Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kale With Caramelized Onions and Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kale With Caramelized Onions and Garlic

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2003

      We love Kale at our house. This is a good way to fix it. So many people are unfamiliar and therefore afraid to try it. GO FOR IT! Great source of vitimins and tastes good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I had some leftover kale from a soup I made and was looking for a recipe to use it up. I'm glad I tried this one -- it is SO good. I carmelized the onions for about 10 minutes, added the garlic and cooked for another 2 minutes, and then added the kale (stems removed). I also added a little water to the pan which helped the kale wilt. I used white balsamic vinegar as the finishing touch. Your recipe is quick, easy, healthy, and most of all -- really delicious. We loved it and will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Excellent! Since I love the taste of carmelized onions, I decided to use one whole one and it added great flavor. I also felt that that the recipe benefited from the addition of salt (just a pinch or three) and a few splashes of Mrs. Dash seasoning. But what really made the dish was the addition of balsamic vinegar at the end--it really enhances the taste of the kale and is not to be missed. If you're trying to add more greens to your diet or just looking for a quick and tasty side dish, try this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      Yum. Def a keeper. The balsamic vinegar really made the dish. I added in a little black pepper to the dish too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I add a tiny bit of water, a pinch of salt or dash of white wine vinegar instead of balsamic vinegar and it always turns out wonderfully! Great vegan side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      First time I ever made Kale and enjoyed having it this way. Next time I will remove the stems though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      A nice, quick recipe. For meat-eaters, I'd add a tasty meat such as bacon or sausage to give it a little more flavor. And yes, don't forget to remove the stems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      This was quite good,though I forgot to add balsamic vinegar & will make sure I do next time. I'd prefer removing stems also, a bit tough to chew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      Good but not great. Seemed a bit bland but I never eat kale so maybe I'm missing something. I KEPT the stems as I didn't want to waste them. I cut them in half lengthwise then chopped then into maybe thumb sized pieces. I sauteed them a bit before adding the onion. I was using minced garlic from a jar so I added that right before the kale. I should have added some water or something to help the kale cook down. It seemed still a bit raw but still edible. I have a spray bottle of balsamic vinegar. It really does help, maybe next time I'll add more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Kale is not something I cook very often but this recipe caught my eye, and I'm glad it did. Loved the balsamic vinegar finish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Good! Between carmelized onion and deglazing with balsamic vinegar, this dish was slightly sweet. I used a bag of organic chopped kale from Trader Joes which made for an easy side. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      This is a decent kale recipe, although it's a little bland. That's easily fixable though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      We loved it! So quick and simple. The balsamic vinegar really is a must. Made for Diabetic Forum and Greens for Spring.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Sorry for such a poor rating, but I cooked as written and it just was not that tasty. It did taste better before I sprinkled on the balsamic vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      Delicious. I made this last night for dinner and we ate it up. I did add a ham hock while cooking the onins and garlic ..... yummy. Thank you for sharing, this is a great recipe and so good for you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Love this kale! It is a fast and easy meal or side plus it is really yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Love this. And it's healthy too. I always add the vinegar, it just adds something extra to the taste.I've served to people who said they didn't like greens and watched them reach for seconds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Didn't realize until after I was prepped to cook that my onion was no good. I swapped in red bellpepper for the onion and used a little chicken broth. It turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Great recipe! I forgot to add the vinegar, but it still turned out delicious. I read some other reviews, and waited to put the garlic in until I added the kale. My husband even really liked this dish, and he isn't a kale fan. Thanks for putting this recipe up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Wonderful! The key is to caramelize the onions first (took mine about 20 minutes), then add garlic right before you add the kale. The balsamic vinegar really adds to the dish so don't skip it! Thanks Daphne!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kale With Caramelized Onions and Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 65.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    51%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites