Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kelly's French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kelly's French Silk Chocolate Pie

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2010

      My Aunt Karen has been making this recipe for years. I finally asked her for the recipe and was surprised at how easy it is to make. You absolutely MUST continue beating the butter until the sugar granules disappear into it (5 minutes), and then you must beat each egg in seperately (approx 5 minutes each.) This makes it time consuming, and practically impossible to whip by hand. In fact, a Kitchen Aid type mixer will really work the best, but I have also done it with an electric hand mixer in a large bowl. Other than the time involved, it is very simple and completely delicious. My husband says it is "the height of decadence" and everyone I serve it to asks me for the recipe. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      I ate the whole thing in 12 hours. A mistake. Don't do that. This pie requires that someone ELSE serves you a small slice and hides the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Make sure you beat the eggs at least 8 minutes each time one is put into the bowl...I use the whipping paddle on my KitchenAid, instead of the regular one...made the filling higher and creamier...this was made for an event tonight and so many people asked about it...Great recipe! Served it in an Oreo cookie crust...with whipped cream on top. People wanted to take it home with them on a plate...after eating a piece, they wanted more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Great recipe. I made it using pasteurized eggs in a carton (1/2 cup=2 eggs), and substituted real whipped cream for the Cool Whip--very nice! Oreo crust on this one.

      The second time I made this, I did the mods above and also increased the baker's chocolate to 3 oz. and decreased the sugar to a rounded 1/2 cup (from 3/4 cup), for more of a dark chocolate taste--still plenty sweet. Graham cracker crust on this. Excellent either way! May try adding some brewed coffee to the mix if I do it again . . . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      I've been making this exact recipe for more than 25 years! I do sometimes add an extra half ounce of chocolate for a deeper color and flavor. I like it best with a real pie crust and serve whipped cream on the side if at all.. It needs to chill for much more than an hour, especially if you double it like I always do. (My recipe says chill overnight.) I highly recommend using a Metro blade on your KitchenAid; it does a fantastic job of scraping the bowl and dissolving the sugar. With it I only scrape manually twice, once before the second egg and then again at the end. These days I only serve this to close family and friends and maybe would try pasteurized eggs if serving to someone who is immunocompromised... but as far as I know in all the dozens (hundreds?) of times I've made it no one has gotten sick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      5 stars accross the board! This is one easy pie and although I wasn't crazy about the raw egg I still followed the recipe. I did use semi-sweet baking chocolate, only because I picked it up by mistake. It still tuned out awesome. My hubby loved it and said he's not crazy about french silk pies but loved this one. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      I made a double pie for Mother's Day - and I really liked it. I used cage free organic eggs (which I almost always do) because the idea of a pie with raw eggs kind of freaked me out a little. I made it with a stand mixer, beating 5 minutes on high using the whisk attachment after adding each PAIR of eggs (4 eggs total, 2 at a time). It came out really, really good. I couldn't bring myself to tell anyone that was eating it that there were raw eggs in it, but I felt a little guilty for not telling them. But, it was just wonderful. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I would give it more stars if I could! We made 19 of these pies for our church's dinner theatre fund raiser. We used Egg Beaters instead of whole eggs because they are pasteurized and I was concerned about the raw eggs. We also used whipped cream instead of Cool Whip. Everyone loved them. None of the plates came back with any pie left on them. Great recipe. We froze them and served them just slightly icy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      I have made this pie at least 10 times. This is my husband's favorite dessert hands down!! He requests it for every holiday/celebration. I usually use a oreo/chocolate cookie crumb crust and I always use homemade whipped cream. Make sure you follow the directions exactly and mix until sugar is no longer grainy in the butter and be sure to whip after each egg for at least 5 minutes. Fabulous recipe, thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Great light but rich pie. I used the paddle on my Kitchen Aide but switched to the whisk when adding the eggs. Made for a light but so good pie. Made a graham cracker crust which was great but may try chocolate next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      I've made this pie about 30 times now, over the past couple of years. It's one that's requested for every holiday and get together...by my church, my family, my friends, etc. This is the #1 best recipe I've ever stumbled upon. I did make it the last time using semi-sweet chocolate, as I'd run out of unsweetened and it was good, but definitely unsweetened is the way to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      Chocolate lovers--take note! This is over-the-top rich and delicious! I made this for our Christmas Day dessert and we LoVeD it! I followed Faux Chef Lael's tips to bring it to perfection: beat the butter and sugar a good 5 minutes, then beat each egg in for 5 minutes. Sooo good! Thanks Wildflour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      This pie is really good and very rich! A small slice goes a long way. I took it to a bbq and people loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This is just perfect! I doubled the recipe and poured it into a deep dish homemade graham cracker crust. Also, I made my own sweetened whipped cream to top the pie, not Cool Whip. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and it made this a breeze compared to when I made it with my hand mixer! So happy to have found this amazing crowd pleasing pie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Awesome! We loved it! Light and rich at the same time! I didn't use Cool Whip; I whipped my own whipping cream and sprinkled cocoa/confectioner's sugar mixture over it. Definitely goes on the list to make again! Go Steelers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Excellent french silk recipe and so easy to make! I crave this pie! Thank you for sharing, Wildflour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This is by far the best pie I have ever made! My DH loves this pie. He fell in love with french silk ice cream so I searched for the actual pie and here it is! It is perfect the way it is except DH likes the chocolate chunks placed on top of the pie instead of chocolate shavings!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      LOVED this recipe-- it was excellent and really came out beautiful with some chocolate shavings on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This recipe is perfect! My inlaws are coming down from out of state tonight and I wanted to make an orange chocolate silk pie for my FIL. I zested 1 orange and folded it into the melted chocolate. Perfection! The trick really is to beat the eggs at the end and separately for quite a long time to get the height right for the pie. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kelly's French Silk Chocolate Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.5
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    64%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 102.6 mg
    34%
    Sodium 28.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    100%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    8-inch graham cracker crusts

    Plain Hershey Bar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes