18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is almost identical to the kasha recipe that I have posted! I have been making it for years and it is always a hit. We prefer the fine grained kasha, but it doesn't reflect any real difference in teh flavour.Thanks Chia.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl April 07, 2003

I sauted sliced mushrooms with the onions. And skipped the bowties. I really enjoy grains and this is one of my favorites!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 08, 2003

Excellent. I have never had this before and it has now been added to my cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
40&Holding May 06, 2013

I added sliced fresh mushrooms and used medium grade kasha. It was great and the leftovers reheated well for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandyg61 February 17, 2013

how about 10 stars? or more? Of course I didn't exactly follow directions but the results are soooo amazing. Firstly, I doubled everything but the macaroni. I used small bowties at the request of my family. ;) I used veggie broth because I am apparently OUT of chicken stock. Horror of horrors. (how did that even happen???) Then, following the inspiration from someone who suggested topping it with fried eggs, I topped each serving with a couple of poached eggs. HEAVENLY! I caramelized the onions thoroughly. I would use more onion next time. I removed the onions to a separate dish then added the kasha/egg mixture to the pan (12" cast iron skillet - best invention ever!). After combining the cooked macaroni, cooked kasha, caramelized onions, I added a few tablespoons of butter. We are happy campers tonight! Thank you, Chia!! My apologies for not following directions properly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo December 04, 2011

Num, Num, Num! This was my first time doing anything with kasha and this recipe turned out perfect!!! I halved the recipe but still used 1 egg and I used vegetable broth. This is tasty even without noodles. It tastes very "meaty" and I have since used it successfully in Sheperd's Pie. I shared this with my friend who is allergic to gluten, and he was delighted! Thanks a ton Chia :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie April 11, 2010

I bought kasha on a whim and wanted to try it, so I gave this a go. I wondered, while making it, how pasta, kasha, and onions could be transformed into a yummy dish ... and after I made it, I'm still wondering how. It simply did nothing for me. Now I just have to figure out what in the world to do with it to make it edible ...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4GoodLookin March 17, 2010

Really easy and delicious recipe. I made this exactly as directed. I served this roast chicken. THANKS Chia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover February 04, 2010

Made this one for a holiday, everyone loved it. Only issue was frying the kasha, there wasn't enough liquid in the bottom from the onion, and some of the stuff burned onto the pan. Otherwise this turned out beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Kaye November 27, 2009

I had this at my aunt's house and loved it. I couldn't remember what is what called for long time and actually I thought it was made with barley when I tried to look it up. I finally figured it out and tried this recipe. I unfortunately screwed and burned the onions slightly but I know that was my own fault and when I make it again it will be great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastacey March 09, 2009
kasha varnishkes