Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kachumber Salad - India Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kachumber Salad - India

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2012

      This was a very tasty simple salad...I just read in the chef's notes something about onion...no onion listed in the ingredients...those can only improve the flavor...what I really enjoyed about this salad was how fresh it was...it had a nice touch of flavor from the chili powder...although you can barely taste it...so don't add any extra or I believe it will become the dominate flavor. I used head lettuce cuz that's what I had but I think any kind would work...because of the head lettuce my salad lost a lot of color...so if using that I would suggest leaving the cucumber unpeeled...or...adding in finely chopped red onion...I also used cherry tomatoes cut in quarters...the lime added a nice citrus taste...thanks for posting this tasty recipe...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      A wonderful light salad that is perfect for a hot summer's day.
      I used cherry tomatos and iceberg lettuce, I did leave out the chillI and the tangy flavours were really wonderful although not spicy, I might add just a little chilli next time to see the difference, although we are not really chilli lovers in this family, so it will interesting to see if the family comment, as they really loved this salad without the chilli anyway.
      Great salad Baby Kato. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Talk about fresh! This abounds in taste and full pleasure, you simply can't go wrong here. I loved the tartness of the vegetables and lettuces. I could of easily eaten the whole bowl myself, but alas, saved it for my fellow salad eaters. I didn't change anything! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Loved the freshness of this salad; and the chili powder actually worked. I omitted the lettuce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Simple yet delightful use of fresh summer veggies. I used bibb lettuce and Kashmiri chili powder which unlike mexican chili powder does not contain cumin, salt, or other spices. I found the dressing tart and spicy. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Right now my garden has an abundance of tomatoes, onions, and cucumbers so this recipe fit the bill. This is a fresh, tart salad with a little kick to it. Only thing when I make this next time I will skip the lettuce, I think I would enjoy it with more cucumber and no lettuce. I felt my lettuce got wilted and therefore wasn't attractive. Made for ZWT8.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      I loved this salad. The dressing was tart and SPICY and the heat was contrasted by the cool, crisp vegetables. A ton of flavor for such a simple recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Yum! Loved the dressing on this simple salad. I used green onions and iceberg lettuce. Thanks BK for a nice side. Made for ZWT8 - India.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Simple salad but the freshness was perfect with the spicy Indian meal I had tonight. I really liked the lime taste on the fresh veggies! I used green leaf lettuce from my garden and red onions. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 8 India

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      For the lettuce I used baby arugula and beet greens. The vegetables included a variety of heirloom tomatoes, Walla Walla onion, etc. All vegetables except for arugula were from our CSA box. Very refreshing and perfect on triple digit temperature day! Loved the dressing! PS the chili powder was omitted because I was serving the salad with this: Indian Chicken Rub. Reviewed for ZWT 8.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Wonderful salad!!! Love the citrus dressing, nice and tangy. I used green onions for the onions, which gave it a nice color along with the tomato. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      i made this for 1 really simple guys is zaar tour 8 i ate ite with my cucumber sandwich im one step behind you lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kachumber Salad - India

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 80.9
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    55%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 599.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites