Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / K.C.Masterpiece Original Barbecue Sauce by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    K.C.Masterpiece Original Barbecue Sauce by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2004

      Fantastic BBQ sauce Mysterygirl, it does taste almost the same to K.C. Masterpiece...very easy to put together also..big taste with minimal work...just what I like!... I brushed it on top of my broiled pork steaks, it gave them such a wonderful flavor. I highly recommend this BBQ sauce....Thanks for posting, I will be making this again :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      This is fantastic! I remember trying K.C. Masterpiece years ago, but it couldn't have been as good as this! I've made it 3 times so far and have forgotten to rate it (I've been too busy eating it!). I made it last night and sadly realized I was about 1/4 cup short on the corn syrup, so just subbed dark corn syrup. It was still great. I eat this on all meats. I took a couple of pics, but will have to wait for hubby to put them into the puter. Great job Di's! This is a keeper for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This tastes BETTER than K.C.!!! Give it a try.I will never buy sauce again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Great BBQ sauce that I used on grilled chicken. Loved the addition of the liquid smoke. Plan to keep a jar of this sauce in the fridge during grilling season. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "Even More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2002)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Great sauce w/lots of flavor like K.C. Masterpiece.
      Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I've tried many recipes for canning and this is my all-time favorite. If you only try one barbecue sauce recipe, make it this one! I grow my own tomatoes, so I substituted 6-7 cups tomato puree for the tomato paste and water and cooked it down to 2.5 cups before adding the other ingredients. I found that a triple batch makes 5 pints, which I processed for 20 minutes in a hot water bath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This is simmering on the stove now... secret, I made this with brown sugar splenda and omitted the corn syrup... it turned out terriffic! This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for posting DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Just wanted to note how excellent this recipe is. The only change I made was using tomato sauce in place of the tomato paste and water. I'm making some more today, so I'll check and be sure that's all. When you can get tomato sauce on sale for 15 cents a cup on caselot sales, I'm always going to make my own bbq sauce. great savings and great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      hi, can't rate this b/c i'm actually in the process of making it right now AND i tweaked it a bit, but so far, so good. i didn't like all the recipes for bbq sauce that used ketchup b/c i was trying to make something a bit "healthier" for us than the bottled sauces in the store. so i cut the corn syrup back to 1/2 c. and substituted 1/4 c. honey for the rest. i also didn't have onion powder so i substituted additional garlic powder for that and added 1/4 t. ancho chile pepper powder, which is kind of smoky, since i didn't have liquid smoke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      This was very good. Easy to make and a great taste. It is a bit on the sweet side but most BBQ sauces are, aren't they?? Will go good when the BBQ season starts in earnest (soon I hope!!!) Thanks Mysterygirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Mysterygirl,I can't compare this to the real thing, because I have never tried the real thing before,but if it tastes as good as this recipe,it is wonderful.I love the sweet and smoked flavor of this sauce.and it was a simple and easy recipe to make too.Thanks for posting this great sauce recipe. Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Thank you so much for posting this! I've wanted to try it since it first appeared here, and finally I have. My favourite style of BBQ sauce is a sweet, smoky version and boy, is this IT! I used this with Mean Chef's "Pulled Pork" and it was just perfect. It was very easy to prepare, with ingredients I always keep on hand. I made two batches, one that sat in the fridge overnight and one that I made just a couple of hours before serving dinner (I didn't think I had enough, you see). Even the batch that didn't get a chance to really let the flavours develop was fantastic. I know I will make this again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      I really like this barbeque sauce! It didn't take long to make and cooked up nice and thick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for K.C.Masterpiece Original Barbecue Sauce by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (1025 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 648.2
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    12%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1592.4 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 168.0 g
    56%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 72.9 g
    291%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites