Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Karen's Swiss Steak (Stove Top, Crock Pot or Oven) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Karen's Swiss Steak (Stove Top, Crock Pot or Oven)

    Average Rating:

    113 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 113

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2002

      Two thumbs up! Did this tonight for dinner, using the stovetop directions, and it was wonderful. I wasn't sure on the amount of flour to use, as the 3 tsp didn't seem like enough -- so I used more. I also added a minced clove of fresh garlic, more wine than just a tsp :-) and my tin of tomatoes was 28 oz (which worked fine). This smelled heavenly as it bubbled away, and the meat was very tender. No leftovers! I served it with rice and, while that was good, I think mashed potatoes would have been best. Thanks, Karen, for the recipe -- it's a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

      My daughter wants to know why there aren't 6 stars for this one! Great recipe. I added green peppers and didn't have the dry mustard..was still awesome..a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      Very versatile recipe. Omit the carrots and celery add a couple tablespoons of soy sauce and bell peppers and you have peppersteak. Very good either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      We had this last night for dinner. We cooked it in the crockpot and the smell that filled the house was just wonderful. The only changes I made were to substitute salt with extra fresh garlic and onion. I threw in some fresh chopped Italian parsley 30 minutes before serving. I served it on a bed of mashed potatoes, brussell sprouts and parsnips. It was a delicious dish. I certainly will be cooking this again. If I would change anything in this recipe it would be to add about ½ cup of wine or more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Karen, YUMMMMM this was GREAT!! We really enjoyed this. I followed Lennie and used fresh garlic too, I did this in my crockpot and served it with mashed potatoes. DH is still smiling, he loves meat and potatoes. I will try this the other two ways too. THANKS Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      this was so delicious the kids loved it matter of fact as iam typing this and they are saying yeah mom you ate what was left over and didnt leave us any...oh well shows you how much we liked it...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2002

      I made this friday night and it was so good. The steak was very tender, I had noodles with it but I think I will try it with rice next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      I thought I made this exactly as posted but after rereading the other comments I realized I made some changes. Following other's advice, I used 1/4 C red wine ($7 bottle of merlot) and 3/4 tsp pepper. Next time I'll add 1/2 C merlot, garlic and green pepper. I can't say enough about how good this was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      I made this by the crockpot instructions, and my oh my was it ever delicious! I added half of a sliced bell pepper and a little extra wine, and served it with mashed potatoes. I messed up and missed the simmer with flour and pan scrapings part, so I mixed 2 tablespoons of flour with 1/2 cup water, and poured it in about 2 hours before it was done. The gravy was still excellent! Thanks for a recipe that I will make for years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      So good,Karen! Sort of the ultimate comfort food. The meat was tender and really tasty and the gravy was heavenly. Probably the best swiss steak ever. I followed this recipe exactly. It is flavorful, but subtle - not too anything. Serve with mashed potatoes for a hearty filling meal all family members will enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      Very Good, though next I will use less pepper just a little to hot. I did use a couple of cloves of Garlic & 1/4 cup of red wine. my Husband loved it except for to much pepper, Will definitly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      Karen, this was very good! I cooked this on the stove top, added some green pepper and served over wide noodles. My husband said this is a keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I made this in the crockpot, turned out very yummy! I used mushrooms instead of carrots and celery. Served with mashed potatoes, corn, and garlic bread. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      Great recipe karen. I did make a few changes. I had on hand a chuck roast that I needed to get rid of, and wanted to try your recipe, so I threw it in instead of a steak. It turned out great and fell apart. Kind of like a beef stew. I also didn't have any celery, but I did have a can of cream of celery soup. And since I do like my tomato sauces a little more creamy and a little less red, I threw it in too. It turned out great, just how I like it. I served it over mashed potatoes, soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Yummy! I made this following the Crock Pot directions and it turned out fabulously! As suggested by other reviewers however, I doubled the wine, ommited the water, and also doubled the flour and all of the seasonings. In place of Garlic powder, I used fresh. Also, I used one 14oz can of Basil & Herb Diced Tomatoes, and one 14oz can of Fire Roasted Tomatoes as opposed to regular. I served this with Mashed Potato tonight and it was simply fantastic! I'm definitely making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      I have to agreed, this is the best recipe I've ever tried for round steak. I have to admit, I used a wee bit more red wine than it called for, but we'll continue to use it time and time again.Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      I followed the recipe closely except that I replaced the wine with beef stock and added cubed potatoes so to create a stew. It was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      I made the stovetop version and it is excellent, especially when served with garlic mashed potatoes as other reviewers recommended. Adding to my cookbook. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I followed the crock pot method. The sauce was a brownish/red watery mess. I added additional tomato paste and cornstarch to it and it colored and thickened up nicely. However, the meat was dry and flavorless and the sauce was bland even with adding the tomato paste. I added a Tbsp of sugar to give it some flavor. My family ate it but didn't like it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Absolutely delicious. Thank you for giving me cubed steak again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Karen's Swiss Steak (Stove Top, Crock Pot or Oven)

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.1
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    22%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 440.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef round steak

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites