Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kale Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kale Chips

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2008

      I have mixed feelings about this one. I had to do 2 batches. I burned the first one (20 min was too long), but it was still somewhat edible. The second batch was much better at 15 min. I'm always on the lookout for healthy recipes, so I will probably make it again. They get chewy if you store them so only make what you'll eat that day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I am so hooked on this recipe! It is the BEST recipe for "healthy" snack food I've ever tried. I've made it 3 times now, and it's the only thing I ever want to do with Kale when I get it! My ultimate proportions are: 2 tbsp Olive Oil, 2 tbsp Apple Cider vinegar and 1 tsp of salt (and I am a salt-a-holic, so that probably could be lessened!) Thank you for my new all-time favorite snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      These are sooooo good! Really taste like Lays original chips! I swear! BUT, I don't know how to store them...anyone else know?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I was hoping that this would be as great as described. It's not. Kale is bitter and the bitter flavor stays in the chips. They're way too light and leave a funny taste and texture in my mouth. I've heard they taste like potato chips, did those people really use kale?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      I was not really happy with these at all. They seemed way too bitter and had a strange aftertaste. So sorry. I really wanted to like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      These are great! I've made them several times and have found that a lower heat (i baked them at 300*) for approximately 10 minutes makes them crispy, any longer and they start to burn. Also, i don't add the salt until they come out of the oven, and then a sprinkling is plenty. Thanks for the great snack idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Great way to get some greens in your diet. I halved the salt and still found it too salty...will put less next time. My husband crumbled these kale chips over THAI TOFU AND SQUASH CURRY (Thai Tofu and Squash Curry) and loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I've made 3 batches in 3 days. I cut back the oil each time and I don't need any salt. It's absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

    • on August 01, 2006

      I really enjoyed these. I added 2 1/2 tbls balsamic vinegar and 2 tbls olive oil and sprinkled with salt. I also added more salt after baking. Will definately be making these again. By the way, ate them all as soon as they cooled down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Oooohhh! Yummy, light, crispy, delicious kale! I had no vinegar, so I used lemon juice instead. Next time, I'll leave the salt out in the beginning and will simply sprinkle salt on afterwards as my "chips" were too salty with about 3/4 tsp. of salt. I was sauteing up some zucchini at the same time and ended up crumbling some the of the kale chips on top zucchini -- amazing! The crumbled kale would be a great topper for many things -- cottage cheese, salad, etc., but the chips are delicious all on their own. Too bad they're not more attractive! Thanks for a wonderful, creative recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Hi Yogi- tried this today- nice treat- different. I used 2T raspberry balsamic vinager(kitchen smelled good)and 2T oil w/ a sprinkle of salt. They shrink a lot, so you need a good bunch-sprayed the pan with oil spray, clean-up was a breeze.Also- it is very important to pull all leaves off stems. I would make these again when I need a healthy "crunch"-- Oh yeah- my cat couldn't stop steering at me eating these things- Thanks~~LindaSue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      This was an interesting treat for us. Five stars because the recipe turned out just as written. I think for next time, we will try less salt and a more vinegar flavor. Maybe balsamic vinegar? It was a very nice side to our vegetable panini sandwiches. Very unique. Half of the recipe was more than plenty for two of us. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      I had such high hopes for this, and I am sorry to say it fell a bit flat for us. It was very crispy, yes, salty, yes, good combination of ingredients, but still kinda bitter, it reminded me of ashes in the fireplace after you burn paper..you know the kind that are so lightweight they fly around the room? Not to mention, the house took on a very bitter, kale smell. Not a winner for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      I tried this recipe over the weekend. It was great! I mixed up the oil and vinegar amounts, but I think it worked. They didn't stick to the pan, and the vinegar flavor was just right. I also only sprinkled the kale with a small amount of salt. This is a great way to eat your dark, leafy greens- thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      I was at the store today, saw some kale, and thought about this recipe. Needless to say, I am SOOO glad I bought the kale. I really enjoyed it. I didn't really follow the directions, I sprinkled the olive oil on, tossed it a bit, then sprinlked on the cider. I did make sure it was well coated, then laid it out and salted with Kosher salt. Really delightful snack. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      I tried this with 1.5 T vinegar and just about a teaspoon of salt and it tasted GREAT. Just a liitle too oily, I'll use less next time, maybe 2T (I had about 2 cookie sheets worth of kale leaves). I never would have imagined how crispy and airy these got!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      I had to review again to add that I made these again, and did use less salt, but also added a couple of tsp of sugar (splenda actually). Made it taste more like crispy fried seaweed, and I'm hoping it will help for those who find it bitter. HTH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      I thought this was a great idea but my chips were extremely bitter. I don't know if kale is like eggplant, which has to be very fresh or else it gets bitter as it sits. I will try this again and make sure my kale is absolutely fresh and I hope to get a better result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2005

      I took other reviewers' suggestions and used 1 1/2T of vinegar, just a sprinkling of salt both before and after roasting, and took care to remove all of the stems. I doubt I looked very lady-like while eating this but it certainly was delicious and I'll definitely have it again. It just won't be in front of company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kale Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.2
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    69%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 312.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites