48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow would give you more stars if I could. Made this just like the recipe said. Cooked it low and slow on the stove. YUMMY. Highly recommend this. Husband loved it and then I took it to work and they all loved it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alayane May 19, 2014

I have made this stew twice. 1st time I floured and browned the meat, then put it and everything else in the crock pot. 2nd time I just put it all in the crock. I cooked them both on high x1.5hrs and low x5-7hrs and it was EXCELLENT each time. I added the corn starch about an hour before serving each time. I omitted the salt and sugar. I added a can of green chiles, cumin, cayenne pepper, and Mexican oregano. I used low sodium beef broth and 2 cans Trader Joe's fire roasted tomatoes chopped in the blender first. I didn't have onions on hand so both times I subbed 2 Tbsp. onion powder. <br/>We LOVE this recipe! It has so much more flavor than my old stew recipe. This is our new "go to" for stew! Thank you Wildfour! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ima Cookin' April 20, 2014

"It took me several years to perfect this recipe" really! I slopped mine together in 15 minutes and added some Vietnamese corn. It's a groovin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andropolis October 12, 2013

Very tasty. We too cooked this longer for tenderer meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 16, 2011

I made this recipe as shown with minor changes (butter and olive oil instead of crisco). This stew had a nice hint of spice (used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/8 tsp cayenne powder). The only future change: simmer the meat longer to make the meat very tender. Otherwise, this is great comfort food. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JurgentheBarbarian December 03, 2009

Wonderful stew. My prior attempts at stew were not very flavorful and this recipe hit the spot. I had ground beef on hand instead of roast and I used a little less spice (for my daughter's benefit), but it was still great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlbro1 October 14, 2009

This was pretty good. I did not use all the tomatoes and I had to use chicken broth and put some beef boul. in it. I also put in some wine. really good flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mslola October 03, 2009

I love this recipe, I used chicken and chicken broth instead of beef and it was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IH8Bacon September 04, 2009

I found this a bit sweet and my husband that eats anything didnt eat the sauce. I did everything by the book and only added 1/4 tsp sugar .He thought I put ketchup in it.I am sorry I wish I could give it a 5 I made this for ZWT5 for the Cooks with Dirty faces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda May 17, 2009
Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew