108 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't know what I did wrong, but my chips got really burnt really quickly. I followed the recipe and baking temp as stated and I omitted the salt and after only 7 minutes, all of the little kale bunches were shriveled up and burnt. It actually set off the smoke detectors in my house. I will try it again tomorrow and in the meantime, if anyone can tell me what I did wrong, I would love to know so I don't waste more good kale and so I can re-rate this recipe with a lot more stars. :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness February 06, 2012

These are good. They are different for sure, but they are definitely crunchy. I added garlic powder to mine after baking to boost the flavor. I think parmesan cheese would be a good after-baking topping too, in a small amount. Barbecue seasoning would be good also! They probably won't satisfy a potato chip craving, but they are good all by themselves. I will make these again. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth January 26, 2012

Great and healthy alternative to potato chips! I've made this a few times now and my husband loves it. I do not always add the apple cider vinegar and once I used rice wine vinegar instead. I bake my batches at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. I stick close because once I smell the 'toasted' aroma, I know it's ready! I also like to toss around the kale in the last couple of minutes to ensure all the leaves are toasted. I've added variety by tossing in garlic and onion powder, parmesan cheese, and crushed red pepper flakes. I also prefer extra virgin olive oil for flavor and aroma. The flavor varieties are endless with this super easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 December 31, 2011

Delicious! I couldn't believe how addictive these are. I am sure they will all be gone tonight:) I baked them at 300 degrees for 20-30 minutes, checking them every 5 minutes or so near the end of the cooking time, as some cooked quicker than others. I also just sprinkled salt on them instead of measuring out 1 tsp as that seems a lot. They turned out perfectly and I loved the tang of the vinegar. I can't wait to make them again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC August 30, 2011

So, I'm conflicted on the amount of stars. I only made ONE bunch, but not all of them were crunch. They all seemed to be crunchy on the ends, but slimy in the middle. The flavor was good. But I don't know how to make them more consistently crunchy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonesyx6 June 08, 2011

I thought this was good and will use it again. However, I burned half of them and followed the recipe. Next time I will cook them on 300 for 15 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Swank April 10, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I only had one bunch of Kale, so I cut back to 1 tsp of salt but used full amounts of the other ingredients. Just because of his personal preference I will cut back a little more on the salt (I personally thought it was great). Loved the flavors and texture. I did over bake mine a bit even on 350, that was my own fault (and my oven bakes a little hotter) and it still had great taste, I just need to be more careful next time because over baking does make the Kale a little bitter. We will definitely be making this again with 2 bunches and have plans to add this to our garden this year if possible! Thank you for a great, healthy recipe! Can't wait to have this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter March 11, 2011

Kale chips are so delicious! I couldn't taste the vinegar (and did use quite a bit more) - but they were still great. They work as a snack or even as a veggie side dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 04, 2011

I made these but I used half the salt and half of the vinegar! And make sure to remove every bit of the spine and stem, from each kale leaf because it will become like thin, hard skewers...which are very unpleasant to eat! I love this recipe! This tastes very much like broccoli to me! A very healthy guilt-free snack!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LILLIANCOOKS January 03, 2011

Addicting! Ate most of the batch straight from the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toddler Chef November 27, 2010
Kale Chips