Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kachoomber {refreshing Tomato Salad} Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kachoomber {refreshing Tomato Salad}

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2010

      Made this as part of an Indian themed dinner with lot of hot and spicy food. Used lime juice - but other than that, made as posted. Personally I didn't taste the salad - by the time I got to the salad bowl, it was empty! In our house, if a salad is eaten like that then it is a sure thing 5 star recipe. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      This was excellent. I didn't have any cumin seeds, only ground cumin, so I just use a pinch or two. I added an extra Tbs of the vinegar and also subbed garlic powder for the fresh (shhh!). Will definitely make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Excellent kachoomber - pefect with any Indian meal. The flavours are perfectly balanced exactly as written. Thanks for posting your excellent recipe - I will be making it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I can't believe I never wrote a review for this! I've made this salad about 6 times since finding the recipe and my boyfriend & I love it! We stick to the recipe minus the cumin seeds (we don't have them) and the mint, since we usually don't have it on hand. This is a great, refreshing, summer salad to use up those tomatoes and cucumbers from the garden. We've had it with Indian dishes, steaks, burgers, you name - it goes with them all! Thank you SO much for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Delicious and refreshing. I even forgot to add the mint and it was still great, tho I think the mint would make it more delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      I also enjoyed this salad very much. I also used ground cumin, since I have so much of it. And I also added alot more mint leaves because I thought five leaves wouldn't be enough. It turned out well. Unfortunately, it does not refrigerate very well, and it became spoiled after a day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      This is great! I made it for my family as a side dish and there where no leftovers. Thanks for posting! I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      This salad was quite tasty, with a bit of a bite. I didn't have cumin seeds, so I added a few pinches of ground cumin instead. I also included red wine vinegar, garlic and some sweet onion and they did not seem overpowering at all. I agree with Kaarin, this was a quick and satisfying salad. BF liked it too. I might try it with mustard next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      I made this for DH lunch today. He kept saying over and over, "This is good". I don't eat fresh tomatoes or onions, so I can only rely on his comments in my review. I used 1/2 yellow tomatoes and 1/2 red tomatoes to add some color. Very pretty indeed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      An excellent salad to go with our Indian style meal tonight. I also used white vinegar as I had no red, and I omitted the garlic as it can be a bit harsh in a freshly made and eaten dish (besides I'd used about 16 cloves in my other dishes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      This is so good, quick to put together and can be eaten right away. I used white wine vinegar (I can't stand the red stuff) and it was really tasty. I'll make this again for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kachoomber {refreshing Tomato Salad}

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.7
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    73%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 300.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites