44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This sauce is excellent! The ginger gives it a wonderful flavor.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi September 20, 2002

Inez this is without a doubt delicious! We went through 7 pounds of ribs yesterday and it drew ohhs and ahhs. The honey really made this I think. I still have a 1/2 cup left and will be used on some sausage tonight. LOL! Thanks for a great keeper. Chuck

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck in Killbuck September 23, 2002

This sauce is fantastic. I made it early in the day and let it simmer on low for about an hour. I put it on baby back ribs during the last hour of cooking them and they were truly outstanding. I have found my new favorite bbq sauce. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryL in Canada February 22, 2004

A standard bbq sauce. I left out the 1 tsp salt because of all the salt in the ketchup and soy sauce, and it was plenty salty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donut Chef March 04, 2009

I have been using this sauce for over a year and just realized I had not rated it. I was looking and trying various recipes when I found this one. The search was over as soon as I made a batch of this very good and incredibly
easy to make sauce. It was a bit sweet so I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce and now it is perfect for me and my guest always rave over it. Makes 1 quart and last for months in the fridge. Update 08/2010: Used molasses in place of honey with great results. Thanks MizzNezz!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wing-Man August 25, 2010

Fantastic! This is a wonderful barbecue sauce which my whole family enjoys. Honey gives a great flavor. Since I planned on using this as a condiment with things like grilled hamburgers, I simmered the sauce on the stove for about an hour. Thick and rich and stores well in the fridge. The kids have been enjoying it on all kinds of things. So much better than the uckky high fructose corn syrup based sauces in the store (as long as you use ketchup without HFCS). Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 03, 2010

I love this sauce. It is so sweet and tangy. I usually leave out the soy sauce and add 1-2 tablespoons of liquid smoke. We use it on everything from chicken to pork tenderloin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin Crable September 17, 2007

This is a good basic sauce. However, it was WAY too sweet for our likings. But with every great recipe it has to begin somewhere. We like a bar-b-que sauce that has some kick to it, so I added a tsp of cayenne pepper. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of white vinegar, a tsp of liquid smoke and another tsp of garlic poweder. That did it!!! It was really good on the apple/hickory ribs that I had smoked. And I agree, the longer it sits in the refigerator the better it gets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitKat54 November 28, 2006

Thought I'd review this again as I've made it too many times to count! I often have a bottle of this stored in the fridge now, it's practically a staple. I like it with a little extra ginger and garlic for a more kicky bbq sauce. It's perfect on everything! Porkchops, chicken, ribs...it's alllll good baby.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 July 31, 2006

Superb. I always ask my SIL to get me bbq sauce from Dubai and use it very sparingly. I tried your recipe and feel free Yippee!! I can ask for something else the next time. Thank you and yes I did not change a thing except I used chopped garlic instead of the garlic powder. The recipe was a dream to make with all the ingredients so easy for me to source (I had all of them right in my kitchen!!). I made chicken with it and it tasted divine. I can't wait to try more of your recipes. :) Fay

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girl from India February 19, 2004
Just the Best Barbecue Sauce Ever!