23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very rich, flavorful fudge. Set up nicely and was a great addition to our cookie tray this Christmas. I agree that it doesn't have a strong Kahlua taste, so I increased the amount of Kahlua to almost double the stated amount. Turned out great. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies December 26, 2010

Very quick and easy to make. I also used 1/3 cup Kahlua (homemade). I added pecans to mine, but I roasted them in the oven (350 degrees for 10 mins) before hand. Instead of milk chocolate pieces I used dark chocolate.I also added 2 tbsp of vanilla instant cappuccino. The fudge set up nicely. A good tip to remember is, if you want the best flavor use the best ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
la jefa December 23, 2010

This fudge turned out wonderful. I love that you don't have to use a candy thermometer, just a timer and it turns out great. Made two batches to put in Christmas packages and both came out perfect. I did up the Kahlua amount to 1/3 cup and still couldn't really taste the Kahlua that much, but the flavor is so good that I didn't mind. This one's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
midwestmom60 December 22, 2010

I made this last night as part of my gift to give to my co-workers. This is a very smooth and creamy fudge. I did not add any nuts, personal preference. Mine set up perfectly, actually it set up before even putting it in the refrigerator. The recipe as stated give the fudge a mild hint of the Kahlua. Like some other posters have said, next time I will add 1/2 cup of Kahlua. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right December 17, 2008

This was oh so good!!! And that is already a understatement. i did make some changes to this recipe. I added the kahlua last...after all the chocolate had melted. I also increased the kahlua to 1/2 cup. It was very smooth and yummy. I did put the fudge into the freezer after it had cooled, so that it will be HARD. Just makes the cutting a lot easier, and I used a hot knife to cut the fudge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac December 12, 2004

Really good, very sweet fudge. Just a hint of Kahlua, so I would recommend adding more if you want more of that flavor. My fudge came out very creamy, but set up nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks September 11, 2014

Five stars for a great recipe that can be easily adapted to personal tastes and still turn out fabulous. This is SO good. Rich and very decadent. I made some changes like other reviewers. I used 2 cups special dark chips and 1 cup semi-sweet. I added 1 TBSP instant coffee and upped the Kahlua to 1/2 cup.

When cooking, I kept the Kahlua out of the boiling process and added it to the mixture (with the vanilla) after the chocolate had started to cool the sugar mixture. I also started the 5 min. boiling timer after the mixture had come to a full rolling boil. Finally, after adding the chocolate, kahlua and vanilla, I beat the mixture with a wooden spoon for about 10 min. In my father's fudge recipe with corn syrup, sugar, etc. you have to beat the mixture until it loses it's glossy shine and becomes dull after incorporating air. I think it helps the fudge set up but that's just me. This was a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katiekelly25_5483223 December 23, 2012

Very good, I use this as a go-to recipe for fudge. I've substituted buttershots, amaretto, vanilla and raspberry liqueurs for the kahlua (in separate batches obviously) with equally delicious results. I also have a reather heavy hand with the alcohol because sometimes its a little hard to taste. Its a very quick and easy recipe, sets up nicely with a smooth texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadiprimo April 12, 2012

I'm giving this 3 stars just because I liked the flavor. Otherwise, it would be a 1. After reading back over the reviews, it must just be me, because 20 hours after putting it in the fridge, my fudge has not hardened at all. I run a knife through it, and it fills right back in. It honestly has the consistency of brownie batter. I was making this for cookie gift baskets for my son's teachers; thankfully I was able to fill the tins up with the snickerdoodles and cheesecake cookies I also made. The ONLY difference between what I did and what the recipe says: I didn't put the nuts in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia4097 December 19, 2011

I've been making this fudge for years and it always gets raves from my friends. I use 1/3 cup of Kahula and think it adds just enough of the fabulous flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
codyclan December 18, 2010
Kahlua Fudge