17 Reviews

Excellent! I used homemade chicken stock and some leftover roasted chicken that I made a couple of days ago. I cut the chicken bits a bit big so it sank to the bottom of the bowl, but never nind it tasted great. I saw fresh corn in the supermarket and it's not readily available and when it is its often not looking it's best becuase they insist on peeling back whole chunks of corn husk, so it dries out really fast. I went a little overboard and bought up a bundle of them since these looked fresher than most I have seen and now I'm on a sweetcorn binge. Creamed corn isn't easy to find here but thats easily solved by cutting the corn off the husk, cookig it gently in a tiny amount of water, sugar and butter and then taking the stick blender to it. WOW I enjoyed my lunch today. Please see my rating system: 5 stars for an easy and great taste of fresh corn and chicken at their best, Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch April 16, 2007

Really great soup, twiss, this similar the corn soups served at Asian restaurants, I did increase the chicken breast amount, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz December 12, 2006

This was yummy! I got to the step where I needed to add cornstarch and realized I was out of it but there must have been enough in the creamed corn because it still thickened up just fine. I also added a potato and carrots and used bacon bits as a garnish instead of ham. I will definitely make this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lwalk33 July 11, 2013

Very good soup, especially with such a quick prep time! I used some delicious leftover roast chicken, and I'm really looking forward to tomorrow's lunch! Thanks for sharing a wonderful quick and easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 11, 2013

Delish! Like egg drop soup on steroids. I skipped the ham and added the following, 1 diced cooked small potato, 1 sliced cooked carrot, some peas and some mushrooms. Yummy. I froze half of it....hope it freezes well! UPDATE: It freezes just OK. . .it thaws out VERY watery. Still tasty though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 20, 2013

For those who couldn't handle the salt there's an easy remedy: use low sodium stock and omit the added salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle F. November 12, 2015

The soup is quick, easy, low-fat, and really tasty! It reminds me of egg drop soup from Chinese restaurants. I added a little more chicken and omitted the ham because I was out of it. I didn't do anything from scratch. I bought pre-made chicken stock, a rotisserie chicken from my grocery store (Kroger), and creamed corn. I made a lot of short-cuts, but it was still delicious! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhaynes2 February 08, 2015

My husband said this was okay. It may be low in calories, but it's super high in salt - almost half of your recommended daily allowance. If you're a heart patient like me, this isn't the dish for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rockamama January 23, 2015

Five-star all the way! Easy, tasty, low in calories and very versatile. I added a dash of onion powder and a little more salt. The canned cream corn I chose had tough kernels, so I'm going to look for a brand that has a tender 'chew'. Others' remarks about adding bits of other veggies/meats sound very good...it's such a delicious base soup that all kinds of alterations would do well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wallacecsd January 14, 2015

I used homemade chicken broth made with very little salt. I only put in 1/2 tsp. salt. I thought the saltiness was fine like this. This is different. I liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 January 05, 2015
Kathy #1 - Chicken Corn Soup (Zwt - Asia)