Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kelly's Midwest " Cold Remedy" Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kelly's Midwest " Cold Remedy" Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2010

      One of my favorite recipes! The house smells wonderful while it is cooking. After searing the meat, I put everything in the crockpot and the house will smell amazing all day! I also like to de-glaze the pan with a little beef broth after I sear the meat to get all the good flavor from the there and I add it to the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This is great! I used a 2.88lb chuck eye roast and added more mustard and horseradish to it after tasting the "gravy". I used a crock pot, skipped the browning in the skillet and just salt and peppered the roast and spread the horseradish/mustard mixture on both sides. I layered the onions, potatoes and carrots and added the beef broth, I didn't feel a need to add butter. Next time I think I'll actually use less broth. The final result after letting it cook for 10 hours on low was VERY tender meat and delious "gravy". My husband rated this a 9.5, which means he really liked it as he has never rated anything a 10.....yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Another five star review! I loved telling my mustard and horseradish hating family the secret... after the raved about the pot roast! "HORSERADISH?!?!?" :) The flavor was very mellow and almost sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      My husband went out and got me a new crockpot; it was a more than subtle message that he wanted me to make him some pot roast! I picked your recipe because he likes horseradish, whole grain mustard and everything else listed! The only thing I changed was to add a little bit of celery at my husband's request. Well, I don't really even like pot roast but I found myself more than picking at this one, Kelly! My hubby must have liked it because it's gone and he bought another chuck roast last night when he went to the store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This was wonderful and the aroma while it was cooking had all our tummies rumbling!! I used an almost 3 lb. boneless beef chuck roast,a few more carrots,Zaterains Creole Mustard, and added 1/2 t. of Kitchen Bouquet to darken the gravy a little. The pot roast sliced neatly and the flavor of the horseradish and mustard were nicely tempered after the long cooking time.Thanks, Kelly, for a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      OMG This was so perfect. I have been looking and looking for a pot roast with a rich dark gravy. The only thing I changed was I mashed potatoes instead of putting the potatoes in . A true winner. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars, because it more than deserves it. Leftovers freeze really well too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Hands down the best roast I ever made and the house smelled amazing. I followed the recipe exactly except forgot to turn it once or twice - it was still very moist. I am not a huge roast lover but I can definitely see myself craving this one - YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Thank you so much for an excellent recipe! The reviews were very helpful and I read them AFTER I put it in the oven! I was salivating as I seared the meat and spread the horseradish mustard sauce over what was soon to be the bottom of the roast! My husband enjoyed the gravy more than most gravy I have cooked! The only tweak I did was to rub it with Spade L seasoning instead of salt and pepper. This made excellent enchiladas the next day. I had a rather large roast and was concerned about it drying out, but I used a roasting pan in the oven and actually had to discard some of the broth. It was not dry like the other reviews I read. I WILL be using this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I was getting really hungry just waiting for this roast to be done. I was not disappointed, either. I made a few changes to the recipe, to suit my tastes and to cut the fat. I didn't use any oil or butter at all. I seared the meat in a dry cast iron Dutch oven. I think I was able to do it dry because the meat was still frozen. I did get a nice crust all around. I added 3 cloves of garlic, 2 celery stalks, cut the carrots down to 4 and omitted the potatoes (I don't like carrots or potatoes cooked with pot roast for some reason). I put the vegetables in the bottom of the Dutch oven as a rack and used chicken stock instead of beef as I had no beef stock on hand. Because my roast was still frozen, I left it in the oven at 300 for 4 hours, and it turned out very well. But, the piece de resistance (so to speak) was the "gravy" I made using the vegetables and some of the liquid in the bottom of the pan. I pureed most of the vegetables and half the liquid in the blender, added a little salt, pepper and an additional tablespoon of mustard. YUM! I think those who find the recipe bland would certainly appreciate this use of some of the vegetables and sauce. We very much enjoyed this recipe and will be using it again. Thank you, Wildflour!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      It is amazing how tastes differ. Even my vegetarian wife said how great this roast smelled while it was cooking. I expected to bite into the most savory meat I ever tasted. Instead it was so bland I couldn't believe it. I had to review the recipe to make sure I hadn't left anything out. At a minimum it needs a little more salt. Still, with an aroma like that it has potential. I will make it again and work on getting more flavor into the meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I used horseradish mustard instead of horseradish and mustard. It was fantastic! Easy, great flavor. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      We loved this! It was very easy to make and made 3 full meals for us two on a 3.5lb roast (the gravy is wonderful on hot roast beef sandwiches later). I used a creole-style mustard and didn't use the onion because the DH doesn't like them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Excellent recipe! I was expecting a much greater "kick" from the horseradish and mustard, but this was a very mild pot roast. I halved the recipe but left the cooking time the same, and the result was a wonderfully tender roast. I am going to experiment with this recipe, increasing the horseradish/mustard mix to see what happens. As posted, this is absolutely delicious, and I'm so happy I made it. Anytime I'm home for an extended period of time I love to make something that makes my house smell wonderful, and this recipe certainly had everyone clamoring for dinner. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      I used this recipe with a sirloin tip roast and added rutabagas with the carrots and potatoes. Also, I made a gravy from the drippings. I mixed the horseradish with spicy brown mustard. My meat was really flavorful but the vegetables was a little bland. I think I will have to make this recipe a couple of times to perfect it. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      My whole family loved it; however it was much better the second day. I served it sliced with gravy, and the vegetables on the side the first night. DH gave it 3-1/2 stars and the kids and myself 4 stars. But on the second day I cut it into chunks and mixed it and the vegetables with the broth and the leftover gravy; it was soooo good! The chunks of meat were so tender and my kids even enjoyed the cooked carrots and onions, whereas normally I'm the only one who likes these. As previous reviewers said, the horseradish and mustard (spicy brown) complemented the flavors wonderfully; they were not overpowering. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Mmm, this was so good! Different from the regular recipe we use, and everyone enjoyed it. I especially loved the flavor from the horseradish, and served more alongside. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This is FABULOUS. I've made it again and again. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This was good, but I'm not sure if I'm a huge fan of the horseradish. I think just a personal preference issue. DH loved it and definitly wanted me to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      SIMPLY AMAZING! I'm not sure why the previous poster thought it was bland because this dish is BURSTING with the most incredible flavors! I only had one very small onion, but I had 3 shallots, so I sliced those up with the onion. Probably did add depth to the wonderful flavor, so maybe try this if you're concerned with blandness (which you really shouldn't be). My hubby LOVED it! I did make the gravy but didn't like it at all- just use 32 oz box of broth instead to have extra loveliness. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      From all of the reviews, I was truly looking forward to this one. I love mustard and horseradish, and everone was saying it had a wonderful flavor. Sadly, it turned out to be the blandest roast I've made in recent memory. The smell while cooking was great, but the taste of the mustard and horseradish nearly completely disappeared while cooking - and I used my own freshly prepared horseradish, not anything storebought - so it was VERY sharp and fresh. Only a hit was left in the carrots. Unanimous in this house was that it was all very, very bland. However, I think this recipe has some potential, so I'm going to play around with it, and hopefully I can find a way to make it more to our tastebud likings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kelly's Midwest " Cold Remedy" Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.0
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    32%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 969.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    arm roast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites