9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was oh so good! I skipped Step #1 completely. We don't own a microwave besides. It really isn't necessary to wilt the kale first. I dumped everything in a bowl, stirred together and cooked for about 10-15 minutes on medium heat in olive oil. Used organic lacinto/dinosaur kale and Bubbie's brand horseradish. Regular yellow onion subbed for shallots and I used 1/2 onion. A spatula was used to flatten the mixture as it browned. This was surprisingly tasty! To serve: poached egg on top and a squirt of Marie Sharp's hot sauce and a simple side of roasted whole carrots. Yum! Made for Best of 2012 and will be added to my cookbook Best of 2013! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 08, 2013

Pretty good, pretty easy, and pretty healthy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond July 16, 2013

Wow, this is so super delicious, and made a great "brunch for dinner" item served with scrambled eggs. I used less oil and also sauteed the greens in the pan. The horseradish adds to the wonderful flavor. A definite new favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito December 08, 2012

This was the perfect dinner. We had a huge lunch today, so wanted to find something light and tasty for dinner. This fit the bill exactly, as we had some organic kale just waiting to be used up. We used all the ingredients listed, but did up the horseradish since we both love it. Topped it with an egg over-easy and a homemade batter bun - DINNER!!! Made for ZWT8 - Great Britain. Thanks to my Om Nom Nommer team buddy Jen, for another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori August 15, 2012

Great recipe - although I had to make some modifications due to what I had on hand. I used sweet potato instead of regular, used a small red onion instead of shallot, and instead of horseradish I just chopped up some garlic. I tried microwaving the 2 sweet potatoes for 3 min. instead of boiling, but it made them a little too soft to easily grate, so I ended up cutting them into pieces. Would microwave less time to be able to grate. I put two poached eggs over it - delicious brunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpareTimeChef November 06, 2010

We loved this recipe. I don't micro wave so I boiled the fresh chopped kale until quite soft ( apprx. 15 minutes) let it cool, squeezed all the moisture out and the chopped it even finer. Used a can of sliced potatoes, cut them into coarse shreds and followed the recipe. Served with a lovely stew

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 18, 2010

One of those tasty dishes you eat and your body thanks you for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo August 15, 2009

Thanks for posting Jen, I don't have a microwave so wilted the kale down in the pan and then tipped it back into a bowl with the other ingredients, mixed it then put back in the pan. Like the previous reviewer I tried not to stir these too much so the potatoes were nice and crispy. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilKiwiChicken June 29, 2008

This is a yummy and different way to prepare potatoes. I love the addition of the kale and horseradish. I didn't stir mine too much..I like the crunch of the crust that forms when left alone. Thanks for posting Jen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ April 02, 2008
Kale & Potato Hash