11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this as part of an Indian themed dinner with lot of hot and spicy food. Used lime juice - but other than that, made as posted. Personally I didn't taste the salad - by the time I got to the salad bowl, it was empty! In our house, if a salad is eaten like that then it is a sure thing 5 star recipe. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sams1 February 25, 2010

This was excellent. I didn't have any cumin seeds, only ground cumin, so I just use a pinch or two. I added an extra Tbs of the vinegar and also subbed garlic powder for the fresh (shhh!). Will definitely make again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz April 14, 2010

Excellent kachoomber - pefect with any Indian meal. The flavours are perfectly balanced exactly as written. Thanks for posting your excellent recipe - I will be making it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny May 17, 2009

I can't believe I never wrote a review for this! I've made this salad about 6 times since finding the recipe and my boyfriend & I love it! We stick to the recipe minus the cumin seeds (we don't have them) and the mint, since we usually don't have it on hand. This is a great, refreshing, summer salad to use up those tomatoes and cucumbers from the garden. We've had it with Indian dishes, steaks, burgers, you name - it goes with them all! Thank you SO much for a great one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kettch23 September 01, 2008

Delicious and refreshing. I even forgot to add the mint and it was still great, tho I think the mint would make it more delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Chana July 12, 2007

I also enjoyed this salad very much. I also used ground cumin, since I have so much of it. And I also added alot more mint leaves because I thought five leaves wouldn't be enough. It turned out well. Unfortunately, it does not refrigerate very well, and it became spoiled after a day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef May 24, 2007

This is great! I made it for my family as a side dish and there where no leftovers. Thanks for posting! I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk September 30, 2005

This salad was quite tasty, with a bit of a bite. I didn't have cumin seeds, so I added a few pinches of ground cumin instead. I also included red wine vinegar, garlic and some sweet onion and they did not seem overpowering at all. I agree with Kaarin, this was a quick and satisfying salad. BF liked it too. I might try it with mustard next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend September 20, 2005

I made this for DH lunch today. He kept saying over and over, "This is good". I don't eat fresh tomatoes or onions, so I can only rely on his comments in my review. I used 1/2 yellow tomatoes and 1/2 red tomatoes to add some color. Very pretty indeed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy September 19, 2005

An excellent salad to go with our Indian style meal tonight. I also used white vinegar as I had no red, and I omitted the garlic as it can be a bit harsh in a freshly made and eaten dish (besides I'd used about 16 cloves in my other dishes).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS September 16, 2005
Kachoomber {refreshing Tomato Salad}