108 Reviews

These are tasty...I used 2tb oil and 1tb vinegar plus I waited till I took them out of the oven to salt. I also used Pam to keep them from sticking. I only cooked them 15 min at 350 degrees and they were perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
preed1347 January 20, 2015

Oh my gosh, these are so good!! I used the prepackaged kale and probably only used 1 bunch. I took them out before they were all completely crisped up because I loved the taste. I didn't salt them in the bowl but shook out some kosher salt trying not to overdue it. Was still pretty salty for me, so next time I will just sprinkle a small amount over the pan after I spread it out. A keeper!! Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy January 20, 2015

I had Kale growing in my garden and wanted to find a healthier snack food while using my Kale and was pleased to find this recipe. I too increased the vinegar and cut back on the salt. Used the parchment paper and had no trouble with sticking. The flavor took a little to get used to but after a few bites it really grows on you - and hey, the health factor is major. Don't think it quite replaces potato chips but like that it still fills you up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 13, 2014

My daughter and I loved these kale chips and ate the entire container in three days! I reduced the salt by quite a bit and substituted balsamic vinegar (which was quite tasty) because I was out of apple cider vinegar. I'm sure these are going to be a staple at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tunnia August 03, 2013

Love the addition of vinegar. Thankj you for posting. I agree- 1-2 teaspoons of salt is quite alot and really not necessary.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe March 01, 2013

These were delicious. I ueed fresh kale from the garden. This didn't need ANYwhere near the salt called for in the recipe as far as I am concerned. {{2 tablespoons of salt would do a whole basket of kale}}. Please use your discretion when adding salt for your own taste. I am amazed that as Roosie {another reviewer} stated ... they turn out like lightly baked potato chips. ... oh.. just tooo tooooooo delicious. Thanks for a tasty recipe!... and a healthy one to boot! UPDATE 02/21/2013.. These are still terrific for a snack. Your kale needs to be DRY BEFORE BAKING it. So.. what I do is: the night before I make them I wash and spin dry the kale. I then put it into a new large mesh bag (the ones that you use for laundry or lingerie) and put it in my refrigerator overnight. When morning comes around your kale is nice and dry. I also bake these longer on a much lower temperature to reduce overbowning. I bake them on 275 degrees F and check them after 10-11 minutes and take the crisp ones off while allowing the others to remain on the cookie sheet to be baked a little longer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge February 21, 2013

Good base recipe. I did 1 big bunch of Kale and did 2 TBS of Olive Oil and 1 TBS of apple cider vinegar. This is a great recipe to start with if you haven't made Kale chips before. I'm not sure how much salt I added, I put some in the 'dressing' and I put some on when I took the Kale out of the oven, Mine turned out perfect. Yay!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Kate latedateda January 15, 2013

I love these. Even my husband who is skeptical about healthy food likes them. I added some other seasonings to them also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viviansmomma June 06, 2012

Tasty and very different. I used less salt than the recipe called for and bake them at 275 for 20 minutes. I will make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueDogLady April 29, 2012

I did have to change this a little for our tasts- I more than doubled the vinegar and 1/2ed the salt. After that- 5 STARS! It didn't taste like what I expected and was not really impressed at first. Then I looked down and saw that we ate the whole thing! Another brilliant way to eat more of this superfood!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook Tara K. March 10, 2012
Kale Chips