63 Reviews

One of my favorite recipes! The house smells wonderful while it is cooking. After searing the meat, I put everything in the crockpot and the house will smell amazing all day! I also like to de-glaze the pan with a little beef broth after I sear the meat to get all the good flavor from the there and I add it to the pot.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April in NV August 30, 2010

This is great! I used a 2.88lb chuck eye roast and added more mustard and horseradish to it after tasting the "gravy". I used a crock pot, skipped the browning in the skillet and just salt and peppered the roast and spread the horseradish/mustard mixture on both sides. I layered the onions, potatoes and carrots and added the beef broth, I didn't feel a need to add butter. Next time I think I'll actually use less broth. The final result after letting it cook for 10 hours on low was VERY tender meat and delious "gravy". My husband rated this a 9.5, which means he really liked it as he has never rated anything a 10.....yet!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdubb07 January 03, 2010

Another five star review! I loved telling my mustard and horseradish hating family the secret... after the raved about the pot roast! "HORSERADISH?!?!?" :) The flavor was very mellow and almost sweet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DriveThruDodger January 12, 2010

My husband went out and got me a new crockpot; it was a more than subtle message that he wanted me to make him some pot roast! I picked your recipe because he likes horseradish, whole grain mustard and everything else listed! The only thing I changed was to add a little bit of celery at my husband's request. Well, I don't really even like pot roast but I found myself more than picking at this one, Kelly! My hubby must have liked it because it's gone and he bought another chuck roast last night when he went to the store!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rma123 July 27, 2007

This was wonderful and the aroma while it was cooking had all our tummies rumbling!! I used an almost 3 lb. boneless beef chuck roast,a few more carrots,Zaterains Creole Mustard, and added 1/2 t. of Kitchen Bouquet to darken the gravy a little. The pot roast sliced neatly and the flavor of the horseradish and mustard were nicely tempered after the long cooking time.Thanks, Kelly, for a definite keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas February 05, 2006

OMG This was so perfect. I have been looking and looking for a pot roast with a rich dark gravy. The only thing I changed was I mashed potatoes instead of putting the potatoes in . A true winner. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars, because it more than deserves it. Leftovers freeze really well too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada January 27, 2014

Hands down the best roast I ever made and the house smelled amazing. I followed the recipe exactly except forgot to turn it once or twice - it was still very moist. I am not a huge roast lover but I can definitely see myself craving this one - YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelliCanCook January 16, 2013

Thank you so much for an excellent recipe! The reviews were very helpful and I read them AFTER I put it in the oven! I was salivating as I seared the meat and spread the horseradish mustard sauce over what was soon to be the bottom of the roast! My husband enjoyed the gravy more than most gravy I have cooked! The only tweak I did was to rub it with Spade L seasoning instead of salt and pepper. This made excellent enchiladas the next day. I had a rather large roast and was concerned about it drying out, but I used a roasting pan in the oven and actually had to discard some of the broth. It was not dry like the other reviews I read. I WILL be using this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TSwearingen September 22, 2010

I was getting really hungry just waiting for this roast to be done. I was not disappointed, either. I made a few changes to the recipe, to suit my tastes and to cut the fat. I didn't use any oil or butter at all. I seared the meat in a dry cast iron Dutch oven. I think I was able to do it dry because the meat was still frozen. I did get a nice crust all around. I added 3 cloves of garlic, 2 celery stalks, cut the carrots down to 4 and omitted the potatoes (I don't like carrots or potatoes cooked with pot roast for some reason). I put the vegetables in the bottom of the Dutch oven as a rack and used chicken stock instead of beef as I had no beef stock on hand. Because my roast was still frozen, I left it in the oven at 300 for 4 hours, and it turned out very well. But, the piece de resistance (so to speak) was the "gravy" I made using the vegetables and some of the liquid in the bottom of the pan. I pureed most of the vegetables and half the liquid in the blender, added a little salt, pepper and an additional tablespoon of mustard. YUM! I think those who find the recipe bland would certainly appreciate this use of some of the vegetables and sauce. We very much enjoyed this recipe and will be using it again. Thank you, Wildflour!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 March 07, 2010

It is amazing how tastes differ. Even my vegetarian wife said how great this roast smelled while it was cooking. I expected to bite into the most savory meat I ever tasted. Instead it was so bland I couldn't believe it. I had to review the recipe to make sure I hadn't left anything out. At a minimum it needs a little more salt. Still, with an aroma like that it has potential. I will make it again and work on getting more flavor into the meat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DBreeze March 02, 2010
Kelly's Midwest " Cold Remedy" Pot Roast