14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This has been a staple at family gatherings since before I was born :). I'm pretty sure half the people who would come were there just for the dirt cake - not the family ;). You can't go wrong with this one - a frozen custard like middle with oreos on top and bottom. My grandma is who made it every year and swore by 2 things - only use Oreo cookies and only use French Vanilla pudding. The French Vanilla pudding can be a bit hard to find, but it really does give it that extra something that pushes it over the top :).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kuhbailey November 01, 2012

This is so good. I made this for my family and we enjoyed it very much. I put in the freezer to begin with but my family asked me to put in fidge for remainder of the dessert. Either way its delicious. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 28, 2011

Holy cow! This is so good. My hubby & I thank you for this easy yummy treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamMal June 24, 2010

excellent!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valedix03 April 16, 2008

I always have to come with a couple desserts for our various parties throughout the year, especially if kids are coming. I have made this for the past two Super Bowls, and it is completely gone within 15 minutes of getting it out of the freezer. As a matter of fact, for our 2007 party I didn't even get to try it. It went that fast! This year I did (the last piece), and it deserves sall its kudos and more. To me it was actually surprisingly that good seeing how simple it was to make. Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fyrestorm March 23, 2008

This dessert is a favorite at our family gatherings.....we don't freeze it, just chill in the fridge. And we sometimes make it with MINT OREOS! That is DH's favorite. This is a no foul dish, it is so easy you can't mess it up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICULUV2cook2 January 31, 2008

this was delicious! but instead of freezing it I just chilled it for a few hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ludybella November 02, 2007

I've alswo heard this called "sex in a Pan" pretty fitting. it's yummy. I haven't made this exact recipe but my recipe is very close. I think ours has some extra vanilla so that might add to the tast that the above person was missing. Sadly the dirt hiere in Kansas is not this sweet! Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kari936 August 07, 2007

My two younger children loved this recipe! My 18 yr old, husband and myself all though it was missing something. I did freeze it, maybe we would like it better just chilled like some of the other reviewers.I wonder how it would taste with chocolate pudding. I will make this again, but will probably change it up a little bit. Thanks KC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me March 29, 2006

Mmmmm! This is a great recipe...always delicious! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding March 26, 2006
Kansas Dirt Cake