108 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are very good; I love kale so was pleased to find this recipe. I doubled the ACVinegar to 2 tbs and used 1/2 tsp salt... we can't quit eating them!

One thing I found alarming - I didn't use parchment paper my first batch, and found that the combination of vinegar, salt and oil stripped the non-stick coating off my cookie sheets when I used a spatula to lightly scrape the (easy to remove) chips off! I'm more concerned about the health risk of accidentally eating some non-stick coating (my kids especially) than I am about the beauty of my old cookie sheets - but it might be something for future cooks to keep in mind! Parchment paper is our buddy!!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana October 09, 2010

As written, this is 4 stars, with slight mods this is 5 stars! I used 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar & 2 tablespoons olive oil. Then I baked them at 300 degrees for 20 minutes. Unlike some others who described a burnt ash taste, we did not experience this at all! It sounds like others burnt theirs. As long as you keep an eye on them and remove the ones that look "done" and keep the oven temp lower, they will be fine. Also I only used 3 shakes of the salt shaker on the whole batch... which is maybe 1/8 teaspoon. 1-2 teaspoons would be way too much for us!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet February 23, 2010

We tried these from a local Raw restaurant at a Farmer's Market packaged with flavors like Nacho and Curry and were determined to see how they were made. Thanks to Yogi and Recipezaar we can now indulge our Kale Chip cravings without going broke. We took the suggestions of other reviewers and substituted balsamic for the apple cider vinegar and salted after they came out of the oven with a good quality sea salt. The directions don't specify this but you will get the best results if you separate the leaves from the kale stems and use only the leaf part. YUMMY! Thanks so much Yogi for posting this recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girle April 14, 2009

delish and light! I used 1 tablespoon of grapeseed oil and 1 tablespoon of rice wine vinegar, baked on the rack at 300 convection for 20 minutes and they melt in your mouth. My friend makes them with olive oil and soy sauce.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSMD310 April 13, 2010

I've been making kale chips for years, but never used vinegar on them. Great addition, thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer October 14, 2012

Too salty still with the lower amount of salt, but otherwise wonderful! Popped them in the food dehydrator at 115 degrees for the afternoon, and they were perfectly done.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni May 22, 2011

I actually omitted the apple cider vinegar and love just the taste of the salt and olive oil. Such a great recipe for anyone on a reduced carb diet. Definitely fills the need for crispy chips! Though I make it regularly as a snack whether I'm dieting or not.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cckarl September 16, 2009

I think this was a very good recipe. I don't have Kale very often because I cannot afford it but it is such a good healthy vegetable. Luckily, it is in season at the vegetable stand that I go to and I can get it pretty cheap right now. I think I must have done something wrong though when I made this. I only added a little bit of kale (about 1/2 bunch) because I did not want to waste too much in case I did mess up. I am not the best of cooks. Also, I live in a bus and use an rv stove so it is really small and it cooks faster. We are still trying to figure out how to adjust the temperature. It always cooks things too fast. It aggravates my husband because he is always burning stuff and he is an excellent cook and before we had this stove he NEVER burned anything. Anyway, I may have also used too much oil because I could not find my measuring spoons. I did use virgin olive oil and I did not have white wine vinegar so I used balsamic vinegar instead. I sprinked salt (not much) along with garlic powder and onion powder before putting them in the oven. I do like the idea also of maybe adding parmesan (probably right before they are done so it does not burn---that would give a little extra flavor too). I wanted to make this as a healthy snack for my 1 year and 2 year old since they like pretty much everything. I started cooking the Kale on 200 degrees (again I have problems with my oven) and the Kale was getting all mushy (just some tips were getting crispy). So I then turned the temperature up to 300 degrees and I think I burned it. I tried giving to the kids both ways but they kept spitting it out. I actually like it alot (I do like bitter tasting foods though and it tasted that way because of it being burnt). So needless to say I will have to tweak this recipe (maybe add some more seasonings (possible cajun or something---my kids do like spicy foods) and then keep adjusting my temperature on my stove until it turns out just right. Once I do I will post again on here.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela23245 April 16, 2012

These were great! I did have to make them twice to get the desired effect they never got crisp the first time and I have no idea what I did wrong - but when I tried to make them the second time they worked fine, used recipe as posted. I did use a lower temp and we added some sea salt, yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokedownrage February 02, 2012

Great way to use up the glut of kale we have right now. I don't know how much a "bunch" usually is so I used one pound. It was way too oily with 3 tbsp oil and not quite as salty as I would like with 1 tsp salt (but I like things salty). Will try to cut the oil a bit next time!

Oh - and if you use different kinds of kale, expect different cooking times. The delicate Redbor was burnt to a crisp by the time the more robust Vates was still chewy. So separate varieties!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sand Holler Farm January 05, 2011
Kale Chips