12 Reviews

I really enjoyed this dish! The saffron and cardamom flavors really are wonderful, and the way my kitchen smelled as this cooked was to die for. I used chicken thighs, as they are my preferred piece for this type of dish, and they came out very tender and juicy. Thanks for posting this wonderful dish!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH February 18, 2011

this was fantastic, a perfect one dish meal. The saffron was just enough, i cut the recipe in half, the only sub i made was for craisins instead of sultana's

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba May 30, 2010

Loved the exotic fragrances as I was preparing this! I wasn't sure what it means to "bruise the cardamom pods" so I opted for using cardamom seeds and crushing them in mortar & pestle. Used bone-in chicken thighs instead of cutting up boneless chicken. Drained off the fat after browning them, then deglazed the pan with a bit of red wine before going to the next step. This is a dish worthy of using your little bit of expensive saffron! I really think using real ginger root makes a big difference since it bears little resemblance to ground ginger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jozalerie September 01, 2011

4 1/2 stars. This was really good & smells wonderful while cooking. I used proportional white Basmati rice and the stock as per how I generally cook rice. Oh I did mine in a 325 F oven out of preference when I added the rice so it would cook more evenly easily. I used both ground and powdered ginger as our preferences here though I know whole cumin is more traditional and probably tastes better! I used your Garam Masala - Aromatic Kashmiri Spice Blend for Spicy Cooking!, tomato paste as we don't like chunks of tomato in our rice and I didn't have the fresh tomatoes. I used Thompson black rasins instead of sultanas and sea salt. I served it with raita and a mango and Baby Romaine With Mango. I may make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 13, 2010

This is an easy, yummy one pot meal. I did have to add a good 20 minutes to the cooking time after adding the rice, as well as additional liquid, but I used half brown basmati rice which is probably the reason. I had all of the correct ingredients, although my cumin and cardamom were ground instead of whole. I substituted grapes for sultanas, but otherwise left everything as written. The kids (7 and 4) weren't crazy about it, but I don't cook much Indian food. DH and I really enjoyed it for lunch today, and there are TONS of leftovers to enjoy later. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek April 20, 2008

Wonderful Flavour - Easy to make and LOTS of it. My Photo does not do the meal justice. I added Peas - Im a pea junkie...lol.. This was a really nice one dish dinner - Thanks French Tart - Its a Keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SEvans April 10, 2008

Excellent, 5 stars all the way. Wonderful flavors with tender, moist, chicken chunks. I used the skinless boneless breast from Costco. The cooking aroma is amazing and mouth watering. It has a simple preparation and yields a finished dish worthy of impressing your in-laws. So very glad I chose this for PAC, Spring 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 22, 2014

This was very good, French Tart. I made it for guests and everyone enjoyed it. I had to add quite a bit of salt and used dried mint because my grocer was out of fresh. I couldn't find whole cardamon pods so I used seeds with a 12 seeds to one pod conversion. My rice took a bit longer to cook & I ended up adding quite a bit of water. I think next time I'll use fresh mint for sure and make the rice separately with chicken chicken to add a little savory note. Served with freshly baked bread and peas. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 17, 2012

This is a nicely seasoned dish and DH and I both really enjoyed it. I did find that half a recipes served more like 6 which makes a significant difference in the nutritional info. The recipe didn't specify so I used black cardamom pods. Made for Aussie Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 24, 2009

I used chicken thighs instead of breasts because that's what I had. This turned out very well and I will make this again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana March 18, 2009
Kashmiri Chicken, Cardamom and Saffron Pilau: Spiced Indian Rice