Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kelly's Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kelly's Chili

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      Let me start by saying i'm not a huge chili fan, but this was pretty awesome!! I left out the jalapeno because i was using a new chili powder and not sure hot hot it was gonna be. I used Penzeys chili 3000. I also didn't use the canned tomato. I used tomato paste and just added an additional cup of V8 Juice. It had an initial taste of sweet then a nice slow heat. My whole family LOVED it. Thanks for a great recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      This was too sweet for my taste but this was an easy recipe to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      My husband said this was the best chili he has ever tasted and i agree!! I left out the mushrooms and peppers because he doesnt like them but im not sure it would have made a difference. It is sweet with a little kick at the end. Nothing like any chili ive tasted.I always bought the packaged seasoning but never will i do that again because there is no comparison. We saved the left overs for chili dogs the next day and it was sooooo good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I am always looking for different recipes to cook and when my husband mentioned chili for dinner, I decided to try this one instead of my go to recipe. I did alter it a bit by leaving out the jalapenos, reducing the amount of chili pepper and adding just a bit of brown sugar. The end result was a slightly sweet, with a slight kick at the end. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Good chili. Was too sweet for my taste. An easy fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I can not believe I never rated this. We LOVE this chili and whenever I make it for parties people finish it off. We do stick with 3-4 T of brown sugar, cut down on the meat if it is just for us (just to save some calories), sometimes add an extra can of beans, and I do not add in the bullion. Even my kids scarf it down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Thank you for posting your winning recipe! This will for sure be a regular at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      We have had a lot of snow this week and I felt like making chili. I was looking for a recipe that called for red and green peppers, which I had to use up. This was fantastic. I left out the jalapenos and mushrooms (didn't have any). I reduced the sugar by half, used regular V-8 and a can of diced tomatoes. Cooked on low in the crockpot for 6 hours. Sweet, spicy, delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I have to have simple recipes. This one has a lot of ingredients, but it's EASY and delicious. My husband, who kids me about not being a very good cook (which is true) said he can't kid me anymore! I think he told me how good the chili was about 5 times at dinner. I can obviously follow simple recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I made this chili a few weeks ago....at first I was a little nervous b/c I thought it smelled weird...lol I didn't have any vinegar so I left that out and didn't use the beef boullion b/c I didn't have that either. This chili was GREAT. My PICKY 8 year old daughter LOVED it. Oh, we also added 2 cans of beans instead of 1. Hubby still wanted more beans. Great recipe! I'll do it again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Best Chili I've ever had and the whole batch was gone in one night! no complaints

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I used this recipe for my first ever attempt at homeade chili, and it was delicious! I loved the idea to have mushrooms in it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Loved it. Omitted the mushrooms as I knew my grandsons would be unhappy with them. Did not add vinegar as I used Heinz Ketchup which already has vinegar in it. Feed it to a group of people ranging in age from 2 t 87 and they all raved about it! Thank you for great recipe which is destined to be a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      No, its not a "texas chili"....but it is WONDERFUL in its own way. You can taste the ingredients, not just chili powder. The V8 and touch of mustard gives the flavor depth. Kids love the touch of sweetness, though I may just adjust that a tad. I have made this 3 times since last winter. Thanks for a change from the ordinary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Whoever rated this a one star and said it was terrible apparently doesn't have taste buds because this chili rocks! I just got it all put together and in a big pot on the stove and I can't stop tasting it! I followed the directions exactly except I only added 3 tablespoons of sugar due to so many people saying this is too sweet, I did add the one cup of beef bouillon and I also added a 4oz can of chopped jalapenos when I dumped everything else in! It's perfect!!! I have been searching for a good thick chili recipe and this is by far the one I was looking for!!! The V8 juice is great in this and it doesn't turn out too spicy like I was afraid of. Thank you so much for the AWESOME recipe!! I will definitely be making this again...maybe even next week! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      terrible

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      SOOOO GOOD! We obviously ommited the ingredients we didn't like and I added corn to it as well and it turned out great. I adjusted the serving size to to fit just my husband and I. Let it sit on LOW for about 1.5 hrs and then on high for the last 30 minutes. Served over rice! Definitely going to make again! -Ok I have made this three times since and each time the reviews get better and better. My brother and sister who are the pickiest eaters alive LOVED IT! And we had a couple friends of our whose husband ate at least three bowls in a sitting. Most recently we made it for a group of people and I added 3 tablespoons of regular chili powder and 3 tablespoons of Chipotle Chile Powder and one extra jalapeno which gave it a huge kick. Soooo good, very yummy with Fritos and some corn bread. Amazing recipe. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      I made half a recipe and it was good. Next time I will omit the brown sugar. I like spicy more than sweet. Served with Sweet Cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This got 5 stars from DH! Only changes made were I cut the brown sugar in half and also omitted the vinegar due to personal preference. I passed it on to a friend as well and her and her husband rave about it as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      we used ground venison and hamburger lean . used less of brown sugar just a 1/3 c added small can of chili's, and a can of tomatoes with chilis hot. We like it hot and made it for the super bowl game got lots of compliments on it. im sending your origianl recipe in our new cookbook fundraiser for our kids to go to camp at church . thanks !Laurel

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kelly's Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (511 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.9
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    34%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 114.1 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1129.6 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 27.4 g
    109%
    Protein 45.3 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites