90 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This got 5 stars from DH! Only changes made were I cut the brown sugar in half and also omitted the vinegar due to personal preference. I passed it on to a friend as well and her and her husband rave about it as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana February 17, 2009

we used ground venison and hamburger lean . used less of brown sugar just a 1/3 c added small can of chili's, and a can of tomatoes with chilis hot. We like it hot and made it for the super bowl game got lots of compliments on it. im sending your origianl recipe in our new cookbook fundraiser for our kids to go to camp at church . thanks !Laurel

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurelj3008 February 08, 2009

My husband is very picky about his chili and he absolutely loves this recipe. We made it today for the first time. Followed the recipe as written but did cut the brown sugar in half. This will be a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ptholdren January 30, 2009

Wonderful Chili!! We loved this and followed the recipe to a T. It had just the right amount of spice to it using 2 jalapenos. This is one recipe I will put in a special place so I know right where it is to make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me January 17, 2009

Best chili ever -- it actually tastes healthy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lairdmcduff January 16, 2009

Excellent chili! I made this for my friends on a recent trip to Tahoe, and they decided I now have to make this for them every time we go. They raved for days! I like to pair this with the Sweet Cornbread Sweet Cornbread. My BF thinks the chili is too sweet, so when I make it just for the two of us, I cut the brown sugar to 1 or 2 TBS instead of the 3 I used for the group. I also leave the mushrooms out for him, and it's still a fantastic recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeacefulEeyore January 13, 2009

Very unique flavor. We liked this but at said by other reviewers it does have a sweet taste. However, we liked it. It has a very deep flavor to it which is what we liked. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 05, 2009

This was a good chili recipe if you like it on the sweet side. I halved the amount of sugar and it was still a bit sweet. The heat in this chili was great. I loved the spicy V-8. I will incorporate this into other chili's. I also liked the mushrooms in the chili. Overall, I am glad I tried this chili, it is a good recipe, just not for my taste buds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk January 04, 2009

Great recipe. I cut the brown sugar down to three tablespoons since others' reviews said it was a little too sweet and added one package instead of two, of mushrooms. It was delicious. I would say the next time I make this, I would add a little less liquid because it was a little too watery for my liking. Other than that, excellent! If you want more of a kick, keep all of the jalapeno seeds in...I only kept 2 with seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amers1022 January 04, 2009

My husband was asking for me to make chili, I thought what the heck I will try this one. OMG we love it, this will be a big hit with our family years to come. I used 2 lbs of Hamburger & 1 lb. hot sausage because we like spice, this was great!!! Awesome recipe thanks for sharing...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
confusion1974 December 07, 2008
Kelly's Chili