24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I made this for my daughter's Preschool Christmas/Teacher Appreciation luncheon, with one *small* change ---- no Kahlua! No alcohol allowed in the school. Instead, I used caramel ice cream topping on the cake - it was wonderful! I chopped up 3 Nutrageous candy bars and put them between layers (just 2 layers) and on top, along with some Christmas spinkles. It was a hit. It does make a lot -- try it - you'll love it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy December 21, 2002

It was only bc of the rave reviews that I decided to try this. Although the flavors did seem to blend together better the next day, I was not that impressed with the results. If I would make this again, I would use chocolate mousse. The instant chocolate pudding just didn't have enough of chocolate umph for me.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pgserver6 July 18, 2004

YUM!!! This trifle was beautiful and delicious. I made as is except for adding toffee bits around the edge of each cool whipped layer. I really like the addition of the toffee bits so might add more next time. Thanks for the recipe! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* December 28, 2008

Holy Moly!! This was a gorgeous and delicious dessert. I had my daughters and their families home for the weekend. I always try to make something special for dessert and I outdid myself with the help of your recipe. The kahlua intensifies the chocolate flavor and makes it pop. I put it together in a footed trifle bowl which made a stunning presentation. Thanks Karen, for posting this excellent recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl March 08, 2004

This is a great (and easy) trifle. Have always made English trifles because that was what I was brought up with. Have made some changes to this one over the years by substituting white chocolate instant pudding (still use Kahlua) and Skor toffee bits. Thanks for submitting this wonderful company recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 September 05, 2008

So Amazing! Everyone loved it, plus it looked so pretty with chocolate sprinkles on top! A definite keeper. I thought 1 cup of kahlua sounded like a lot but it was really just right! THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P February 19, 2007

This was awesome! I love the way the Kahlua soaked down to the bottom of the cake. I used a chocolate pudding and a cheesecake flavored pudding and alternated them with the cake and cool whip and added toffee bits on top. It was delicious and very pretty in the bowl! Thank you for a great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Ryan April 25, 2006

WE ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!Made it for Christmas and Valentines - quick and easy. We used a whole 500g tub Cool Whip - preference as deserts only made in our home on special occasions. It will be hard to experiment with other desert recipes for those special days, and as a general rule, recipes are only made once just because there are so many waiting to be tried!! Thank You

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay March 27, 2003

Absolutely fantastic!!!! I made this for a gathering and everyone said it was to die for!!!! Only sorry that I didn't have leftovers with this one. I am making again for my Bunco group. I'm excited to see how they like it - especially after the New Year and all the resolutions to lose weight. Oh well, we all need to enjoy life a little......and you definitely will enjoy with this one!!!! I'd give it more stars if able. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suekoleno January 02, 2013
Kahlua Chocolate Trifle