107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wasn't totally bowled over by the taste, but appreciate this for being a good, healthy recipe. I reduced the salt and still found it way too salty - will try it again with zero salt and then just sprinkle as needed. 300F for 22min worked well for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood August 23, 2010

Wow! I had no idea these would come out so crisp. There is no need to run for a bag of potato chips again. These definitely satisfy the need for crunch and salt. I used much less salt than called for and would still reduce it even further. Quick and easy snack. I will definitely try playing around with other seasonings as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma256 August 11, 2010

Surprisingly good! I also baked at 300 for 18 min. I will be making these often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslie July 01, 2010

Tried 300 for 20 minutes. Otherwise followed recipe. My 12 yr old son and 5 yr old daughter both came back for more. They are not very adventurous when it comes to veggies so I expected them to turn up their noses just looking at it. Shocking. Will repeat often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Batman's Chef June 12, 2010

I love the kale chips. I used balsamic vinegar instead and sprinkled a little salt after they were dry. I also baked at 300 degrees for 20 minutes as recommended by another reviewer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liabbemom May 23, 2010

five stars if the original recipe didn't call for SO MUCH SALT. I only used 1T and found it to be unbearably salty. Honestly, if you need THAT much salt to make something edible, you probably should stop trying. Otherwise, love this recipe (will drop the salt down to 1 tsp. next time). also used dino/black kale.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c.no.harm February 22, 2010

Excellent snack or appetizer. These were as addictive as potato chips! I made them for my sister and my husband and they both loved them as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert Sea Chicken February 14, 2010

If you consider you're eating kale, this is really good! It has a nice crunch, but it can be bitter and ashy. Here is what I did to help. I used 1/2 TEASPOON of sea salt and that was plenty for me. I also had the oven at 375. The younger and smaller the leaves, the better tasting the kale will be. Those huge old leaves are nasty. Spread the leaves out intead of piling them on top of each other. I also made some with Tony's Cajun Seasoning sprinkled over them before baking. I liked the taste, next time I think I am going to try a little hot sauce mixed in. The kale can handle it! Thanks for the recipe! I think I'll be experimenting with it for a while.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ribbits January 04, 2010

SALTY SALT KALE CHIPS WITH SALT. I put in half the called for salt, and it was still barely edible- had to give to a salt loving friend! But I will make again, a very creative and yummy use of kale.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkmmwnomad January 03, 2010

I'm not a huge fan of kale so when I got some for my CSA, I figured I'd try this recipe. It is a very simple recipe but in the end, it's still kale. Mine turned out VERY salty - mental note: use regular salt next time, not kosher - and some didn't crisp up where I had them piled to thickly but in the end, these chips were a nice way to use something that normally would have ended up going bad and taking a trip to the compost pile. I won't be rushing out to buy any kale but the next time I get some from the CSA, I know which recipe I'll be using.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith November 27, 2009
Kale Chips