14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is sinfully delicious. smooth and creamy, sweet but not too sweet, just perfect. we ate this with dinner, but it could easily be a dessert. the whole family agreed it was awesome, and that in itself is worth 5 stars!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia February 17, 2003

This is soooooooo good. I skipped the corn flakes and cooked it covered. I just don`t like the crunchy top. It came out Fabulous!!!! Apricots yum!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 15, 2003

Egg noodles, butter, cream cheese, SOUR CREAM, total Jewish soul food! This makes one huge, rich kugel, and we loved it! I didn't change a thing, except we didn't have any apricot preserves, so I used orange marmalade, delicious! I wanted to freeze some for later, but the entire kugel was devoured in one sitting, and this is a huge kugel (didn't I say that already?)!! Heather, you rule!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj September 25, 2002

I've been making this recipe for years now, and never got around to reviewing it. This is just about the favorite dessert in my house, I probably make it about once every month or two. It's simple to put together, and very versatile. I have the apricot version in the oven right now, but our favorite way to make it is with pineapple tidbits. You can put any type of preserves between the layers, or, like I do with the pineapple, toss in a choice of fruit with the kugel mixture before putting it into the baking dish. Diced apples, raisins, currants, cherries, just about anything works. The main recipe itself is only lightly sweetened, which we enjoy, but that makes it work nicely with the sweetness or tartness of the choice of fruits or preserves. I also typically forgo the cereal topping, and just sprinkle on sugar and cinnamon or a pie spice blend, though I sometimes need to cover it with foil for part of the cooking to keep the top from drying out. I prefer it that way, but will occasionally add a topping for a change. It also freezes well, I sometimes just freeze half and then defrost it later. My family likes this kugel still warm from the oven, but I like mine room temperature or even slightly chilled.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oum Fatima Rose January 02, 2012

As a long time cook, it's amazing that I have never made a noodle kugel! I have only made matzo kugel for Passover. (I have never liked any I tasted!) Well, let me just say that this recipe is fantastic! I made it for the last night of Hanukkah and brought it to my neice's house where everyone raved! I couldn't help but add my 2 cents: 1 tsp vanilla to sour cream/cream cheese mixture. 1/2 cup raisins to buttered noodles. 1 tsp orange zest blended with apricot preserves. :}

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelekf December 16, 2012

Fantastic, straightforward recipe. I used reduced fat sour cream and cream cheese and a little bit less than a stick of butter on the noodles and it still came out amazingly rich and delicious. The jam is such a lovely touch!! Definitely a kugel to show off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squeezy March 29, 2009

This will be my fourth occasion preparing this kugel recipe. I make three different kinds at the same time to make everyone happy. I triple the recipe and just change them up. One apricot, as instructed, one golden raisin and one plain. I always bring one to work too and even the people who claim that they've never had a kugel they like, love it! While this recipe is fabulous...dieters beware....Oy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swmmgfish September 11, 2010

This is one my favorites to make--very rich, but delicious! Just the right mix of sweet and savory. It's very easy to make, also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marabeth December 15, 2009

I needed something for a Passover meal and this was just wonderful. It was smooth, rich and creamy. I did add my own twist to it by adding a 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 cup sugar mixed into 4 tbs of butter instead of the corn flakes. It was like a creamy noodle cheese cake! Weird but it was so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celiablerner April 12, 2009

We brought this to a pot luck brunch at our synagogue. It was the only kugel that was completely consumed. I will def be making this again for a dairy meal at our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diet Doctor December 31, 2008
Katzinger's Noodle Kugel