11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i'm so glad I found this recipe, it was excellent! I skipped the jalapeno because I'm feeding a 3 y/o and an 11 month old, and added 1/2 tsp corainder, 1/4 tsp tumeric instead. I also had a hard time grating my ginger (frozen) so I only added about 1/2 tsp of that and then another 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. Added another 1/2 cup of stock also to make it a little saucier. Mixed it in with 4.5 cups of cooked rice. Really really great. This recipe is versatile, I think you could add garam masala, golden raisins, etc to change it up. Thanks so much for the keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 08, 2012

This is delightful. I can't wait to make it again when my butter lettuce comes in and wrap it up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy September 25, 2012

Ever have one of those days when you hardly have any food in the house, have no time to go grocery shopping and need to get dinner on the table now?! Today was that day for me. I made this substituting a 1.25 lbs. package of ground turkey for the beef, a 15 oz. can of garbanzo beans (drained and rinsed) for the peas and 25% increase in the seasonings and it was REALLY GOOD. DH called me at class to ask if he had to save me some! Thanks for saving my day; I will be making this again. PS While the garbanzo beans were good in a pitch, the peas are much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy April 28, 2011

I thought this was pretty good (it's easy) but I can't give it more stars because DH says he'd rather not see it again. :) I cut down on the curry because we're not big fans, and added things like turmeric, parsley, oregano... It's a plain dish but flavorful; we thought the sour cream and peanuts on top were an interesting taste sensation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 31, 2009

I make this a lot. It also reheats well for lunches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pegetha August 12, 2009

This was wonderfully easy to make. We like things a little hotter though so next time I think I'll add 2 tablespoons of jalapenos. The curry flavor was just right and tasted delicious! I served it with Jasmine Rice. Thank you for sharing this great recipe with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy December 11, 2007

I'm always looking for interesting ground beef recipes and I'm glad I found this one. I found this to be really light and a change of pace from heavier Indian type dishes. I only had greek yogurt and wish I had remembered the chutney! I served this with Kasmati rice which added a nice touch to the dish. I will make this again. It's quick, tasty and filling meal. Thanks WildLightning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atm1970 October 13, 2007

We made a variation of this during our world bicycle tour. To make it a bit more hearty (we cycle all day, remember!) and easy to make on a campstove we added some rice into the pot and made a one-pot-meal out of it. Very tasty and it may well be our new favourite recipe when we roll into camp. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville October 13, 2007

Wonderful simple curry that's easy to make, and it really is suitable for kids (and teenagers). I went easy on the jalapeno but otherwise followed the recipe. I would make it again as is for the kids but if I wanted to make it just for adults I would substitute curry paste for the powder and add additional vegetables. An excellent recipe to adapt to personal tastes. Thank you, WildLightning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo October 12, 2007

This is my new favorite, and it is quickly becoming one of my trademark meals! I was doubtful as to how Indian a ground beef dish could really be, but this is amazing. It's quick, easy, delicious, and keeps well for leftovers. Thank you for posting this:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeaChelle September 02, 2007
Keema