Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kale and Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kale and Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2012

      Great soup! Reminds me of the things my old Portuguese Avo would make when I was growing up. I used organic kale and a lot less chicken broth, so it was more like a thick stew than a soup. Also used 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning instead of the rosemary and thyme. I didn't bother pureeing the beans and broth. Came out great! Even my picky husband loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Thanks for a great recipe! I used spinach and kale, skipped the parsley and used cilantro instead. I didn't have any thyme, but came across some lemongrass seasoning and used that as a substitute. In spite of my improvisations, this was a family favorite that I'll make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Fantastic!! The only thing I changed was to use all kale and no parsley, since thats what I had on hand. Thank you for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This was very easy & fast to prepare for a busy weeknight meal. The only changes I made were using black beans instead of kidney beans (that's what I had in the cupboard) & I didn't add any parsley 'cuz I already think that kale tastes like parsley, LOL. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This is a very tasty and filling soup. All three children loved, and my husband said that this soup is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      I found this very tasty. I did have to tweek it to my own tastes by adding a little more tomato and some brown sugar. I needed to get a sweeter taste, as I don't think kale is one of my favorite cooked greens.But, it is supposed to be so good for you when I found this recipe I knew I had to give it a try, and was glad I did..I may add spinach the next time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I really enjoyed this chunky soup. I made it exactly as written and I found it to be very satisfying. Next time I will not add the thyme as I found that particular spice too overpowering. Otherwise it was great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This has a nice flavor, but I wasn't super fond of the chunky kale. For the leftovers, I blended all but the beans to make a less chunky soup and liked that much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      WOW, a co-worker gave me a HUGE brunch of kale and yesterday was a rainy, dreary day so I decided to make this simple soup. WOW, but what a great soup. I had all the ingredients except I only had canned tomatoes with chiles. These gave the soup a nice bit of heat. I will make this again. Thanks for a very nice soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      If using fresh kale, blanch it first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Really, really good - my daughter ate hers dipped in bread, but this could become a favorite for us all. Thank you for adding this really terrific kale recipe! I used white beans, but will try chick peas, too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I love the taste, and it was incredibly easy to make (veggies usually are). I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I did the vegan approach and also went salt-free. I made this with Curry powder & mustard as a substitute for the chicken broth & salt. I also used (dry) Garbanzo beans (chick-peas)instead of white beans (it's what I had). The 2 colorful pictures were uploaded by me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I LOVE kale. This was a good recipe. Easy to make, and tasty, but not very spicy. I used rotel instead of tomatoes, and added a shot of red wine vinegar, to good effect. Tonight, I grilled some turkey sausage and added it to the leftovers. OWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I really wanted to make this because kale came in the veggie box this week. I caught a cold and I thought this would be perfect for me. I used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of pinto beans cause that's all I had and definately didn't feel like going to the store. Did steps 1-3 on the stove then threw everything in my crockpot for 6 hrs on low. I didn't do the blender step as I liked the way this looked nice and chunky. This was good, but would recommend a little more rosemary and thyme. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      I need to point out that there is clealry a typo in the recipe. It calls for a (2 ounce) can of beans. I used 2 (15 ounce) cans and improvised the amounts. I used more broth as well. The result was very tasty and I do recommend the recipe. Next time I will add some smoked sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2005

      I bought some kale and didn't know what to do with it. I'm so glad I stumbled upon this recipe. I used canned peeled whole tomatoes (torn), and red & white kidney beans. The blending of the beans and 1 cup broth really enhanced the soup's consistency and taste. It was so good! Tasted like something my mom would make. No better compliment than that :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      Very, very good. We will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Fantastico! I have been wanting a soup like this since I visited Providence, R.I. I used fresh kale, 5 cans of vegetable broth and put two russet potatoes in it. I didn't put any tomatoes or rosemary in it. I used 1 tsp of thyme and 1 T. of parsley. I put in the sweet Italian sausage when I sauteed the oil, onion, garlic! Mmmmmmmm! You made many mouths happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      Delicious. This is the second time I have made bean soup with Kale. The other recipe is the same as this one, except for the herbs. Both are excellent. Thanks for a recipe that I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kale and Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (466 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.4
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    14%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 802.7 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 14.5 g
    58%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 25.2 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites