp. onion powder. <br/>We LOVE this recipe! It has so much more flavor than my old stew recipe. This is our new "go to" for stew! Thank you Wildfour! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ima Cookin' April 20, 2014

"It took me several years to perfect this recipe" really! I slopped mine together in 15 minutes and added some Vietnamese corn. It's a groovin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andropolis October 12, 2013

Very tasty. We too cooked this longer for tenderer meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 16, 2011

I made this recipe as shown with minor changes (butter and olive oil instead of crisco). This stew had a nice hint of spice (used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/8 tsp cayenne powder). The only future change: simmer the meat longer to make the meat very tender. Otherwise, this is great comfort food. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JurgentheBarbarian December 03, 2009

Wonderful stew. My prior attempts at stew were not very flavorful and this recipe hit the spot. I had ground beef on hand instead of roast and I used a little less spice (for my daughter's benefit), but it was still great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlbro1 October 14, 2009

This was pretty good. I did not use all the tomatoes and I had to use chicken broth and put some beef boul. in it. I also put in some wine. really good flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mslola October 03, 2009
Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew