Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kashmiri Chicken, Cardamom and Saffron Pilau: Spiced Indian Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kashmiri Chicken, Cardamom and Saffron Pilau: Spiced Indian Rice

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2011

      I really enjoyed this dish! The saffron and cardamom flavors really are wonderful, and the way my kitchen smelled as this cooked was to die for. I used chicken thighs, as they are my preferred piece for this type of dish, and they came out very tender and juicy. Thanks for posting this wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      this was fantastic, a perfect one dish meal. The saffron was just enough, i cut the recipe in half, the only sub i made was for craisins instead of sultana's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Loved the exotic fragrances as I was preparing this! I wasn't sure what it means to "bruise the cardamom pods" so I opted for using cardamom seeds and crushing them in mortar & pestle. Used bone-in chicken thighs instead of cutting up boneless chicken. Drained off the fat after browning them, then deglazed the pan with a bit of red wine before going to the next step. This is a dish worthy of using your little bit of expensive saffron! I really think using real ginger root makes a big difference since it bears little resemblance to ground ginger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      4 1/2 stars. This was really good & smells wonderful while cooking. I used proportional white Basmati rice and the stock as per how I generally cook rice. Oh I did mine in a 325 F oven out of preference when I added the rice so it would cook more evenly easily. I used both ground and powdered ginger as our preferences here though I know whole cumin is more traditional and probably tastes better! I used your Garam Masala - Aromatic Kashmiri Spice Blend for Spicy Cooking!, tomato paste as we don't like chunks of tomato in our rice and I didn't have the fresh tomatoes. I used Thompson black rasins instead of sultanas and sea salt. I served it with raita and a mango and Baby Romaine With Mango. I may make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This is an easy, yummy one pot meal. I did have to add a good 20 minutes to the cooking time after adding the rice, as well as additional liquid, but I used half brown basmati rice which is probably the reason. I had all of the correct ingredients, although my cumin and cardamom were ground instead of whole. I substituted grapes for sultanas, but otherwise left everything as written. The kids (7 and 4) weren't crazy about it, but I don't cook much Indian food. DH and I really enjoyed it for lunch today, and there are TONS of leftovers to enjoy later. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Wonderful Flavour - Easy to make and LOTS of it. My Photo does not do the meal justice. I added Peas - Im a pea junkie...lol.. This was a really nice one dish dinner - Thanks French Tart - Its a Keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      Excellent, 5 stars all the way. Wonderful flavors with tender, moist, chicken chunks. I used the skinless boneless breast from Costco. The cooking aroma is amazing and mouth watering. It has a simple preparation and yields a finished dish worthy of impressing your in-laws. So very glad I chose this for PAC, Spring 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      This was very good, French Tart. I made it for guests and everyone enjoyed it. I had to add quite a bit of salt and used dried mint because my grocer was out of fresh. I couldn't find whole cardamon pods so I used seeds with a 12 seeds to one pod conversion. My rice took a bit longer to cook & I ended up adding quite a bit of water. I think next time I'll use fresh mint for sure and make the rice separately with chicken chicken to add a little savory note. Served with freshly baked bread and peas. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This is a nicely seasoned dish and DH and I both really enjoyed it. I did find that half a recipes served more like 6 which makes a significant difference in the nutritional info. The recipe didn't specify so I used black cardamom pods. Made for Aussie Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I used chicken thighs instead of breasts because that's what I had. This turned out very well and I will make this again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      A wonderfully fragrant and flavorful chicken pilau! DH and I thoroughly enjoyed it along with a side of cucumber raita. Am a bit disappointed that my rice didn't turn the pretty yellow color as in your photo FT, as I did follow the recipe to a "t". Am wondering if my saffron was old, or if an ingredient such as tumeric is missing, per chance? Thanks for sharing. Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      This was very tasty and smelled AMAZING while cooking!! I want that scent as potpourri in the house!! LOL. I substituted Yellow Raisins for Sultanas but otherwise did exactly as directed. The raisins plumped up and you couldn’t tell they were raisins! I halved this recipe and still had more than enough for the two of us! I should have cooked it a little less considering I halved the recipe, but that was my own fault not the recipes. I have a picture I will post as soon as I can get it off of my camera.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kashmiri Chicken, Cardamom and Saffron Pilau: Spiced Indian Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 680.9
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    38%
    Total Fat 29.4 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 85.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 95.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 30.7 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh gingerroot

    cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites