Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kansas City Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kansas City Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2005

      This cornbread recipe is alot like past restaurant Tippins.(sweet & cake like) I made this recipe for a chilli potluck @ work. It was a hit. Many people ask for the recipe and could not believe it uses a cake mix and so easy to make. Thanks for the Tippins like cornbread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      It seems like sometimes you can read a recipe and tell by the ingredients that this will be a GOOD ONE. I thought that when I read it and was right! Really Really Good. The cake seemed to soften and gently sweeten the corn bread-yet it kept the corn bread flavor. The odd thing is I don't normally like the flavor of yellow cake mix but this really tasted like corn bread. Thanks so much for sharing. I made it last night and again this morning...I have 4 kiddos and they loved it too! NOTE: If you don't eat lard or meat products I wanted to mention that Jiffy does have lard in it. I have subbed other cornbread mix and yellow cake mix (using identical measurements) and it came out really good that way too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      These were great. I added an ear of leftover roasted corn and it was fantastic! We also made into muffins. Served with slow smoked ribs on my smoker. These were a perfect addition to our meal. Will make again and again! Thanks for a great recipe! Andi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      I have made this recipe several times. I make muffins instead of an 8 x 8 pan. This recipe freezes well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      This was great!!!! At first I was apprehensive about the amount of oil but this came out really, really good. I will never make cornbread the old way again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      It was good but mine was crumbly so hard to get out of pan until cooled. Maybe because I used a two year old corn muffin mix- I don't know

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      OMG, this is the best cornbread on earth!!!! I don't make any other kind. Everytime I make this someone wants the recipe. When I have leftover chili I make mac & cheese and pour the chili in a baking dish with the mac & cheese over the chili and I make this cornbread recipe and pour it over the top and bake it until the cornbread is done. Really good!!!! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      This is the best cornbread I have ever had and the only one I will make now! I have made it many times and the only problem I have is that the center takes forever to bake. Tonight I made it in a 9x13 pan and it came out PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This was a very moist cornbread. I thought maybe this would be real sweet but it wasn't overly sweet at all. This didn't dry out when I reheated it. Thanks Amy V for a new way to make cornbread. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful! Just the right amount of sweetness (I prefer a sweeter cornbread) and a great cake-like texture. This wasn't at all dry and was a perfect compliment to the beef stew I served it with. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      WOW ! I have been looking for a sweet cornbread and this one is spot on ! I couldn't find the yellow cake or cornbread mix, so I used jiffy white cake and their corn muffin mix. After 25 mins. of cooking, it was still runny in the middle, so I bumped it back up to 400 and baked another 10 mins. Very good, we all loved it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      Yummy and delish! It tasted like the cornbread they serve at MARIE CALLENDER'S restaurant. Will make it again. Followed the recipe as given and baked in 11x9 dish (no problems).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      This cornbread is good. sightly sweet soft. Not "grainy" like "regular" cornbread tends to be. I did as Audry M did and baked these in my cupcake/muffin tin. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      Everyweek I make a crockpot full of homemade soup and I serve a "bread" with it. Today I served this with my East Chicken Gumbo (which I will hopefull be able to post tonight). Everyone loved both items, and asked for the recipe. They couldn't believe it when I showed them the recipe. I do have to admit that I had to cook it for about an extra 10 minutes. When I took it out the first time, it was still doughy. Maybe it was my oven, not sure. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kansas City Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 697.5
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    40%
    Total Fat 31.6 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 111.0 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1133.9 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 27.8 g
    111%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites