10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was okay. We both added salt and pepper on our plates which helped the flavor. I think it would have been better with thinly sliced fresh potatoes rather than the cubed hash brown frozen ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ritzz1@att.net January 01, 2010

Very good and easy. Love the crunchy topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 April 13, 2009

I made this with shredded hash browns since the store was out of the cubed but I don't think it made any difference when it came to the taste. I didn't have any of the Chicken in a Basket crackers so I crushed some Ritz crackers for the top and added a whole small chopped onion, salt and pepper and a little more garlic than was called for. This recipe makes a lot so I have half in the freezer for another meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes April 13, 2009

Made these with Easter dinner, we really liked them. I had to use Shredded hash browns, the stores were out of the cubed, and didn't put in the onions per daughters request. I want to make them again with the onion, just for that extra flavor I enjoy. Very, very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper March 28, 2008

Five humongo stars for our families new favorite potato casserole! Was skeptical this would really be "different" but was proved wrong. Super easy to mix up, baked in time stated. Super, super tasty..just right amounts of all ingredients so they blended nicely, no one ingredient outshines another. I'm not sure that the crackers were really that distinctive, but I think they tasted better than plain old cornflakes. A new favorite- thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend March 23, 2008

I made this for dinner last night and everyone loved it. I had about half the pan left, so I tried a little experiment this morning. I browned up some sausage, added a few big spoonfulls of the leftovers, and heated on top the stove for about 15 minutes. YUMMY! I think this was even better than last night. Thanks for a double-duty recipe! I'll be making this again, especially with the holidays coming up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda003 October 21, 2007

This was really good -- but really rich! Next time, will make it in two 8x8 pans and freeze one -- as it makes a lot also! Very good flavor, and would be good with ham in it for full meal and not just a side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe May 29, 2007

These were soooo good! I have made alot of different cheesy hashbrown casseroles and this one is the best by far. I doubled the recipe and made 2 pans for Easter. Everyone loved them and came back for seconds! I also left out the celery and rosemary, but I bet it is very good that way too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggy Boo April 09, 2007

I made this for a family Christmas dinner and it was excellent! I barely had a cup in leftovers afterwards! Much better than other recipes I've tried that are similar to this one. I didn't add the celery, nor the rosemary as I didn't have any, but we never missed it. The chicken in a biscuit crackers and the cheddar cheese soup really sets this recipe apart from the others. Thank you for sharing a great recipe, I will be using it many more times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tendicott December 26, 2006

YUM!!! We loved this!!! I used crushed club crackers and a cream of mushroom soup instead of cheddar cheese soup cause I didn't have any GRRR!! Excallent recipe Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen July 15, 2006
Kelly's Cheese Potato Casserole