Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kansas City Dry Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kansas City Dry Rub

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2003

      I made the rub as directed. I used it on chicken and pork before barbequeing. The first impression is of sweetness, then spicyness. It was delicious on both meats, and obviously doesn't add any fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Great Rub!!! Only problem is it's about as addictive as it gets!!! Now I'm rubbing EVERYTHING, chicken, pork, beef, ribs, my ex-wife, no wait, that's rubbing out not in (just kidding). Seriously though This is a wonderful recipe and really enhances the taste of meat and poultry. Try it! You'll LIKE it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2003

      Fantastic dry rub. Used this on "beer can chicken" (chicken cooked on grill plopped onto a beer can). GREAT DRY RUB!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      I've been using this for along time. I use smoked paprika when I mix it up my double batches!! Best recipe I've found!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      This rub is gloriously delicious!! OMG!! I used it with the recipe for Smokemasters Smoked Chicken (#100742 - Try it!! Sooo yummy!) It was so good, that as soon as I type this review, I'm going to run over to the store and pick up a couple of beef briskets and try it on that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Awesome, outstanding, dy-no-mite ... not enough adjectives for this rub. I bought some beef ribs to go with our 'meat fest' BBQ today (Father's Day). I wanted to try different rubs and different meats. The beef ribs with this rub were without a doubt my favorite. I applied the rub approximately 18 to 20 hours before cooking then I cooked them in the oven 'slow and low' for about 5 hours ... which was probably a bit too long .. they were literally falling off the bone. Then they went on the grill for a few minutes to crisp them up a little and applied some barbeque sauce. Totally awesome! Can't wait to try the rub on pork and chicken. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This rub is simply awesome!! When I was deployed to Iraq I would have my wife make it and mail it to me over there. This was a huge hit with my unit when we cooked out. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I'm vegetarian, so I used it on tofu. Dipped a thin block of tofu in melted butter, rolled it in the rub, and then pan grilled it. Really formed a nice crispy crust on it. Tasted sweet at first, and then delivered a nice pop of spiciness at the end. Really nice! I am going to try it on paneer, tempe, and seitan next...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This was a huge hit and I am so happy that I chose this particular rub recipe! I love to grill and it feels terrific when the recipe is a really good one! I used it on pork spare ribs the rack kind not country style. I love to make everyone comfy and satisfied when they visit and this week has been a blur and Zaar recipes have made a big hit! Thank you so very much! Hugs, Jelly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I have had this recipe copied for many moons, and have just recently gotten around to using it. It made delicious BBQ ribs, and I will certainly not wait long before I use it again. What a taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      This was really good! Used it on some chicken thighs, and then some Sweet Baby Rays sauce. They were awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Tried this rub on pork ribs and the results were fantastic. My husband compared the taste of these to that of barbecue restaurants. This recipe will definately stay in my stash for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This was a great recipe. We had put it on a roast and smoked it. It was fantastic. It was our first time ever smoking any kind of meat. Also our first time using a rub. But the flavor was great and we all loved it. I only wish this recipe came with a suggested cooking method. Thank you for sharing. I will definately be making this again very soon. On a brisket I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Oh My Gosh!!! This is absolutely the best dry rub I've ever came across. I've used this on my ribs and they have never failed. in fact, I've passed this on to quite a few of my friends. Everyone wants this recipe. Thank you Sgt. Pepper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Thank you for this recipe ! It is now a staple in the cupboard. I have used it on Chix, pork and beef. I even sent it to Dad, as he loves to cook also, and I had to brag about this recipe I found on Zarr.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Outstanding and versatile rub. This is pretty much the only rub I use anymore for grilled chicken and ribs. Great on beer can chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      We had this on some grilled steak. Just wonderful. Dh & I both liked it very much. We will be using this again. Thanks very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This rub is really good and it covers the meat well. I used it on chicken breasts that I left the bone in and then barbecued. I was a bit worried that the chicken would be too spicy and dry out in the barbecue but it was just fine and the flavour was really good. The juices stayed in the meat as well. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      My husband made a jar of this and we use it when we grill chicken or salmon. It's just the right combination of sweet, spicy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kansas City Dry Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.3
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    12%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 233.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.3 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    61%
    Sugars 62.7 g
    250%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes