Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kalua Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kalua Pork

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2010

      This recipe is wonderful and very easy. To quell any fears, There is no banana taste when cooked. I made two simple changes. First I used real pink Hawaiin salt instead of the rock salt (it does have a special flavor) and next I used a crockpot. I cooked the recipe on low for 8 hours and it was perfect. The recipe freezes and reheats quite well. It tastes great plain or with your favorite bbq sauce. Use it anyway you would use any other shredded meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      Awesome! The banana is the secret to this I think, We made this for my daughter's Sweet 16, and it was an absolute hit! I used my roaster oven for the cooking of it, we put it on to roast around 7:00 p.m. the night before, and her party was the next day from 10:00-6:00 p.m.. The pork was so moist and tasty. And we served it on a bed of shredded cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Hello CGM. Thank You,& God Bless you 4 this AMAZING recipe. (I got the rock salt in walmart for $1.)I took it to work @ JFK for July 4th and everyone fell in love with this. It was a nice change of pace from the usual July 4th fare. It was affordable, simple to prepare & TAST-IE!! I also read your profile & am doubly impressed!!! Be encouraged

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I have never received so many compliments from anything I have cook before. I cook is roaster overnight on low heat. Very juicy and flaverful. Reminded me and my wife of our time in Hawaii. This is a keeper, I served it with Hawaiian coleslaw and Hawaiian yams. So easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      'ono! This is a really good. I've made kalua pork before, but never with a banana. It added a nice subtle flavor. I used Hawaiian sea salt and a pork shoulder roast. The first night, we had this over rice with some sauteed cabbage on the side. With some of the leftovers, we made sandwiches with mayo, mango chutney and coleslaw. The rest I've frozen to use at a later time to make quesadillas. Thanks CGM for a great keeper. Made for Photo Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I am very glad I used this recipe for our family reunion Luau. It has been many years since we were stationed in Hawaii and had REAL kalua pig but this recipe just seemed right. I followed recipe except didn't used any onion. I thought it was terrific.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I have a similar recipe for this. It uses coarse sea salt instead of rock salt and doesn't have the last four ingredients but the technique is the same. Also, if you want you can do this recipe in a slow cooker easily. Instead of covering the meat in foil and baking it in the oven you put it in a slow cooker and cook it on low over night or a minimum of 12 hours. (You'll have to restart your crockpot again if it won't cook longer than 10 hours like mine.) You can then shred the meat with the juices in the crockpot to soak the juices back into the meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This dish is absolutely delicious! I make up 5 lbs at a time using this recipe and I add about 1/4 cup of brown sugar to it before cooking. It gives it a little more of the taste that I remember from the luau. We eat on it for a few days and freeze the rest. I have been serving it up traditionally as well as making soft tacos with it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      There nothing like real kalua but this is very close. Recipe say rock salt and then calls for hawaiian rock salt.. there is a big difference in the taste but I used a sea salt. Will use part of my precious stash of hawaiian salt next time

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      This is one of the meats I served at a Birthday party Luau. I wished I could give this more than 5. stars*. It was so delicious. So tender it seemed to melt in your mouth. The flavor was awesome! Thanks Colorguard Mom. Bullwinkle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      I used this Kalua pork recipe and the results was very tasty!! My daughter wanted Kalua pork for her wedding reception. I have never cooked Kalua pork nor ever taste it. I researched it online and lucky for me I found food.com website. I found a few similar recipes, but I picked this one because of the great reviews. Before the reception, I tried the recipe and it was so delicious! I served the Kalua pork over steamed rice, steamed shredded cabbage and toss romaine salad on the side with dinner rolls and wedding cake, and lemonade drink. My family and I got many compliments on the choice of menu for that evening! I used Kosher salt and used my big crockpot. As I shredded the meat, I couldn't find any trace of banana which is part of the ingredients. I emailed a friend who lives in Hawaii and told her when she comes to the states again I'm going to make her and family the Kalua pork! Thank you for sharing your ideas and reviews which was a tremendous help to me and my daughter!<br/>P. S. My daughter's friend spent some time in Hawaii. She attended the wedding reception and she was very impressed with the meal. She loved the Kalua pork and she said it tasted every bit as good as the Kalua pork served at a luau in Hawaii! Also, another couple who have spent some time in the Pacific Islands said the same thing. <br/>For a large gathering, you can get a head start (about a week before the event) by cooking pork in crockpot, putting cooked juice in a glass bowl and let it cool and refrigerate in order for fat to rise to the top and later disgard the fat, refrigerate pork at the same time, put jelled juice back in with pork and freeze in foil pans. The night before the gathering, thaw the frozen pork in refrigerator and the following day put in roaster ovens at 225 to 250 degrees. By 5 p.m. Kalua pork is ready to serve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      I followed the crockpot suggestion (cooked 8 hours on LOW while I was at work), and I added a splash of kahlua liqueur too. It was fairly good, a bit boring on its own, not as rapturous as what I remember from Honolulu. It made great Cuban sandwiches, though. (Shredded pork, ham, pickles, mustard, lettuce, and tomatoes on cuban bread in a sandwich press.) Not bad, but I'll probably stick to ropa vieja or pork adobo, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kalua Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pork butt

    rock salt

    liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes