Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Katsudon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Katsudon

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2003

      just want to thank u, chia, 4 a winner recipe! my bf just love the crispy crust, the result of double crusting. he finished the whole bowl of katsudon, made with 2 chicken breasts. i smashed the breasts a little between clingwrap, with a frying pan. and the meat turned out very tender. thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      VERY good! We loved the broth and double dipping the cutlets gives them the eggy texture that katsudon should have. After dipping and cooking the cutlets, I was left with about 1 cup of beaten egg, so while I kept the cutlets warm in the oven, I cooked the leftover egg mixture in the same pan in which I cooked the cutlets, and then served it on top of the katsudon. Chia, you've 'scooped' me on the katsudon, your recipe is replacing my old one. Total thumbs up, everyone was happy with dinner tonight! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Hubby said 5 stars and insisted that this is going into the regular rotation before I even sat down to have my first bite!! It was DELICIOUS. And pretty inexpensive if you use those little pork cutlets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      As she ate, she kept commenting about how delicious this chicken dish was. All my son had to say was that this was restaurant quality, and that was enough for me to file this under favourite recipes. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Amazing!! I made this exactly as directed, with chicken breasts cut into tenders, except i used sake i(instead of mirin ) and 1 tb extra sugar in the sauce-- i also simmered the sauce while everything was cooking so that the sauce reduced down and the onions carmelized a bit. I served this over basmati rice. All I can say is that i will definately make this dish again-- thank you for this amazing and delish recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      this is great! i didn't have panko so i used plain breadcrumbs, but it was still delicious. oh, the other changes that i made are that i only used 1 onion instead of 2, 3 eggs instead of 6 (because i didn't want to have any leftover eggs), and 1/3 cup soy sauce instead of 1/2 cup. thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Yum! We use one onion and it is still delicious...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Great recipe! Followed recipe as is. Sauce is a bit strong if used so much. So as the recipe implies, it's enough to just dip the meat before serving. Thanks for a keeper! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      This was an excellent recipe, the only flaws in it were of my own making. I only had two eggs so the first two cutlets came out fine the other two didn't have enough breading :-( The changes I made were - I only used one onion because two seemed like WAY to much, and I used Jasmine rice instead of Basmati. I have never used Panko before I like it a lot and will be using it often in the future. The broth tasted great it was a perfect balance of sweet and salty. Thank you for a splendid recipe chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I used pork tenderloin, sliced and pounded thin. This tastes wonderful and it really isn't hard to make. I will be making this again, and will try it with chicken too. Made for My 3 Chefs 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      omigosh chia....i gotta say I LOVE YOU!!! lol. i lived in japan for a year. and one of the famous signature food was katsudon. it was just my favorite. ate it all the time. but once i moved back to the states...i wasn't able to find any restaurants that could replicate that flavor that i miss. and then i found your recipe..and omigosh...it's VERY AUTHENTIC in taste. only difference in japan was that it had a thin layer of egg that was obviously dipped in the yummy sauce around the crispy pork cutlet. this really was delicioius and it took me back to japan. this has beat out all my favorite recipes on recipezaar. this is now going on my #1. katsudon is originally made w/ pork but i made mine w/ thin sliced chicken breast. i think i like it better w/ chicken! THANK YOU so much for posting and sharing this recipe. you have no idea how happy you've made me and my family to have found this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      I love this dish. I put it together slightly differently, as I'm used to getting it. I scaled it back for one person and used vegetable broth, not chicken. After cooking the pork (which included a dash of togarashi - Japanese chili powder) I drained the cutlets, sliced them into strips, added it to the onions and sauce and allowed it to simmer for a minute or so. I then poured the remaining egg mixture around the pork, allowed the egg to set and served the whole lot on top of the rice. Topped it off with a drizzle tonkatsu sauce and some chopped green onions. Just fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      Only change I made was to use onion powder instead of onions, and to change out some ingredients for more authentic ones (dashi stock instead of chicken, potato starch instead of flour). But yum this was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      The flavours in this dish are delightful! I used about 1 1/2 lbs chicken breast not the 1/2 lb stated and found that 4 eggs were enough. What a great introduction to panko and mirin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Excellent dish to make! I like a sauce on top no a broth though. Try this, take some of the broth and add in some corn strach (tasteless) to thinken the sauce (used about 200grams) then add thick black soya sauce to darken the color and give it extra sweetness. And with the remnants, put some ginger, egg batter, extra chicken stock with some garlic, salt, pepper and fried shallots to make a little soup. I forgot to buy miso, for a soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      I guess 6 eggs are too many for BREAD CUTLETS, and that some of eggs, maybe 4 or 5 eggs, are for simmering cutlet and broth. Mirin is sweet rice wine, not vinegar, which is essential in Japanese cuisine. And a few minites will do for simmering onion when you finely slice it. Anyways your katsudon recipe is nice, and I love katsudon so much, hope you will try other Japanese recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      This is an absolutely fantastic recipe that I've shared with my friends and family! I was craving this dish and couldn't find a Japanese restaurant in my area so I decided to look for a recipe to make it myself. The result is exactly like what you'd get from a Japanese restaurant. I altered a few things. Instead of frying the crumbed chicken breast I baked it in my turbo oven (so much healthier!). This dish is also usually served with a Japanese style omelet on top of the crumbed meat. I made this omelet by transferring half the broth with all the onions into a pan, and mixed in 2-3 (one for each person) beaten egg, covered for 5 mins or until egg is cooked through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      WOW! If I could give this 10 stars I would!! I invited my family over for dinner and wanted to go with an asian theme. Rather than the same old 'Pineapple Chicken', I found this recipe and decided to give it a go based on it's rating. Made it as is with a few exceptions. I also flattened the chicken for faster cooking and also because the breasts I used were pretty fat. There was no specification as to what oil to fry in, so I used sesame oil. And lastly, I just momentarily dipped the chicken into the broth and then sliced and served, putting extra broth in a carafe for everyone to pour over their chicken and rice. This was not a very difficult recipe to make at all, and my family RAVED about it! Almost everyone had seconds, and dinner was rather quiet with the occasional "Mmmmm!" and "This is awesome!" as everyone scarfed it down. ^^ THANK YOU so much for posting this recipe! I highly suggest that if anyone makes this, they really try to get the mirin and panko and not substitute. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

    • on October 02, 2005

      5***** plus alert! chia this is a winner. Restaurant quality yet so simple and quick to make. The sauce is just perfect and the onions take on such a sweet flavour. The double dipping gives it such a nice crust. Our family will make this alot - thank you for sharing such a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Katsudon

    Serving Size: 1 (525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 900.9
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    28%
    Total Fat 28.4 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 316.4 mg
    105%
    Sodium 3320.7 mg
    138%
    Total Carbohydrate 114.8 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    57%
    Protein 42.6 g
    85%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites