Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Karl's Favorite Cucumbers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Karl's Favorite Cucumbers

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2002

      I love this recipe, very easy to make. I don't think it is possible to make too much, it doesn't seem to last long enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      Yummy!! I doubled the recipe based on the reviews and am I ever glad I did!! I served this with BBQ and baked potatoes and it was great!! Very "refreshing" - a different type of side dish! I might also recommend trying this with regualr vinegar as well. I added a bit more black pepper and next time I may try it with balsamic vinegar for a different taste. Thanks for another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Inez, you must be a "Southern" girl. My Mom and Grandmother have made this dish for a long, long time. It is so good with crispy cucumbers and crispy onions. When I make it, I double or triple the vinegar dressing and keep it in a container. When we serve this, all I have to do is slice the veggies to put in. I usuallly add a bit more black pepper. This one is a goldmine!!! The tart vinegar and water mixture is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      Wow these are so good and easy to make. I used regular vinegar and a lot more pepper. The sweetness of the onion and the sourness of the vinegar is a great combo too. With these pickles and Berg's freezer pickles, who needs Bicks??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Inez, these are fabulous and reminds me of a similar recipe my Dad makes. I also doubled the recipe and added more pepper. This definitely has positive pucker power. Yummmmmy!! I have an abundance of garden fresh cukes. This is a great way to use them. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      Inez, this is the way I've been eating cucumbers for years! This is exactly how my mom serves them. They are so delicious! Allow them to marinate in the refridgerator for a couple hours before serving. We call them Marinated Cucumbers. A really nice way to serve cucumbers other than in a tossed salad. Thanks for posting, Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      Wonderful summer treat. I just grabbed some cucumbers out of the garden and made this easy treat. Everyone gobbled them up. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      Love this stuff! Try it with red wine vinegar--equally good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2002

      The sour vinegar, the crisp cucumbers, the sweet onions, and LOTS of fresh ground black pepper!!! We were in heaven!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      Delighted to see your recipe, Nina. It took me back many years - my grandmother used this recipe and it has passed down the generations since. But, wait for it, her father brought it back from America - he worked as a miner in California!! And we all live across the pond!! It's still in use and passed on to others, small world, ain't it. elsie addendum: I grovel, Inez, for spelling your name wrong. My only excuse is - I was talking to a "Nina" at the time. Your recipe is top-notch, as I know from long experience, and is now travelling world-wide. Got any more? Apologies, Elsie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      Yum! Nothing like crispy, sour cukes n' onions on a hot day! These were easy and delicous, thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      These were good but a bit tart for me. I did add a bit of sugar (didn't measure how much) and then we really enjoyed them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I love cucumbers and vinegar, and this recipe was no exception. I often make a cucumber vinegar salad with red wine or white wine vinegar - this is the first time I've used apple cider vinegar - it was good! I followed as directed except I added some chopped green onion to the jar, too. Yummy! Made for I Recommend Tag Game, 2/19/09 - NELady.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      These went so well with the dinner I made last night, Macaroni/Ham Pasta Salad and Spicy Vegetable Hoagie. Really thought that I would have to let them sit for a few days for the vinegar flavor to marry with the cukes......boy, I was wrong....they were yummy from the getgo! My DS added a tbls of sour cream mixed in...very nice that way too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      This is totally awesome! DH loves them! I did add 1/4 cup more water because DH likes less "vinegar" taste. Easy to prepare! I love the fact the cucumbers are crisp. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Great recipe. It's very refreshing and brought back memories of eating this dish as a child. Since English cukes are on sale here, I plan to make this again this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      These are pretty good, but pretty much *just* regular cukes and onions. Not horrible, but probably not one I'd call a "favorite". Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I used an English cuke and doubled the rest of the ingredients which gave me a quart. I've done similar with white vinegar so this was slightly different and very good. Made for "I Recommend", a tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      My grandmother used to make these for just about every meal at her house, because everyone liked them! Sometimes she would add a little sugar to sweeten them up. She used to separate the rings in with the cucumbers. Thanks for the sweet memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I made this yesterday and really like it! I doubled the recipe and for good measure threw in a small bag of baby carrots. Everything so crunchy & crisp!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Karl's Favorite Cucumbers

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 40.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    43%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 587.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes