24 Reviews

Excellent job, Ruth! My wife prepared this for my sister (our family is Slovak, so we know our cabbage rolls), and it was excellent! Used a 5-qt crock pot, and one or two comments...first, you have the canned tomatoes mentioned twice...one 16 oz can w/juice should work fine. We actually used a 24 oz can, and the juice was too much, we had to ladle a little bit off. And, we felt the tomatos were a bit too acidic to taste, so we doubled the sugar. Fantastic! Overall, and excellent recipe! Thank you!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kachup May 17, 2003

This IS my new recipe for cabbage rolls. The dish is outstanding and has tons of flavor - most recipes are quite bland. My husband doesn't really care for them (I love them)but this recipe he really enjoyed. After reading the other reviews I just used one 16oz can of tomatoes, undrained, cooked it for 6 hours and it turned out fine. If someone wanted to make it really easy I would consider not even wrapping the meatballs, just put some of the cabbage on the bottom, layer the meat balls next and then the sauce mixture. Now they wouldn't exactly be "rolls" but for ease that step could be skipped. Thanks for sharing - we had a great meal tonight!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW August 07, 2003

This was excellent! The sauerkraut made all the difference. The tomatoes I used didn't have much juice so I added 4 small cans of V-8. I didn't care for the sausage and I think I'll use just hamburger the next time. Thanks so much for this recipe. I really think it is my new favorite!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shermm May 31, 2003

Do you know how many cabbage rolls I have made in my lifetime trying to find THIS recipe? Thank you SO much for posting this! These are FANTASTIC! The only thing I did different was use ground pork instead of sausage and I added a little brown sugar to the sauce. I can't wait to make these again! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dutchgirl1966 December 04, 2012

I used to use a recipe out of a Hungarian cookbook, but once I made these, I will never go back. Excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hungarian Gypsy January 17, 2009

Followed this exactly. Flavour was great but my rice didn't cook?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acooke.rmt August 21, 2015

These were ok The topping was not very liquidy so the who meal was very dry. Maybe the addition of the extra can of tomatoes was supposed to be tomato sauce? I don't know... I may try again but with some changes. One tip I have is instead of cooking the leaves, put them in the freezer the night before and then thaw them the next day. Makes them perfectly soft to make the rolls

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee October 21, 2013

This was very good. I used a pound of Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage and it was very good. It was easy to make, in fact the hardest thing to do was cook the cabbage. I used Muir Glen Fire Roasted Tomatoes and did not use the butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears December 31, 2012

This recipe was amazing! my first try at cabbage rolls. I tinkered with the recipe somewhat. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and I added some of my favorite spices, tabasco, chili powder, worchestershire. it turned out amazing! I followed the reviews and used only 1 can of tomatoes, and used brown sugar instead. I agree this is a big recipe, as I had almost more filing than cabbage leaves. (2lbs meat) It also filled 2 crockpots but I have 2 anyways.. and the leftovers are great.
I love it when a recipe turns out awesome instead of ok. this was a hit..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacinator August 02, 2012

Wonderful recipe. I never thought of adding the sauerkraut before, but it does really make a difference. Some people find Polish stuffed cabbages boring and bland, well..... I think they need to try these! I had plenty extra to freeze and send home with my mom. She loved them too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefRD June 04, 2012
Just Like Tony Packos Cabbage Rolls-Crock Pot - Copycat