25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe, very easy to make. I don't think it is possible to make too much, it doesn't seem to last long enough.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn February 01, 2002

Yummy!! I doubled the recipe based on the reviews and am I ever glad I did!! I served this with BBQ and baked potatoes and it was great!! Very "refreshing" - a different type of side dish! I might also recommend trying this with regualr vinegar as well. I added a bit more black pepper and next time I may try it with balsamic vinegar for a different taste. Thanks for another great recipe!!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert March 24, 2002

Inez, you must be a "Southern" girl. My Mom and Grandmother have made this dish for a long, long time. It is so good with crispy cucumbers and crispy onions. When I make it, I double or triple the vinegar dressing and keep it in a container. When we serve this, all I have to do is slice the veggies to put in. I usuallly add a bit more black pepper. This one is a goldmine!!! The tart vinegar and water mixture is great.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie May 28, 2002

Wow these are so good and easy to make. I used regular vinegar and a lot more pepper. The sweetness of the onion and the sourness of the vinegar is a great combo too. With these pickles and Berg's freezer pickles, who needs Bicks??

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo June 08, 2002

Inez, these are fabulous and reminds me of a similar recipe my Dad makes. I also doubled the recipe and added more pepper. This definitely has positive pucker power. Yummmmmy!! I have an abundance of garden fresh cukes. This is a great way to use them. Thanks!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 25, 2002

Inez, this is the way I've been eating cucumbers for years! This is exactly how my mom serves them. They are so delicious! Allow them to marinate in the refridgerator for a couple hours before serving. We call them Marinated Cucumbers. A really nice way to serve cucumbers other than in a tossed salad. Thanks for posting, Inez!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 26, 2002

Wonderful summer treat. I just grabbed some cucumbers out of the garden and made this easy treat. Everyone gobbled them up. Thanks

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannonmc January 04, 2003

Love this stuff! Try it with red wine vinegar--equally good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W July 14, 2002

The sour vinegar, the crisp cucumbers, the sweet onions, and LOTS of fresh ground black pepper!!! We were in heaven!! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JerriLea July 10, 2002

Delighted to see your recipe, Nina. It took me back many years - my grandmother used this recipe and it has passed down the generations since. But, wait for it, her father brought it back from America - he worked as a miner in California!! And we all live across the pond!! It's still in use and passed on to others, small world, ain't it. elsie addendum: I grovel, Inez, for spelling your name wrong. My only excuse is - I was talking to a "Nina" at the time. Your recipe is top-notch, as I know from long experience, and is now travelling world-wide. Got any more? Apologies, Elsie

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nelly June 23, 2002
Karl's Favorite Cucumbers