Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kelly's Crock Pot "smoked" Beef Roast or Brisket Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kelly's Crock Pot "smoked" Beef Roast or Brisket

    Average Rating:

    113 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 113

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2010

      KEEPER! While I didn't have any liquid smoke so I used worchestershire in place. Prepped according to directions, tightly foiled and left in fridge overnight. Placed in crock pot in AM, no liquid and WOW....what a wonderful brisket we came home to! The flavor was superb, brisket was tender, juicy and fell apart. Thanks Kelly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      5 stars for a great technique. I believe I made this once before but didn't get to reviewing. This time I substituted the salt and pepper for 2 Tbs of montreal steak seasoning. I only used 1 Tbs of liquid smoke. I'm not sure how I feel about the liquid smoke. I remember 2 Tbs being overwhelming but 1 wasn't quite enough... on the other hand it gave it a "beef jerky" flavor and I don't know if I really like that. From now on I may just consider this a roast beef recipe and do away with the smoke altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      While this did make a very cheap cut of beef come out extremely moist and tender, my family found the amount of liquid smoke to be overwhelming and leave too much of a chemical taste. I will definitely use this method for making pot roast again, but will use much, much less liquid smoke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I followed the recipe and it came out delicious. After it was done, I sliced it up and slatherd it with bbq sauce that I thinned out with the juices the beef made and then broiled it for a few minuets. My husband could not stop moaning and groaning because it was sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Great! I always use a lead themometer with an alarm on it. These are designed for cooking in an oven but work just as well in a crook pot. I cooked on low and set the alarm for 215 F (for a tough piece like brisket 170 F won't get it tender). All slow cookers are different, but these thomometers take the guess work out of if. I used my sister-in-law's spice combo, which was a little different, but very good. I could not believe how tender and tasty it was, and so easy!! Made great sandwiches for a week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      AMAZING! This is just like the BBQ beef at our favorite place next door. I made it exactly as written, and won't be making any changes. The kids thought it was a little spicy. Next time I will make them their own packet with less pepper. That's the great thing about this recipe, because of the foil I can make two but cook them together in the crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      The taste was awesome, BUT beware, it cracked my crock pot's ceramic insert all the way through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      This is a keeper recipe for my handwritten box. Absolutely fantastic and full of smoky tender flavor! Thank you so much for this recipe! I noticed that the liquid smoke brand has different flavors now and so I'm going to try some of those! We all loved it! I followed recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I really dislike the way the crockpot makes roast stringy so I wasn't too sure about this recipe. But thankfully I gaved it a try and LOVED IT! The taste, the texture and the clean up were beyond the 5 star rating given. I will be making roast in the crockpot more often. Now if we can figure out a way to make the price of roasts cheaper I would be a very happy camper! :-) Thanks for sharing, Connie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Kelly, you are right! This is awesome-tender, smoky flavor. You not only gave me a great recipe but a technique I love and will use on other cuts of meat - maybe even chicken! Next time I will cut down on the pepper to 1 T. as the exterior was just a little too peppery for me. I think I will add 2 T. Worcestershire, along with the Liquid Smoke, because I really like that combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      What an excellent recipe! I had always cooked brisket overnight in the oven at 200 degrees using a whole bottle of liquid smoke and pepper and while it tasted good I think this was even better and just as much of a smoky flavor. Plus cooking overnight sometimes the leaner parts of the meat were a little dry. This was so delicious and tender with BBQ sauce. I upped the seasonings as I had a seven pound piece of meat and I used a slow cooker bag with a twist tie instead of aluminum foil. Thanks for the great recipe. I will never make brisket any other way. My husband loved it as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      i love the simplicity. I modified it to: sea salt, pepper, garlic, worchester sauce, and SMOKED paprika for depth.I only used equal amounts of all the dry ingredients to 1.5 tbspns, 4 cloves garlic, and 2 tbsp worchester sauce for a 7lb hunk of meat. Im on a low salt diet to i had to cut the salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Not that this recipe needs another great review but... it was easy & awesome! I substituted Worcestershire sauce for the liquid smoke and it turned out just great! Easy clean up is a bonus too - thanks for an awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      This recipe has been included in book#246531. Over the years I have tried many recipes for pot roasts, but this tastes so much better than anything else I've tried. I used a chuck roast, and it turned out so moist, and the meat was just falling-off-the-bone tender. The liquid smoke did give it that "outdoor cooked" flavor which we loved. I followed the recipe exactly as written and the amounts of each ingredient were perfect. I had never cooked in a crockpot with foil before, but plan to do so with other cuts of meat. From now on this is the ONLY recipe I'll use when making a roast in the crockpot. Thanks so much for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Loved this. I don't use aluminum foil much in our household so I wrapped it in parchment instead and that worked like a charm. Very moist and flavorful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Made for St. Patty's Day, this was a meal we won't soon forget! This is the best corned beef brisket I have ever had. It gained me lots of popularity points with my family and everyone ohhed and ahhed throughout the meal. I had a 6 pound roast so it took longer to cook but came out perfectly tender and so much flavor, at 12 hours! Served with glazed carrots and cabbage and colcannon, we had a spectacular meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Outstanding! Almost exactly like my mom's oven recipe, but the crock pot is so much easier! This will become my standard. I did go light on the pepper and heavy on the garlic--on a 2-pound brisket. Oh, and then after sampling it unadorned, I slathered it with barbecue sauce and glazed it for 15 minutes at 425 F. It was FANTASTIC!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I used mesquite flavored liquid smoke on a big beef roast - heavenly!! With some good mustard-y potato salad and sliced pickles, I thought I was sitting at my favorite BBQ joint back in TX having brisket! Begs for some good banana pudding for dessert. Great stuff; thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This was awesome brisket!! I used hickory smoke and beef brisket and it was so juicy and very flavorful. I reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon and the pepper to 2 teaspoons and that seemed to be enough for the 2 lb. brisket I used. Great tasting and simple this is definitely a keeper, thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      This turned out really great-- very tender. We plan to make it again but with the following tweaks for a 4 lb. roast: -only 1 T. liquid smoke (we used Wright's-- got good reviews from cooksillustrated.com) -only 1 T. salt (came out very salty for us) -only 1 T. pepper (came out very peppery for us) we also added: -2 T Worstechire (sp?) sauce (we plan to keep this). My crock pot seems to cook faster than others. A 3-4 lb. roast was done in about 8 hours. Could have stopped at 6 or 7 even, maybe? Also, absolutely great when pulled apart and BBQ sauce mixed in. Great reheated. I think it will be good for freezing, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kelly's Crock Pot "smoked" Beef Roast or Brisket

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 289.8
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    29%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 3654.7 mg
    152%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 49.5 g
    99%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes