18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a fairly quick and easy cheesecake,and oooohhhhhhhhmigod was it good. Its really really rich, so it served alot of people. Everyone was asking for the recipe. :)

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan February 08, 2002

Very rich and delicious! Make sure you cut the pieces small because not even the teenage boys were able to finish normal pie-size slices. I made a few slight changes in the recipe. I used chocolate animal cookie crumbs for the crust and omitted the sugar. I used dark chocolate chips because I was out of semi-sweet, and I also used 1/2 cup of Kahlua.I felt the dark chocolate overwhelmed the Kahlua but a few commented that the Kahlua flavor was very strong. I guess it depends on if you are used to it or not. ;) My only 'complaint' is the order in which the ingredients are mixed. With adding the cream cheese last, I could not get it to blend into the egg mixture smoothly. This led to over mixing and thus, my cheesecake cracked. Next time I'll cream the cream cheese first and then add eggs, sugar, salt and sour cream so I can mix them just until combined and not over beat the eggs. I'm sorry the cheesecake looks too 'wet' in the photos. It hadn't been chilled completely before I took them. By the next day, it had the right level of moisture for cheesecake. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) December 06, 2007

This is a favorite recipe of mine, I have been making a similar version for years. I top mine with a Kahlua Chocolate drizzle (1 cup choc. chips, 1/3 cup Kahlua, 1/3 cup lt. corn syrup. Melt in saucepan at low temp. Drizzle over top when cooled.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tam454 March 30, 2008

Lennie 5 stars is not enough. Made this for dessert tonight, how fantastic. I used about 1/2 of Kahlua and is was not to much at all. This is one of the best cheesecakes I have ever tasted. Thanks for posting such a good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leanne~ August 13, 2003

Hey Lennie-My daughter Catherine requested this recipe for her 15th birthday and was not diapointed! The texture was smooth yet dense, the chocolate/kahlua combo played well together, and it was a breeze to make. A huge hit that will be made again. Thanks for sharing, Di.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's July 21, 2003

This recipe makes a very good cheesecake -- and no cracks! The Kahlua flavour gets lost in the chocolate. (I thought this would be more of a mocha taste, but everybody called this 'chocolate cheesecake' and didn't even realize it was there.) Still really good, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy k. July 14, 2003

This was easy to make and tasted delicious! I did increase the kahlua to 1/2 cup but I felt like it still tasted mostly like chocolate. Maybe would add some coffee next time also. I could not get the cream cheese to blend in completely (it was room temp and I had whipped it before adding the other ingredients), so there were little chunks of cream cheese in it. Nobody seemed to mind. I decorated with chocolate covered coffee nibs and the remaining wafer cookies. <br/><br/>I was a little confused by the "prepare crust" line item...more clarification would be good there. I just cut in the butter like i was making a pie crust, although some recipes call for melted butter so I wasn't sure. It worked out well to cut it in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks October 16, 2014

Made as written and took to Bunko. Everyone raved so will make often. It is better if it sits for a bit before serving not right out of the frig.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 25, 2012

This was one of the best cheesecakes I've ever made! I used 1/2 cup of kahlua as suggested by other reviewers and I found it to be the perfect amount (strong enough to taste but not to the point where it overwhelmed). I used half the sugar called for (about 1/6 of a cup of sugar) which is what I normally do for any cheesecake recipe (I really don't like very sweet cheesecakes) and topped it with a chocolate ganache. I don't think I ever seen a cheesecake I've made disappear so fast... I found that subbing cream cheese for the sour cream works just as well (I was out once).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* chocoholic * March 24, 2012

This was amazing I made it for my aunt and cousins that came in and they loved it. I worried about the Kahlua in it with younger kids(age 5 and 6) but my cousins loved it :D Very yummy :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILoveLucy12 February 07, 2012
Kahlua Cheesecake