Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Katzinger's Noodle Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Katzinger's Noodle Kugel

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2003

      this is sinfully delicious. smooth and creamy, sweet but not too sweet, just perfect. we ate this with dinner, but it could easily be a dessert. the whole family agreed it was awesome, and that in itself is worth 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      This is soooooooo good. I skipped the corn flakes and cooked it covered. I just don`t like the crunchy top. It came out Fabulous!!!! Apricots yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2002

      Egg noodles, butter, cream cheese, SOUR CREAM, total Jewish soul food! This makes one huge, rich kugel, and we loved it! I didn't change a thing, except we didn't have any apricot preserves, so I used orange marmalade, delicious! I wanted to freeze some for later, but the entire kugel was devoured in one sitting, and this is a huge kugel (didn't I say that already?)!! Heather, you rule!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      I've been making this recipe for years now, and never got around to reviewing it. This is just about the favorite dessert in my house, I probably make it about once every month or two. It's simple to put together, and very versatile. I have the apricot version in the oven right now, but our favorite way to make it is with pineapple tidbits. You can put any type of preserves between the layers, or, like I do with the pineapple, toss in a choice of fruit with the kugel mixture before putting it into the baking dish. Diced apples, raisins, currants, cherries, just about anything works. The main recipe itself is only lightly sweetened, which we enjoy, but that makes it work nicely with the sweetness or tartness of the choice of fruits or preserves. I also typically forgo the cereal topping, and just sprinkle on sugar and cinnamon or a pie spice blend, though I sometimes need to cover it with foil for part of the cooking to keep the top from drying out. I prefer it that way, but will occasionally add a topping for a change. It also freezes well, I sometimes just freeze half and then defrost it later. My family likes this kugel still warm from the oven, but I like mine room temperature or even slightly chilled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Fantastic, straightforward recipe. I used reduced fat sour cream and cream cheese and a little bit less than a stick of butter on the noodles and it still came out amazingly rich and delicious. The jam is such a lovely touch!! Definitely a kugel to show off.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      As a long time cook, it's amazing that I have never made a noodle kugel! I have only made matzo kugel for Passover. (I have never liked any I tasted!) Well, let me just say that this recipe is fantastic! I made it for the last night of Hanukkah and brought it to my neice's house where everyone raved! I couldn't help but add my 2 cents: 1 tsp vanilla to sour cream/cream cheese mixture. 1/2 cup raisins to buttered noodles. 1 tsp orange zest blended with apricot preserves. :}

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      This will be my fourth occasion preparing this kugel recipe. I make three different kinds at the same time to make everyone happy. I triple the recipe and just change them up. One apricot, as instructed, one golden raisin and one plain. I always bring one to work too and even the people who claim that they've never had a kugel they like, love it! While this recipe is fabulous...dieters beware....Oy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This is one my favorites to make--very rich, but delicious! Just the right mix of sweet and savory. It's very easy to make, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I needed something for a Passover meal and this was just wonderful. It was smooth, rich and creamy. I did add my own twist to it by adding a 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 cup sugar mixed into 4 tbs of butter instead of the corn flakes. It was like a creamy noodle cheese cake! Weird but it was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      We brought this to a pot luck brunch at our synagogue. It was the only kugel that was completely consumed. I will def be making this again for a dairy meal at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      We make tons of different kugels and this is by far our favorite one ever! We get rave reviews at Passover, Rosh Hashannah, and Hannukah. My 18-year old son makes it just so he can have it more often! It is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Made this last night for our Rosh Hashanah dinner and it was fabulous!! Rich, creamy and not to sweet. Everyone raved about it and declared it the best kugel they've tasted. This will be on my special occasion menu from now on. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      LOVED this! We all did. I used orange marmalade since I had it on hand and it was very good. I doubled the cornflakes but followed everything else exactly. I will be passing this recipe along to family and friends and I am sure it will hit my table again. So yummy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      Made this for my church group on an occasion where everyone was supposed to make a dish from an island. I said this was from LONG ISLAND. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Katzinger's Noodle Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.9
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    46%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 170.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 146.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 26.1 g
    104%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites