19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I made 1/2 the recipe and had more than enough for the 2 of us. To make a full meal, I marinated chicken breast chunks in soy sauce and stir-fried it before adding the veggies. I used 2 of the little chili sauce packets from our favorite take-out restaurant and that was the perfect heat for me. It seemed to be lacking in salt so I added quite a bit more soy sauce. Spice-head DH added more chili sauce to his. While maybe not authentic, I topped it off with minced cilantro and a few peanuts for crunch. Thanks for sharing this easy and tasty recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie February 11, 2009

Loved it! Thanks! Very pretty and pretty tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malevy July 18, 2014

Kao pad really needs fish sauce. Without it, it is not Thai fried rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary C. March 20, 2014

Nice recipe! Think i made too much rice had to add more soy, lime and chili sauce to taste. But in the end a beautiful dish. Really like the tomatoes in fried rice. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lackii650 November 22, 2011

Enjoyed the flavours, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 February 27, 2011

Loved this recipe. Substituted ground ginger, didn't have scallions, but followed everything else to the recipe. Also added some pork. Almost as good as our favorite restaurant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 October 23, 2010

Very yummy, very easy dinner! I've made it a few times now and when I need a meal fast I'll use frozen stir fry mix. It's just as delicious without tomato.I increased the sriracha 'cos I love spicy food and have triedwhat one reviewer suggested and topped it with peanuts. Recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeychile September 12, 2010

This was very good. I made half a recipe since it was just me and had plenty of leftovers. Very easy and a good way to use the bits and pieces in the fridge at the end of the week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alissa.z March 09, 2009

I served this for dinner tonight and there is not a grain of rice left. I used brown rice as that's what I have, and left out the tomatoes as they aren't in season right now. Delicious! Based on other reviewer's comments I cut back on the chili paste, but next time I make it I will use the full amount as ours wasn't very spicy at all. We will definitely be having this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jud!th January 23, 2008

My family and I really enjoyed this rice. SPICY. My hubby and I were surprised at how much the lemon wedges helped tame the spice. We wouldn't change anything. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef HeatherLea December 08, 2007
Kao Pad (Thai-Style Fried Rice)