Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2007

      FANTASTIC! I must admit that I "cheated" a little and just threw everything in a crockpot and turned in on low for 8 hours (did not cook meat first). I also added 2 tbls of cornstarch the last hour to thicken it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Love this recipe and all the flavors! I have made several times now and usually make this in the crock pot. I love to add fresh corn, green beans, tomatoes, onions and potatoes from my garden. This is a great way to use them. Perfect Fall comfort food! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      My Gf and I just tried this recipe. It is scrumpdillyicious! Love it! It is just spicy enough to be interesting and just a little sweet. I'm definitely keeping this one in my files for later!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Amazing! The most flavorful stew I have ever made. It was just delish and we were fighting over the leftover. Will definitely make again . . . and again . . . and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      One of the best stews I have ever had- extremely tasty. Most beef stews seem have red wine- which I do like- but this is a nice spicy change. I browned the meat, then threw everything into the crockpot for 8 hours, and it was amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Great flavor! My husband and I loved it. I only used one onion. I needed more beef broth probably because I made it in my electric skillet which I think cooks hotter than the stove top. I used frozen corn and frozen green beans. Due to needing more beef broth I did not need the corn starch and it was good and thick. I served it with #26110 (Southern Buttermilk Biscuits). Very yummy dinner! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Fixed this stew for dinner today and was great. I was in the mood for a thick rich tasting stew with kick and this fit the bill. Like many others I put my own twist on some of the ingred. I only used 1 1/2 lbs. of meat and had plenty of meat in stew. Had some fresh mushrooms and put them in instead of carrots. Was plenty thick without cornstarch. Will definitely fix again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I've made this a couple of times, even used venison stew meat. I liked it best leaving out the potatoes and serving it over mashed potatoes. Not sure why just do. Great flavor and you can make it as "sparky" as you like adjusting the red pepper flakes. Easy as well. Thanks Wildflour!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      My family loved it. I added cumin, curry, and a little chipolte powder to the flour mixture along with some white and black pepper. I sauteed the onions in the leftover oil after browning the meat. I used one can broth and one soup can of V8. After the stew cooked for 45 minutes I added about 1/4 to 1/2 a can of extra broth and a vegetable stew mix that had okra, corn, etc. in it. The stew didn't need to be thickened at all. It was wonderfully rich and had a depth of flavors.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      Wow would give you more stars if I could. Made this just like the recipe said. Cooked it low and slow on the stove. YUMMY. Highly recommend this. Husband loved it and then I took it to work and they all loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      I have made this stew twice. 1st time I floured and browned the meat, then put it and everything else in the crock pot. 2nd time I just put it all in the crock. I cooked them both on high x1.5hrs and low x5-7hrs and it was EXCELLENT each time. I added the corn starch about an hour before serving each time. I omitted the salt and sugar. I added a can of green chiles, cumin, cayenne pepper, and Mexican oregano. I used low sodium beef broth and 2 cans Trader Joe's fire roasted tomatoes chopped in the blender first. I didn't have onions on hand so both times I subbed 2 Tbsp. onion powder. <br/>We LOVE this recipe! It has so much more flavor than my old stew recipe. This is our new "go to" for stew! Thank you Wildfour! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      "It took me several years to perfect this recipe" really! I slopped mine together in 15 minutes and added some Vietnamese corn. It's a groovin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

    • on July 16, 2011

      Very tasty. We too cooked this longer for tenderer meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I made this recipe as shown with minor changes (butter and olive oil instead of crisco). This stew had a nice hint of spice (used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/8 tsp cayenne powder). The only future change: simmer the meat longer to make the meat very tender. Otherwise, this is great comfort food. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Wonderful stew. My prior attempts at stew were not very flavorful and this recipe hit the spot. I had ground beef on hand instead of roast and I used a little less spice (for my daughter's benefit), but it was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This was pretty good. I did not use all the tomatoes and I had to use chicken broth and put some beef boul. in it. I also put in some wine. really good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I love this recipe, I used chicken and chicken broth instead of beef and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I found this a bit sweet and my husband that eats anything didnt eat the sauce. I did everything by the book and only added 1/4 tsp sugar .He thought I put ketchup in it.I am sorry I wish I could give it a 5 I made this for ZWT5 for the Cooks with Dirty faces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      It's edible is about the most positive thing I can say about this stew. I know a lot of people on this site really liked it but neither I nor anyone in my family really cared for the flavor. I won't be make this recipe again. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kelly's Southwestern Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (508 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    35%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 100.9 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1151.7 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 35.8 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites