15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great healthy muffin recipe. I did make a few changes which I thought made it taste even better! Instead of a banana I added a medium baked sweet potato. This made it super moist and gave it a autum like taste. I also added the shreded Autum Harvest Kashi Cereal instead of the Go Lean, agave nectar instead of honey, and coconut milk instead of cows milk. This made it dairy free, and lower glycemic, because sweet potatoes and agave nectar are lower glycemic then bananas and honey. Also I added some cinnamon but if you have pumpkin spice I'm sure that would be delicious! It was the perfect sweet snack to get me in the mood for fall! They also smelled really great baking! Hope someone tries the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taranann September 09, 2011

These are awesome, I make them all the time and they satisfy my sweet tooth. They are also really healthy (1 point each if you follow Weight Watchers). Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djharel January 14, 2010

Well, I loved them... Getting my family to eat them was another thing though, but I guess that leaves more muffins for me! I thought they were delicious! I had to omit the banana, as I'm on a low-glycemic diet, but I found the muffins to be perfectly moist even without it. A wonderful recipe that I will "indulge" in quite often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat June 23, 2009

These muffins are absolutely delicious! I would eat them even if they weren't good for me! (but it's a plus that they are!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kacylynn April 27, 2009

I love these muffins. I make them all the time. The only changes I made is I sometimes add a little brown sugar (1/8 cup). For them to come out right I have to cook them at 375 for 20 minutes... crazy oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla January 30, 2009

I went on a baking spree and made 5 different kinds of muffins from 'Zaar and these surpassed all the others in taste, were easy to make, and I always have all these ingredients on hand. These muffins have become part of my pre-workout snack. I wasn't sure what to expect with the Kashi cereal either, but the muffins turned out perfect. These will always be on hand in my house from now on. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lclausen October 04, 2008

This is a great, filling muffin. It is much healthier than many other muffins and it's great that even tastes yummy! I'll be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awcoppedge July 31, 2008

I'm vegan so I sub the egg whites with ener-g egg replacer or flax seeds. I also use the mini muffin tins and add chocolate or carob chips, cranberries, walnuts, blueberries...whatever! We've renamed them power muffins and my fiance begs me to make them because they are filling, snack-sized, and healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegan and satisfied March 13, 2008

Here's an honest review from a person who likes fast-food too much: these are do-able. Very simple to make, with items easily available at the grocery store. As DH and I are not only trying to lose weight, but also improve our health and eating habits, this fits in nicely and I can appreciate the all-natural or organic ingredients as well as that they don't have sugar in them. That said, they are not sweet at all. I think I might try them next time with a bit of sugar sub, not much, just a bit. I did add 1 tsp of cinnamon and the smell was awesome. I will definitely be making these again and again and really appreciate you posting such a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend October 23, 2007

Mmm, I looove Kashi Golean and this really makes a yummy alternative breakfast treat! I added in some raisins and topped them up with a crackle of cinnamon and splenda. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hydra October 19, 2007
Kashi Friendly Fiber Muffins