8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

For a more flavorful version, lightly crush the fennel seeds and cardamom pods in a pestle and mortar. Warm and satisfying on a grey, rainy day here. Soy milk, almond, rice milk or similar can easily replace cow's milk. Made three times in a 24-hour period using Mighty Leaf's 'Orange Dulce' tea and Stash's English breakfast. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 13, 2011

This is a mild but most enjoyable tea. I don't generally use milk in my tea but it worked very well in this. I didn't have fennel seed so subbed anise seed. Yum, warm and comforting. Thanks Little. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 10, 2011

Refreshing version of chai tea - and much quicker than some other variations I've tried. I more or less quartered the recipe since it was just for me, and I found 2 card pods and about 1tsp of fennel was perfect....I like fennel but sometimes it can be overwhelming. I know fennel is great for digestion, so this was a nice drink to have after lunch. Worked nicely with vanilla rice milk. Thanks for sharing LM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner October 03, 2010

This a fabulous chai....I enjoyed it so much that I made as an extra recipe on ZWT6 and then made it again this morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kymber _71 June 04, 2010

A very nice, subtle tea that I drank for breakfast this morning. Thanks! Made for ZWT#6 by a Looney Spoon Phoodie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 02, 2010

A warming tea, just the thing for wintery afternoon. I used a Irish breakfast tea. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coasty May 31, 2010

An easy unique tea flavoring. I felt a little uncertain about how the seeds were intended to be included - I opened the cardamom pods, and slightly crushed those seeds as well as the fennel seeds. I tried a little cold the next day, but the flavor of the tea leaves overwhelmed the spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady May 26, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed. I made this with Almond Milk (Vegan, Raw, Gluten Free), Tetley orange pekoe tea bags and the honey option, for which I used creamed local unpasteurized honey :) I'd like to make this again trying other "milks". Made for NA*ME Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 15, 2010
Kazakh Chai (Kazakh Tea)