Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kale Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kale Chips

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2010

      These are very good; I love kale so was pleased to find this recipe. I doubled the ACVinegar to 2 tbs and used 1/2 tsp salt... we can't quit eating them!

      One thing I found alarming - I didn't use parchment paper my first batch, and found that the combination of vinegar, salt and oil stripped the non-stick coating off my cookie sheets when I used a spatula to lightly scrape the (easy to remove) chips off! I'm more concerned about the health risk of accidentally eating some non-stick coating (my kids especially) than I am about the beauty of my old cookie sheets - but it might be something for future cooks to keep in mind! Parchment paper is our buddy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      As written, this is 4 stars, with slight mods this is 5 stars! I used 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar & 2 tablespoons olive oil. Then I baked them at 300 degrees for 20 minutes. Unlike some others who described a burnt ash taste, we did not experience this at all! It sounds like others burnt theirs. As long as you keep an eye on them and remove the ones that look "done" and keep the oven temp lower, they will be fine. Also I only used 3 shakes of the salt shaker on the whole batch... which is maybe 1/8 teaspoon. 1-2 teaspoons would be way too much for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      We tried these from a local Raw restaurant at a Farmer's Market packaged with flavors like Nacho and Curry and were determined to see how they were made. Thanks to Yogi and Recipezaar we can now indulge our Kale Chip cravings without going broke. We took the suggestions of other reviewers and substituted balsamic for the apple cider vinegar and salted after they came out of the oven with a good quality sea salt. The directions don't specify this but you will get the best results if you separate the leaves from the kale stems and use only the leaf part. YUMMY! Thanks so much Yogi for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      delish and light! I used 1 tablespoon of grapeseed oil and 1 tablespoon of rice wine vinegar, baked on the rack at 300 convection for 20 minutes and they melt in your mouth. My friend makes them with olive oil and soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I've been making kale chips for years, but never used vinegar on them. Great addition, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Too salty still with the lower amount of salt, but otherwise wonderful! Popped them in the food dehydrator at 115 degrees for the afternoon, and they were perfectly done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I actually omitted the apple cider vinegar and love just the taste of the salt and olive oil. Such a great recipe for anyone on a reduced carb diet. Definitely fills the need for crispy chips! Though I make it regularly as a snack whether I'm dieting or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      I think this was a very good recipe. I don't have Kale very often because I cannot afford it but it is such a good healthy vegetable. Luckily, it is in season at the vegetable stand that I go to and I can get it pretty cheap right now. I think I must have done something wrong though when I made this. I only added a little bit of kale (about 1/2 bunch) because I did not want to waste too much in case I did mess up. I am not the best of cooks. Also, I live in a bus and use an rv stove so it is really small and it cooks faster. We are still trying to figure out how to adjust the temperature. It always cooks things too fast. It aggravates my husband because he is always burning stuff and he is an excellent cook and before we had this stove he NEVER burned anything. Anyway, I may have also used too much oil because I could not find my measuring spoons. I did use virgin olive oil and I did not have white wine vinegar so I used balsamic vinegar instead. I sprinked salt (not much) along with garlic powder and onion powder before putting them in the oven. I do like the idea also of maybe adding parmesan (probably right before they are done so it does not burn---that would give a little extra flavor too). I wanted to make this as a healthy snack for my 1 year and 2 year old since they like pretty much everything. I started cooking the Kale on 200 degrees (again I have problems with my oven) and the Kale was getting all mushy (just some tips were getting crispy). So I then turned the temperature up to 300 degrees and I think I burned it. I tried giving to the kids both ways but they kept spitting it out. I actually like it alot (I do like bitter tasting foods though and it tasted that way because of it being burnt). So needless to say I will have to tweak this recipe (maybe add some more seasonings (possible cajun or something---my kids do like spicy foods) and then keep adjusting my temperature on my stove until it turns out just right. Once I do I will post again on here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      These were great! I did have to make them twice to get the desired effect they never got crisp the first time and I have no idea what I did wrong - but when I tried to make them the second time they worked fine, used recipe as posted. I did use a lower temp and we added some sea salt, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Great way to use up the glut of kale we have right now. I don't know how much a "bunch" usually is so I used one pound. It was way too oily with 3 tbsp oil and not quite as salty as I would like with 1 tsp salt (but I like things salty). Will try to cut the oil a bit next time!

      Oh - and if you use different kinds of kale, expect different cooking times. The delicate Redbor was burnt to a crisp by the time the more robust Vates was still chewy. So separate varieties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2014

      I had Kale growing in my garden and wanted to find a healthier snack food while using my Kale and was pleased to find this recipe. I too increased the vinegar and cut back on the salt. Used the parchment paper and had no trouble with sticking. The flavor took a little to get used to but after a few bites it really grows on you - and hey, the health factor is major. Don't think it quite replaces potato chips but like that it still fills you up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      My daughter and I loved these kale chips and ate the entire container in three days! I reduced the salt by quite a bit and substituted balsamic vinegar (which was quite tasty) because I was out of apple cider vinegar. I'm sure these are going to be a staple at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Love the addition of vinegar. Thankj you for posting. I agree- 1-2 teaspoons of salt is quite alot and really not necessary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      These were delicious. I ueed fresh kale from the garden. This didn't need ANYwhere near the salt called for in the recipe as far as I am concerned. {{2 tablespoons of salt would do a whole basket of kale}}. Please use your discretion when adding salt for your own taste. I am amazed that as Roosie {another reviewer} stated ... they turn out like lightly baked potato chips. ... oh.. just tooo tooooooo delicious. Thanks for a tasty recipe!... and a healthy one to boot! UPDATE 02/21/2013.. These are still terrific for a snack. Your kale needs to be DRY BEFORE BAKING it. So.. what I do is: the night before I make them I wash and spin dry the kale. I then put it into a new large mesh bag (the ones that you use for laundry or lingerie) and put it in my refrigerator overnight. When morning comes around your kale is nice and dry. I also bake these longer on a much lower temperature to reduce overbowning. I bake them on 275 degrees F and check them after 10-11 minutes and take the crisp ones off while allowing the others to remain on the cookie sheet to be baked a little longer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Good base recipe. I did 1 big bunch of Kale and did 2 TBS of Olive Oil and 1 TBS of apple cider vinegar. This is a great recipe to start with if you haven't made Kale chips before. I'm not sure how much salt I added, I put some in the 'dressing' and I put some on when I took the Kale out of the oven, Mine turned out perfect. Yay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I love these. Even my husband who is skeptical about healthy food likes them. I added some other seasonings to them also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Tasty and very different. I used less salt than the recipe called for and bake them at 275 for 20 minutes. I will make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I did have to change this a little for our tasts- I more than doubled the vinegar and 1/2ed the salt. After that- 5 STARS! It didn't taste like what I expected and was not really impressed at first. Then I looked down and saw that we ate the whole thing! Another brilliant way to eat more of this superfood!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      I don't know what I did wrong, but my chips got really burnt really quickly. I followed the recipe and baking temp as stated and I omitted the salt and after only 7 minutes, all of the little kale bunches were shriveled up and burnt. It actually set off the smoke detectors in my house. I will try it again tomorrow and in the meantime, if anyone can tell me what I did wrong, I would love to know so I don't waste more good kale and so I can re-rate this recipe with a lot more stars. :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      These are good. They are different for sure, but they are definitely crunchy. I added garlic powder to mine after baking to boost the flavor. I think parmesan cheese would be a good after-baking topping too, in a small amount. Barbecue seasoning would be good also! They probably won't satisfy a potato chip craving, but they are good all by themselves. I will make these again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kale Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.2
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    69%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 312.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites