Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kansas Dirt Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kansas Dirt Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2012

      This has been a staple at family gatherings since before I was born :). I'm pretty sure half the people who would come were there just for the dirt cake - not the family ;). You can't go wrong with this one - a frozen custard like middle with oreos on top and bottom. My grandma is who made it every year and swore by 2 things - only use Oreo cookies and only use French Vanilla pudding. The French Vanilla pudding can be a bit hard to find, but it really does give it that extra something that pushes it over the top :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This is so good. I made this for my family and we enjoyed it very much. I put in the freezer to begin with but my family asked me to put in fidge for remainder of the dessert. Either way its delicious. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Holy cow! This is so good. My hubby & I thank you for this easy yummy treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I always have to come with a couple desserts for our various parties throughout the year, especially if kids are coming. I have made this for the past two Super Bowls, and it is completely gone within 15 minutes of getting it out of the freezer. As a matter of fact, for our 2007 party I didn't even get to try it. It went that fast! This year I did (the last piece), and it deserves sall its kudos and more. To me it was actually surprisingly that good seeing how simple it was to make. Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      This dessert is a favorite at our family gatherings.....we don't freeze it, just chill in the fridge. And we sometimes make it with MINT OREOS! That is DH's favorite. This is a no foul dish, it is so easy you can't mess it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      this was delicious! but instead of freezing it I just chilled it for a few hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I've alswo heard this called "sex in a Pan" pretty fitting. it's yummy. I haven't made this exact recipe but my recipe is very close. I think ours has some extra vanilla so that might add to the tast that the above person was missing. Sadly the dirt hiere in Kansas is not this sweet! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      My two younger children loved this recipe! My 18 yr old, husband and myself all though it was missing something. I did freeze it, maybe we would like it better just chilled like some of the other reviewers.I wonder how it would taste with chocolate pudding. I will make this again, but will probably change it up a little bit. Thanks KC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      Mmmmm! This is a great recipe...always delicious! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      This was excellent, and very easy. Everybody loves it. I do not freeze it, I just chill it for several hours in the fridge. There is never any leftovers! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      After living in Kansas most of our lives and now living in Oregon, this recipe means even more now when we eat it. This recipe is easy and uses simple ingredients to make. We always use Double Stuff Oreos and we don't freeze ours, we just chill it for several hours. This has been a favorite in our family for many years and I am making this year for Christmas, can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      This is the best dirt cake I have ever had! It reminds me of having a ice cream sandwich. Its a very easy recipe to make and especially on the spur of the moment. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! Its one I know I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      I made this for kansas day for our residents. It was wonderful!!! Easy to make/tast wonderful/like ice cream. Our freezer get real cold/i would suggest to take it out of the freezer at least 45 min. Prior to serving. Depends on your freezer. I decorated it with gummy worms. The residents really thought it was cool. I would and will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kansas Dirt Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 510.1
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    50%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 49.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 591.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 45.6 g
    182%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites