Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kao Pad (Thai-Style Fried Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kao Pad (Thai-Style Fried Rice)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2009

      Delicious! I made 1/2 the recipe and had more than enough for the 2 of us. To make a full meal, I marinated chicken breast chunks in soy sauce and stir-fried it before adding the veggies. I used 2 of the little chili sauce packets from our favorite take-out restaurant and that was the perfect heat for me. It seemed to be lacking in salt so I added quite a bit more soy sauce. Spice-head DH added more chili sauce to his. While maybe not authentic, I topped it off with minced cilantro and a few peanuts for crunch. Thanks for sharing this easy and tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Kao pad really needs fish sauce. Without it, it is not Thai fried rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Nice recipe! Think i made too much rice had to add more soy, lime and chili sauce to taste. But in the end a beautiful dish. Really like the tomatoes in fried rice. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Enjoyed the flavours, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Loved this recipe. Substituted ground ginger, didn't have scallions, but followed everything else to the recipe. Also added some pork. Almost as good as our favorite restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Very yummy, very easy dinner! I've made it a few times now and when I need a meal fast I'll use frozen stir fry mix. It's just as delicious without tomato.I increased the sriracha 'cos I love spicy food and have triedwhat one reviewer suggested and topped it with peanuts. Recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was very good. I made half a recipe since it was just me and had plenty of leftovers. Very easy and a good way to use the bits and pieces in the fridge at the end of the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I served this for dinner tonight and there is not a grain of rice left. I used brown rice as that's what I have, and left out the tomatoes as they aren't in season right now. Delicious! Based on other reviewer's comments I cut back on the chili paste, but next time I make it I will use the full amount as ours wasn't very spicy at all. We will definitely be having this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      My family and I really enjoyed this rice. SPICY. My hubby and I were surprised at how much the lemon wedges helped tame the spice. We wouldn't change anything. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Reduced the serving for two and used a short grain brown rice. I also took the other reviewers suggestions and added the tomatoes at the very end. Used a combination of carrots, bell pepper and peas. I added more soy sauce at the end took it off the heat and topped with sliced green onions, cilantro and more lime. This rice went well with Thai marinated pork chops, Thai Marinade for Pork Chops. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Very easy and very yummy too!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      I also made the rice the night before, and after a few minutes of veggie and condiment prep - it was on the table in no time at all. The only change I might make in the future is to make it without the tomatoes - I didn't remove the juice/seeds, and probably should have to make it a little dryer. We really enjoyed it - good flavor. Update - I made it again, and added the tomatoes right at the end. Perfect that way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Great rice dish! Very good, I was suprised by my cooking. Did I made this? Thanks to you Bunny Mom!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      Wonderful fried rice. For my veggies I chose carrots, green beans, bean sprouts, red peppers and of course I had to add some mushrooms too. It was simple to prepare and served it with teriyaki chicken. There was just a hint of hotness from the chili sauce and I do believe I will add more next time. I wasn't thinking and made the entire recipe; six cups of rice sure is alot for two people, lol. We had leftovers for a couple of days. Thanks BunnyMom for a great recipe and the ladies of the Stella Maris thank you for all you did as scorekeeper for the FFF!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      This is so good! Just the right amount of veggies to rice and and great flavors. We used yellow peppers, snow peas and broccoli. My guests enjoyed this, so thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Highly delicious! Quick and easy dinner when you've cooked the rice the night before! Next time I might add a little fish sauce and maybe a bit more chilli paste, but that's just personal taste - this recipe is great just the way it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      We have fried rice quite often, but this is one of the nicest recipes I've ever come across. A recipe to be repeated regularly, I suspect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      This is a fantastic Thai Rice! It has just the perfect amount of spice and vegetables. I will be adding this to my permanent collection! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kao Pad (Thai-Style Fried Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 584.7
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    26%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 710.9 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.4 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites