Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kalbi BBQ Ribs Hawaiian Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kalbi BBQ Ribs Hawaiian Style

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2004

      Awesome recipe. I tried it again using brown sugar instead of white; OMG it was even better. The red pepper paste is great. It adds a subtle taste and keeps the ribs from being too sweet. Booyah!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      This is the best Hawaiian BBQ Ribs recipe ever.I tried it today and it came out so good.This is worth a try.This goes with sticky rice,macaroni salad, and salted cabbage.GREAT RECIPE.Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      This was a nice tasty change of pace for our household. Instead of marinading and broiling, I heated up the matinade and threw it in the crockpot with the meat on low for the better half of the day. It was very good, and I served it with a pot of rice and steamed veggies. The sauce was great over the rice, just something a little different. I was quite impressed. Give this a try, you won't be disappointed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Excelent. I forgot to add da ginger. But was still good. Also, I used a whole head of garlic, jus cuz I like garlic. The half local and half japanese soy sauce is a good idea as sometimes the japanese style is too strong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      Almost identical to my usual recipe except I add a little rice wine to the marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      My husband and I were in California in Oct/Nov 09 and we had some Hawaiian BBQ with white rice and macaroni salad. My husband was on a mission to make Hawaiian BBQ at home. These ribs were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      The Best! Very Authentic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Their GGGRRREATT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      LOVED this recipe! I followed it exactly as written w/ optional ingredients and it came out wonderful! Definitely a keeper!! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This recipe is amazing !!! Everything the others have posted about it is true. Everyone I made it for loved it, they were gone quickly and I ended up making more the following weekend because they were so good. I even made them in the oven bcuz is was winter. I cooked them covered for 3 hrs @ 350 degrees, turned out great. I combined white and brown sugar and used powdered red pepper not paste, it all worked out wonderfully. I highly recommend !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I was torn on this review. I LOVED the marinade...loved it. But i probably wouldn't use short ribs again for this and instead do a pork baby back rib instead. it's cleaner, there's more meat and is easily adapted to grilling. I used all the optional ingredients and thought that the marinade was beyond amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      This is FANTASTIC!! I have eaten sweet ribs for years at this little Hawaiian place, and have hoped to find a similar recipe. The closest one that I have found was my Grandmother's recipe for chicken wings. (Which is exactly the same except for the optional ingredients: sesame oil, green onions, and red pepper paste) These make it perfect. The recipe made so much sauce that I saved about 1 cup for garnishment for the rice afterward and then I used 1/2 of the remaining sauce for the ribs and 1/2 for chicken, (which is what my 4 year old prefers,) and marinated it overnight. The results were soooo great! I served it over rice and made a Hawaiian Mac salad to go with. It was heaven! I can't wait to make it again! This will certainly be made often in our house! Thanks for the fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      SOOOO GOOD!! Made exactly as written, using all optional ingredients. A keeper for sure. Thankyou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      This recipe is right on the money!!! We had "plate lunch" for father's day. I used the brown sugar as suggested by reviewer Ali G...it was fabulous. Now I can get a taste of Maui any old time I want :) The whole family loved it too! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kalbi BBQ Ribs Hawaiian Style

    Serving Size: 1 (467 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2150.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1488
    69%
    Total Fat 165.3 g
    254%
    Saturated Fat 71.6 g
    358%
    Cholesterol 344.7 mg
    114%
    Sodium 6657.7 mg
    277%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.1 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 81.9 g
    327%
    Protein 77.5 g
    155%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites