Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2010

      This recipe is legit! To stretch it out, add sliced cabbage for the last hour of cooking and stir it after a half hour. I always freeze the juices to pick out the fat and then add it back in and shred. I only do that because I don't like it slimy when I eat it for leftovers. Don't worry if you don't have Hawaiian sea salt because I honestly can't tell a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      can not believe no one has tried this. The meat was so tender with such good flavor. and so easy and fast to through in the cooker. I let it sit about a hour on warm than it sliced very well. Thank you Da Mama, this will be one of my go to EASY recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This turned out great. I will definitely do it again. Thanks for making a culinary rookie look like a hero.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      10 stars!! Made this for Thanksgiving 2011 while our family had our annual butchering. Got compliment after compliment! increased hickory liquid smoke to 2TBSP. Also took about 10 cloves of garlic and pierced holes in the pork and shoved them in an inch or so. All the fat off of the pork butt just melted and moistened all the meat wonderfully! Did dump a lil bit of beer in the bottom of crock pot just for insurance. Thanks Sandi for a super great recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Amazing and SO easy! I too used regular salt and added about 1/2 Tbsp more of the liquid smoke. Served with coleslaw and pineapple slices. Delicious the next day on a bun. Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This was absolutely like the kalua pork I get in Hawaii. I made a 4lb pork shoulder in slow cooker at 250 for about 8 hours. I drained the juices in a fat seperator, then poured the juice back in. There was no slicing of this pork. When I went to get it out with a serving fork, it completely fell apart and there were bones in the bottom of the cooker. I served it with rice, macaroni salad & cabbage for an authentic Hawaiian plate lunch. The next day we had the leftovers with bbq sauce for pulled pork sandwiches. Thank you for this great recipe that I can make at home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      So, I've made this about 4 times now. My fiance is Hawaiian as is one of my best friends. I've made it for both of them and my fiance's family. Rave reviews. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I've been planning on making this for about 6 months or so but never got to it. I'm sorry it took me so long!!! I had to make a couple adjustments as the only pork I had in the freezer was a 2 lb sirloin roast. It was a bit dry, I'm sure the pork butt would have made it moister so it's my fault. We love the taste of it and as soon as I finish clearing the freezer, I'm buying a pork butt roast to make this again!! Thanks for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Sandi-this deserves more than 5 stars! Tastes sooo good. Used coarse sea salt instead of hawaiian, also was pull apart tender in 10-12 hours on low. Served this on buttered/garlic/toasted kaiser rolls w/chopped vidalia onions, provolone cheese and just a smidge of barbecue sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I was reading a review of this recipe and realized I had forgotten to rate it myself. I have made this several times, most recently for DS's confirmation celebration. It usually cooks 10-12 hours on low in my crockpot. Easily done a couple days in advance, but hang on to some of that juice for reheating, so it doesn't dry out. Served on soft buns with bbq sauce, sliced onions, pickes, etc. Would be a good recipe for game day. I used several small boneless pork butts equaling the six lbs. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      OH MY GOD!!! This was absolutely, positively, insanely delicious! And just as easy as it is delicious! I did sprinkle it with a tad of garlic powder, and I had an envelope of seasoned Hawaiian sea salt from my last visit there. The dogs spent the day sniffing in the air, they were exhauseted by the end of the day. We ate like we hadn't ate for days and still had leftovers. This will be my go to recipe for impromptu parties. Absolutely fantastic! Sandi...you should be worshipped for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      This stuff rocks! So tender, so tasty, and so easy. I've had the real deal in Hawaii, and this suits me just fine. It's the cat's meow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      I've made this reicpe twice now, once for my family and once for a large group gathering. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was a huge hit both times! Even the leftovers are amazing. Thanks for a fantastic recipe that I will continue to make over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      I've never added a rating to anything and it's odd that I'm starting with this very simple dish, but it was amazingly perfect. I put the meat in the crockpot straight from the freezer then went to bed. When I woke up and tasted it, I was disappointed, but left it going while I went to work. When I came home and tasted it again, I was shocked at the difference a few hours made. (I used smoked Hawaiian kiawe sea salt.) I used some for tamales and put the rest in the freezer and have used it in burritos and eggs since then. Will definitely make it again. Wow, so simple but so incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      Not only was this recipe easy to follow, it turned out fantastic! One thing I did try, was you mentioned "adding drippings as needed to moisten". I noticed there was alot of fat in the drippings so I poured them into a bowl and put it in the freezer for a bit to solidify the fat. I then threw the fat away and used the remaining juices to moisten the meet. It was so yummy! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe as I know it will be one we use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      WOW! This was better than my favorite smoked pork I get at a local bbq place. Can't get much easier than this! I cooked mine on low for 17 hours, pulled it apart, and cooked for a few more hours in the juice. So tender and wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      What a shame that I can only give this 5 stars; it deserves soooo many more! We made this yesterday, had it for dinner last evening and my husband is still talking about it (fortunately, since it's only the two of us, there are plenty of leftovers). My only deviations from the recipe as written were to use plain sea salt, because I couldn't find the Hawaiian Sea Salt, and I didn't measure either the salt or the liquid smoke. Just rubbed them on until the meat looked nice and dark.
      I also used a slow cooker liner and then lined the liner with cabbage leaves since I had no Ti leaves or banana leaves. My slow cooker tends to have hot spots, hence the liner and leaves. Mine was done beautifully in 10.5 hours; falling off the bone and oh! so juicy! Not much work to pulling the pork either, for it fell apart - just like we like it.
      Served the meat as sliders on King's Hawaiian rolls, with sides of potato salad and cole slaw (which were largely ignored by both of us. The meat was just soooo good!).
      Thank you, thank you, thank you, Sandi, for this wonderful recipe! I know I'll be making it really often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

    • on June 07, 2011

      Excellent and so simple!! I used 2picnic pork roasts (what I had) and cooked for 10 hours. I couldnt find hawaiian sea salt and used just regular sea salt, I dont think it would have changed much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I couldn't find a 6lb pork butt for the life of me, so I used two 3lb pork butts. I wrapped mine in about 6 ti-leaves before putting it in the slow cooker with the salt and liquid smoke. I ended up using about 3 tablespoons of hawaiian seat salt and two tablespoons of liquid smoke. My family likes kalua pig more on the salty side. I put it in the crock pot on low with about 1/4 c of water around the ti leaves at 11:30pm and by 9am the pork was pretty much done. A lot ( A LOT!) of fat had rendered so I did need to drain it, but other than that it was very delicious and simple. I think because my crock pot is very, very old that it cooks more on the hot side.. I would have preferred for it to be able to sloooowwwly cook all day. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 503.5
     
    Calories from Fat 320
    63%
    Total Fat 35.5 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 138.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 42.5 g
    85%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hawaiian sea salt

    liquid smoke flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites