Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / kasha varnishkes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    kasha varnishkes

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      This is almost identical to the kasha recipe that I have posted! I have been making it for years and it is always a hit. We prefer the fine grained kasha, but it doesn't reflect any real difference in teh flavour.Thanks Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      I sauted sliced mushrooms with the onions. And skipped the bowties. I really enjoy grains and this is one of my favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Excellent. I have never had this before and it has now been added to my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      I added sliced fresh mushrooms and used medium grade kasha. It was great and the leftovers reheated well for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      how about 10 stars? or more? Of course I didn't exactly follow directions but the results are soooo amazing. Firstly, I doubled everything but the macaroni. I used small bowties at the request of my family. ;) I used veggie broth because I am apparently OUT of chicken stock. Horror of horrors. (how did that even happen???) Then, following the inspiration from someone who suggested topping it with fried eggs, I topped each serving with a couple of poached eggs. HEAVENLY! I caramelized the onions thoroughly. I would use more onion next time. I removed the onions to a separate dish then added the kasha/egg mixture to the pan (12" cast iron skillet - best invention ever!). After combining the cooked macaroni, cooked kasha, caramelized onions, I added a few tablespoons of butter. We are happy campers tonight! Thank you, Chia!! My apologies for not following directions properly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Num, Num, Num! This was my first time doing anything with kasha and this recipe turned out perfect!!! I halved the recipe but still used 1 egg and I used vegetable broth. This is tasty even without noodles. It tastes very "meaty" and I have since used it successfully in Sheperd's Pie. I shared this with my friend who is allergic to gluten, and he was delighted! Thanks a ton Chia :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I bought kasha on a whim and wanted to try it, so I gave this a go. I wondered, while making it, how pasta, kasha, and onions could be transformed into a yummy dish ... and after I made it, I'm still wondering how. It simply did nothing for me. Now I just have to figure out what in the world to do with it to make it edible ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Really easy and delicious recipe. I made this exactly as directed. I served this roast chicken. THANKS Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Made this one for a holiday, everyone loved it. Only issue was frying the kasha, there wasn't enough liquid in the bottom from the onion, and some of the stuff burned onto the pan. Otherwise this turned out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I had this at my aunt's house and loved it. I couldn't remember what is what called for long time and actually I thought it was made with barley when I tried to look it up. I finally figured it out and tried this recipe. I unfortunately screwed and burned the onions slightly but I know that was my own fault and when I make it again it will be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Made this tonight - it was EXACTLY the recipe I wanted for this dish. Yummy comfort food at its best. Thank you for posting it! I did add a few chopped mushrooms and some shredded carrots with the onion - only because I had them in the fridge and needed to use them up. I'd say the additions worked well - either way, this recipe would be just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      It's a good thing I checked to see if this recipe was posted before I posted it. This has been one of my favorites all my life (66 years). If you have never tried kasha & bowties (varnishkes), you don't know what you're missing... And by the way, I have a Lhasa-Poo. Alan Leonetti E-mail: AlanLeonetti@q.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This is a great recipe--quite similar to the one Wolff's Kasha packages used to have years ago. It's got great taste and makes a nice side dish. Try replacing the coarse grain groats with whole groats and cut back by at least half the amount of bow ties (farfalle) to let the buckwheat flavor shine through. Prepared in this manner, these kasha varnishkas make a great breakfast meal with a couple of sunnyside-up or over-easy (not scrambled) eggs. Just make sure the whites are set and the yolks are runny so that when you cut into the eggs the yolks permeate the kasha. Yum! I've been preparing my kasha varnishkas in this manner for more than 40 years, I like it that much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I had never made this before... but it is a favorite with my husband's jewish side and his mother's side as well. I cut back on the onion (only used half) and only added half the kasha mixture to the bowties. still turned out fabulously - very tasty. and now I have enough of the cooked kasha for the next box of pasta! great recipe - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      It is basically the recipe that I grew up eating, though we always had the ratio of kasha to pasta in reverse, with it being mostly kasha. I made a few additions based on things I had in the kitchen, adding a shallot, 3 cloves of fresh garlic (mined), some parsley and a few pine nuts. It all came out great, though I don't think that the pine nuts added anything so next time I would leave them out. I also used homemade vegetable stock instead of chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      My friends request kasha varnishkis from me all the time ... I am stunned at the amount of my friends who say their mothers never made this dish. Here is how to make it even better. When everything is complete, add a can of golden mushroom soup, oil a pyrex, and place it all in and add slicked kishka to the top...bake it for 30 minutes at 350, and friends and relatives will beg for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      chia, chia, chia, this is a wonderful recipe. The only thing I changed was to use beef broth instead of the chicken. Delicious!!!! I also use medium grain kasha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      This is the real thing! The only way to make this,IMHO. I also like to lightly fry up some mushrooms and I use medium grain kasha. I, also, can eet this just as is, Yummy,Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for kasha varnishkes

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.2
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    72%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 196.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried kasha

    bow tie pasta

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites