24 Reviews

Very good - made exactly as stated...but lacking something... can't figure it out - perhaps more salt and pepper - perhaps ??? more spice of somekind - help here, anyone?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! March 22, 2010

A big hit with the whole family. Didn't have tomato soup on hand so used tomato sauce instead of the canned tomatoes. Worked out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm September 27, 2009

These were delicious! I took Kachup's advice on this and used only 1 can of tomatoes and doubled the sugar. I used a can of rotel tomatoes because that was all I had since I forgot to buy a regular can. It was really tasty! I made half a recipe and the crockpot I have has keep warm, low, and high settings, it was done in 2 hours on low. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes June 16, 2009

This was absolutley wonderful. I followed the recipe with only a minor change - had no tomatoe soup so substitued tomatoe sauce w/ a small amount of water. Hot Hungarian Paprika, oh yeah. Yummo. The only reason I can't give this 5 stars is that it was more than my crock pot could hold. I have a 3 1/2 and there was no way it was going to hold everything. Worked around it with good results, but be forewarned, this recipe is for the larger crock pots. If you have the smaller crock, half the recipe will work fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala-kat February 02, 2009

My DH really liked the flavor of this dish..Reminded him of a dish his Mother use to make when he was a kid.She called it, sarma casserole...I took one reviewers idea of chopping up the cabbage and layering in the crock pot,just like my MIL use to do...I didnt like it as well ..,was just too muchy this way..I will try making the rolls next time ...Youve made my DH a happy man...Thank U for this recipe..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck January 17, 2009

Served as one of the main entrees for our Easter dinner and everyone loved them. I used a 28 oz can of tomatoes for the sauce and omitted the tomato soup. I substituted 2 Tbl brown sugar for the 1 Tbl of white sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brats-n-beer March 24, 2008

I make these often from a recipe for a slightly different version. Mine calls for ground pork instead of sausage. Also, includes a sauce for the finished rolls that calls for cooking two small onions, chopped in one tablespoon butter. To this add 8 oz. sour cream and 1 pound can tomatoes mashed, juice retained. Since we're into spicy, I use Ro-Tels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lglowicki February 13, 2008

I once again logged on to find this specific recipe and realized I had not reviewed it even though this has become the standard recipe for me for cabbage rolls. The only thing I do differently is to cook them slowly in a roaster in the oven and this I do only because I make multiple batches at a time. The aroma, when these are cooking, is terrific ... just makes you happy to be in the house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FEPO February 11, 2008

Good! The sausage and the sauerkraut add something unique and delicious to this dish. I still make our Grandmom's traditional cabbage rolls but these are our second favorite. I should mention that I halved the recipe and it barely fit into my standard size crockpot. Easy, filling and great family meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy August 02, 2006

Amazing cabbage rolls! I've never made cabbage rolls before, but in a fit of nostalgia went looking for a recipe like the one my grandmother used to make. This suited it to a T!! Everyone from my inlaws to my coworkers really enjoyed this. My husband even went back for seconds. The only think I will do differently is to add another can of tomatoes as they seemed to be very popular & made the leftovers a little moister. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chel Baker March 20, 2005
Just Like Tony Packos Cabbage Rolls-Crock Pot - Copycat