Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Katsu-don (Pork Cutlet Donburi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Katsu-don (Pork Cutlet Donburi)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      Made this for tonight's dinner. We enjoyed this recipe very much. A bit sweeter than another recipe I had been using but equally as delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

    • on November 19, 2009

      I used 1/2 c. dashi and 1/2 c. water because I know I don't like the dashi at full strength. I used 6 tbsp of soy and 4 of sugar, and 3 of mirin. I also added 2 tbsp of corn starch so the sauce would thicken more. I also sauteed white onion slivers under the pork, and added some sliced green onion to the top. It was amazing, and tastes like the sauce on my favorite restaurant's donburi. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! My boyfriend was born in Japan and he says this recipe taste just like how his mom made it at home. I did make some changes, I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of pork and added some sauteed onions and green onion for garnish. Excellent and Authentic! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      This has been a fave of mine since growing up in Japan during my childhood. I'm so glad to have this recipe here now - the flavors are accurate to what I've had back then & even from our local favorite Japanese restaurant now. The broth stores well in the fridge. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      So so good! We all loved this! It feed 4 adults and 2 children very well! I will be making this again, next time I'm going to try it with chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Really enjoyed this dish. The pork cutlets were absolutely delicious, tender yet crunchy. Sauce though, was too sweet for us, so next time we will half the amount of sugar. THank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      Oh, my . . . We don't give out many 5 stars, but this was soooooooooo delicious. I used leftover tonkatsu, but other than that followed the recipe exactly (and the tonkatsu recipe was pretty much the same). Now I have to make tonkatsu OAMC style, huge batches at a time and freeze them, just so that I can defrost them and make this recipe on a whim! Absolutely fantastic. Thank you very much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Stewie...we really enjoyed this. We used cubed pork cutlets which saved on the prep time and mess. Turned out really good. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Katsu-don (Pork Cutlet Donburi)

    Serving Size: 1 (688 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1827.6
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    10%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 310.0 mg
    103%
    Sodium 2115.1 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 319.0 g
    106%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 22.5 g
    90%
    Protein 76.9 g
    153%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites