57 Reviews

This recipe is legit! To stretch it out, add sliced cabbage for the last hour of cooking and stir it after a half hour. I always freeze the juices to pick out the fat and then add it back in and shred. I only do that because I don't like it slimy when I eat it for leftovers. Don't worry if you don't have Hawaiian sea salt because I honestly can't tell a difference.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kara kim November 30, 2010

can not believe no one has tried this. The meat was so tender with such good flavor. and so easy and fast to through in the cooker. I let it sit about a hour on warm than it sliced very well. Thank you Da Mama, this will be one of my go to EASY recipes.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise January 22, 2010

This turned out great. I will definitely do it again. Thanks for making a culinary rookie look like a hero.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kendall, Tx March 30, 2010

10 stars!! Made this for Thanksgiving 2011 while our family had our annual butchering. Got compliment after compliment! increased hickory liquid smoke to 2TBSP. Also took about 10 cloves of garlic and pierced holes in the pork and shoved them in an inch or so. All the fat off of the pork butt just melted and moistened all the meat wonderfully! Did dump a lil bit of beer in the bottom of crock pot just for insurance. Thanks Sandi for a super great recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes December 18, 2011

Amazing and SO easy! I too used regular salt and added about 1/2 Tbsp more of the liquid smoke. Served with coleslaw and pineapple slices. Delicious the next day on a bun. Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseCupcake October 15, 2011

This was absolutely like the kalua pork I get in Hawaii. I made a 4lb pork shoulder in slow cooker at 250 for about 8 hours. I drained the juices in a fat seperator, then poured the juice back in. There was no slicing of this pork. When I went to get it out with a serving fork, it completely fell apart and there were bones in the bottom of the cooker. I served it with rice, macaroni salad & cabbage for an authentic Hawaiian plate lunch. The next day we had the leftovers with bbq sauce for pulled pork sandwiches. Thank you for this great recipe that I can make at home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ChiSox#1 June 20, 2011

So, I've made this about 4 times now. My fiance is Hawaiian as is one of my best friends. I've made it for both of them and my fiance's family. Rave reviews. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacksonb April 19, 2011

I've been planning on making this for about 6 months or so but never got to it. I'm sorry it took me so long!!! I had to make a couple adjustments as the only pork I had in the freezer was a 2 lb sirloin roast. It was a bit dry, I'm sure the pork butt would have made it moister so it's my fault. We love the taste of it and as soon as I finish clearing the freezer, I'm buying a pork butt roast to make this again!! Thanks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabby LSW January 23, 2010

Sandi-this deserves more than 5 stars! Tastes sooo good. Used coarse sea salt instead of hawaiian, also was pull apart tender in 10-12 hours on low. Served this on buttered/garlic/toasted kaiser rolls w/chopped vidalia onions, provolone cheese and just a smidge of barbecue sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat July 15, 2009

I was reading a review of this recipe and realized I had forgotten to rate it myself. I have made this several times, most recently for DS's confirmation celebration. It usually cooks 10-12 hours on low in my crockpot. Easily done a couple days in advance, but hang on to some of that juice for reheating, so it doesn't dry out. Served on soft buns with bbq sauce, sliced onions, pickes, etc. Would be a good recipe for game day. I used several small boneless pork butts equaling the six lbs. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoDakCook July 13, 2009
Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker