Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / KARTOSHNIK - (Potato Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    KARTOSHNIK - (Potato Cake)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2002

      My husband and I had two couples over for a fried Pickerel dinner this evening and I wanted to have a potato dish to go along with it that I could do ahead of time since I would be busy frying up the fish. I prepared the dish making one change. I used only cheddar cheese in the recipe and it was a mild one. I didn''t want anything to strong as I wanted the fish to be the main focus of the meal. I had the potato mixture all ready a couple of hours before dinner then just before baking I added the baking powder to mixture and got it into the oven. It rises beautifully, and looks nice, and tastes really light and airy. This recipe is certainly a keeper. My other side dishes were honey glazed carrots and a wild rice casserole with mushrooms and slivered almonds. Does anybody know the national origin of this dish? Is it Polish, Ukrainian or maybe Russian?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      5 star all the way - we loved it! I seved it with my roast turkey Christmas dinner - I made a mistake though I forgot the Baking powder but it did not seem to affect the recipe. Your instructions are so easy to follow . I put it together earlier in the day and popped it in the oven 35 minutes before dinner - lovely golden color on top, great texture, The bit of melted butter dab of sour cream and chopped green onions set it off beautifully Thanks for a recipe I'll be using many times

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2002

      This is an excellent recipe. I put a square of it in a bowl of Borscht topped with sour cream. I had never made Borscht befor. It was very good. I bet you could layer this like a cake and put various fillings in it. Sinach/cream cheese?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      This dish was easy and delicious. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This was NOT a cake. This was twiced baked potatoes that are DRY. NOT impressed sorry. Didn't know it was NEED gravy. Ended up using it the next night with homemade chicken gravy. It was ok this way, but no body requested I keep the recipe and when asked said they'd prefer baked potatoes to this. Sorry.. Not for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious and I usually don't like things like this. I brushed melted butter over the top, but made as written. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Heavenly, Uncle Bill! Just had if for dinner and loved it. Had no swiss so used shredded mozzarela. OK, don't kill me: I used instant potatoes... I imagine how it tastes with "real" potatoes! Thanks for sharing your grandmother's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      A truly delicious potato cake, although I must admit that I'm enjoying calling it KARTOSHNIK! I used lazyme's Caramelized Onions rather than raw onion and added some chopped bacon (about 1/4 cup) and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I added a generous dollop of creamy Greek yoghurt just before serving this but we didn't feel the need for the butter so I omitted it. Pat from Ohio is absolutely right: this is also very good at room temperature, which makes it a very versatile recipe for me. During summer, make it when the weather's cooler, then enjoy it at room temperature when the weather's hotter; and it also means that I can also include it in my rotation of take-to-work lunches. Thank you for sharing this super recipe, Uncle Bill! Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      It is definately a recipe for when you have a lot of time on your hands or a special occasion kind of recipe. It looks very impressive coming out of the oven. I would probably wait to cut it at a table, if cooked for a special occasion. It tasted good, but so do plain mashed potatoes. I felt that the presentation was more of a winner here than the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I served this with salmon and it made a lovely combination. I don't really need to leave a comment though : it's all already been said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Always a pleasure to use any of Uncle Bill's recipes. I can't say I knew what to expect with a potato cake- this recipe was a real hit at a Russian themed dinner party I had. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      As Bergy said - five star all the way! Made with potatoes fresh from the garden, followed through as posted resulting in a great tasting potato cake. Have always maintained that for most part - there's nothing like a 'grandma' recipe! Can't wait to serve this to family and friends. Thank you for sharing your Kartoshnik - so a repeatable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Made this for Easter dinner - what a hit - wouldn't change a thing. Mom said her Polish mother always made something similar and had forgotten about it - brought back fond memories. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      this was a nice different way to prepare potatoes. i tried baking at 475 for 20 minutes, but it turned out a little wet (beats me whether the reason is the different baking procedure). overall, it was still good. everyone liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      This is wonderful. It's beautiful to look at and deliciously rich. I subbed half and half for the cream and had to forego the butter and sour cream. It was still to-die-for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      Our family enjoyed this very much. My daughters thought it was cornbread when I served it and liked it best with just the melted butter on top. My husband and I thought the green onions and sour cream added a nice touch. Next time I'll try some different add-ins or garnishes like Pat from Ohio suggested. Thanks Uncle Bill for a recipe I can get alot of mileage out of!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      I made this as a side to Beef short ribs(#32147). It was a wonderful fall meal. The potato cake is light and flavorful. It reminds me of the potato pancakes my Mom used to make with leftover mashed potatoes. I will definitely make these again. I will try sauting the onions as Roosie did. I think it will add a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      Excellent, Uncle Bill! We altered the recipe slightly for personal taste and based on what we had on-hand. We sauteed the onion briefly, added the green onion (raw) to the cake rather than using them to garnish and omitted the butter glaze, and instead just served with sour cream as suggested. We also replaced the swiss with fontina, which was nice. Really interesting texture and great rich flavor. We served this as a main dish actually with a salad on the side. Great for a chilly Monday night. Rich and satisfying and quite easy to make! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      This is great - sort of like a potato-based "corn" bread. And it has inspired me to try a modification. I am always looking for quick and easy take-along breakfast ideas. I'm going to try eliminating the onions, adding a little sugar and some currants and/or nuts, and topping it off with marmalade. My guess is that it will be a very good, and economical, breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Lovely! This reminds me of a soft delicate knish. I didn't have Swiss Cheese and subbed Muenster, which gave additional creaminess. This puffed up beautifully and had a wonderful taste. As I pulled it out of the oven I brushed a tiny amount of butter across the top for some 'shine' and flavor. I don't like sour cream, so ate it as is and it was fantastic. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for KARTOSHNIK - (Potato Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.9
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    60%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 13.9 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 153.9 mg
    51%
    Sodium 512.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites