114 Reviews

KEEPER! While I didn't have any liquid smoke so I used worchestershire in place. Prepped according to directions, tightly foiled and left in fridge overnight. Placed in crock pot in AM, no liquid and WOW....what a wonderful brisket we came home to! The flavor was superb, brisket was tender, juicy and fell apart. Thanks Kelly!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovetorun62 September 01, 2010

5 stars for a great technique. I believe I made this once before but didn't get to reviewing. This time I substituted the salt and pepper for 2 Tbs of montreal steak seasoning. I only used 1 Tbs of liquid smoke. I'm not sure how I feel about the liquid smoke. I remember 2 Tbs being overwhelming but 1 wasn't quite enough... on the other hand it gave it a "beef jerky" flavor and I don't know if I really like that. From now on I may just consider this a roast beef recipe and do away with the smoke altogether.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker February 07, 2011

While this did make a very cheap cut of beef come out extremely moist and tender, my family found the amount of liquid smoke to be overwhelming and leave too much of a chemical taste. I will definitely use this method for making pot roast again, but will use much, much less liquid smoke.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 April 27, 2010

I followed the recipe and it came out delicious. After it was done, I sliced it up and slatherd it with bbq sauce that I thinned out with the juices the beef made and then broiled it for a few minuets. My husband could not stop moaning and groaning because it was sooo good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasteeone April 18, 2010

Great! I always use a lead themometer with an alarm on it. These are designed for cooking in an oven but work just as well in a crook pot. I cooked on low and set the alarm for 215 F (for a tough piece like brisket 170 F won't get it tender). All slow cookers are different, but these thomometers take the guess work out of if. I used my sister-in-law's spice combo, which was a little different, but very good. I could not believe how tender and tasty it was, and so easy!! Made great sandwiches for a week.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greg: Barrow, Alaska February 02, 2008

I really dislike the way the crockpot makes roast stringy so I wasn't too sure about this recipe. But thankfully I gaved it a try and LOVED IT! The taste, the texture and the clean up were beyond the 5 star rating given. I will be making roast in the crockpot more often. Now if we can figure out a way to make the price of roasts cheaper I would be a very happy camper! :-) Thanks for sharing, Connie

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbfans April 18, 2010

AMAZING! This is just like the BBQ beef at our favorite place next door. I made it exactly as written, and won't be making any changes. The kids thought it was a little spicy. Next time I will make them their own packet with less pepper. That's the great thing about this recipe, because of the foil I can make two but cook them together in the crock pot.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
design*girl July 20, 2009

The taste was awesome, BUT beware, it cracked my crock pot's ceramic insert all the way through.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bukwurm62 November 27, 2012

This is a keeper recipe for my handwritten box. Absolutely fantastic and full of smoky tender flavor! Thank you so much for this recipe! I noticed that the liquid smoke brand has different flavors now and so I'm going to try some of those! We all loved it! I followed recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelvin August 01, 2010

Kelly, you are right! This is awesome-tender, smoky flavor. You not only gave me a great recipe but a technique I love and will use on other cuts of meat - maybe even chicken! Next time I will cut down on the pepper to 1 T. as the exterior was just a little too peppery for me. I think I will add 2 T. Worcestershire, along with the Liquid Smoke, because I really like that combo.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheSimpleLife December 03, 2006
Kelly's Crock Pot "smoked" Beef Roast or Brisket