Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kartoffelpuffer (Potato Pancakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kartoffelpuffer (Potato Pancakes)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2009

      This is pretty much exactly how I make them which is how my father taught me which was the recipe he got in Germany from his grandmother which she got from ... well you get the idea. Very basic ingredients, you can see why this is such an ancient dish. I make a big stack for dinner, it's a family favorite. You can garnish with either apple sauce or sour cream. The only problem with this recipe is that she doesn't mention squeezing out the water after the potato and onion have been grated. This is key. Then might need a bit less flour, try 1/4 cup. I also add a couple of large cloves of minced garlic. These are really scrumptuous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Absolutely a perfect recipe for potato pancakes! I did cheat a bit and instead of shredding potatoes I bought some refrigerated shredded potatoes instead (time crunch was on for me!) and they worked out perfectly! My grandson who is 5 ate two pancakes and kept dipping them in his applesauce without my even suggesting it! There is some German blood running through him! Thanks so much for sharing. I made this on my journey to the German Region during ZWT6 with the Zwizzle Chicks team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Great hit with DS! I used green onions instead of regular onions, because I thought they'd make a nice color contrast, but they cooked sooo much faster than the potatoes....I should have used regular onions! Regardless, they are delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I wanted potatoes for breakfast and these were a great way to prepare them! I did add a little pepper. My DH and I enjoyed them, thanks Debber! Made for the Looney Spoon Phoodies for Zaar World Tour#6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      delicious! we added some seasoning to make it a little more savory to use as a side for roast chicken. very nice texture, not at all soggy like some are. made for zwt6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Great potato pancake. Fried them in the bacon fat rendered from the bacon I served alongside and - MAN - were they good! Served with greek yogurt, apple sauce and a sprinkling of chives. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      These were good. I put my potatoes into salted water to keep them from changing color. Make sure you get all the water out if you do that. These are a tad bit puffy, like pancakes, but only a tiny bit. I liked the texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      My dad used to make these too and his mom before him.Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Made these this morning as I was craving potato pancakes. They turned out GREAT! The only thing that I did "off-recipe" was to follow some tips provided by other posters for this and other potato pancake type recipes -- 1. Shredded the onion and potatoes using the Cuisinart--first by passing through the grating disc, then passing the mixture through the regular processor blade for 3 -4 pulses. 2. Took the entire potato and onion "pulp" and squeezed out the excess liquid using a clean tea towel. Mmmmmmm. Debber is right--just like Nana used to make! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I had these at a Weihnachtsmarkt (Christmas Market) in Heidelberg, Germany, this year and wanted to make them at home. This recipe sounded like what I ate so I tried it out. They were perfect and my family loved them. These are now a staple at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I made this today for brunch for my family. They loved it. I made as written and it was almost too easy when I used the food processor to grate the onion and potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      My daughter absolutely loved these she said these 100% great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      My dad used to make these when I was young. They are just as yummy as I remember. They taste wonderful dipped in a little sour cream! Everyone loved them. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      These were very good. Very similar to the ones that I make. I would suggest to anyone else making these to drain as much of the liquid off as possible before cooking them. These are very crisp and tender, just the way we like them. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kartoffelpuffer (Potato Pancakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 332.1
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    85%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 345.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites