19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also have this brownie recipe. I love these brownies because they are chewy and have a nice chocolate flavor without being too sweet. I've made these a few times - they are really easy to make and require only a few ingredients!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaylanave January 28, 2003

There were a few problems with this recipe, although they did taste OK. The #1 problem was that the batter wasn't even close to filling up my small brownie pan. I couldn't even spread it out paper thin, so I had to make an emergency 2nd batter, for which I had to send my husband to the store for more butter. When they were cooled, they cut nice but I thought they were a little too "wet" which I thought would happen because of the amount of flour. I think they needed more flour and some cocoa powder too. They needed more chocolate in general.... you could barely taste the chocolate flavor at all. While they did taste OK, it was more like a very sweet butter dessert than a chocolate dessert. The butter flavor was pretty major and definitely the dominant flavor in this dessert.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara February 01, 2004

These were very good brownies. They were dense, moist and chocolaty. I was a little unsure about only using 1/4 cup of flour and did add another 1/4 cup for a total of 1/2 cup. This only made the brownies a bit more cake-like (a bonus, in my opinion). I did include the nuts, as I like the texture and flavor that they add to brownies. Very easy recipe for ingredients I always keep on hand!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. January 26, 2004

Yummy! And I love the chewiness!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KaylaK October 30, 2003

Deeee-lishious as my 2 year old would say! I didn't have baking chocolate so I used 6T cocoa and 2T butter instead. Still great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel R. May 12, 2003

Ahhh, these are so good!! Nice and chewy and you are right, not too sweet. Perfect! The only problem is I should have doubled the batch because I gave most of them to an elderly friend. (I did keep a few for myself :-) Thanks kaylanave for sharing these.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot February 18, 2003

I recently checked out a cookbook from our local library, which happened to have Katharine Hepburn's brownies in it. The only difference I noted was that the amount of salt called for was 1/2 teaspoon. Ms. Hepburn's instructions were to "beat the batter like mad", until your arm feels like it's going to fall off. If you don't want dry corners and dry outside edges, I recommend baking them for only 35 minutes. Unfortunately, I baked mine for the full 40 minutes and that was too long! Other than the outside edges being dry, due to overbaking, I found the brownies to be extremely moist and very fudgy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Kitch March 05, 2010

nice and moist, more like candy than cake. i wonder what they're like the next day, i certainly never found out! 1/4 c of flour is in fact enough. be careful not to overbeat the eggs or the batter after adding them. I did and the bubbles joined to make two big super-bubbles that made the uncut brownie look like a mountain range. my bad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shoga-chan November 15, 2009

not sure what is going on here, but i am 45 min into this and i have bubbly chocolate soup! I've checked and re-checked the recipe, hmmmm.....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasBlonde October 22, 2008

I used to make these all the time because they were so good and so easy. Nice, fudgy brownies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 March 07, 2008
Katharine Hepburn's Brownies