Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Just Like Tony Packos Cabbage Rolls-Crock Pot - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Just Like Tony Packos Cabbage Rolls-Crock Pot - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2003

      Excellent job, Ruth! My wife prepared this for my sister (our family is Slovak, so we know our cabbage rolls), and it was excellent! Used a 5-qt crock pot, and one or two comments...first, you have the canned tomatoes mentioned twice...one 16 oz can w/juice should work fine. We actually used a 24 oz can, and the juice was too much, we had to ladle a little bit off. And, we felt the tomatos were a bit too acidic to taste, so we doubled the sugar. Fantastic! Overall, and excellent recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      This IS my new recipe for cabbage rolls. The dish is outstanding and has tons of flavor - most recipes are quite bland. My husband doesn't really care for them (I love them)but this recipe he really enjoyed. After reading the other reviews I just used one 16oz can of tomatoes, undrained, cooked it for 6 hours and it turned out fine. If someone wanted to make it really easy I would consider not even wrapping the meatballs, just put some of the cabbage on the bottom, layer the meat balls next and then the sauce mixture. Now they wouldn't exactly be "rolls" but for ease that step could be skipped. Thanks for sharing - we had a great meal tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      This was excellent! The sauerkraut made all the difference. The tomatoes I used didn't have much juice so I added 4 small cans of V-8. I didn't care for the sausage and I think I'll use just hamburger the next time. Thanks so much for this recipe. I really think it is my new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Do you know how many cabbage rolls I have made in my lifetime trying to find THIS recipe? Thank you SO much for posting this! These are FANTASTIC! The only thing I did different was use ground pork instead of sausage and I added a little brown sugar to the sauce. I can't wait to make these again! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I used to use a recipe out of a Hungarian cookbook, but once I made these, I will never go back. Excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      These were ok The topping was not very liquidy so the who meal was very dry. Maybe the addition of the extra can of tomatoes was supposed to be tomato sauce? I don't know... I may try again but with some changes. One tip I have is instead of cooking the leaves, put them in the freezer the night before and then thaw them the next day. Makes them perfectly soft to make the rolls

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      This was very good. I used a pound of Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage and it was very good. It was easy to make, in fact the hardest thing to do was cook the cabbage. I used Muir Glen Fire Roasted Tomatoes and did not use the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      This recipe was amazing! my first try at cabbage rolls. I tinkered with the recipe somewhat. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and I added some of my favorite spices, tabasco, chili powder, worchestershire. it turned out amazing! I followed the reviews and used only 1 can of tomatoes, and used brown sugar instead. I agree this is a big recipe, as I had almost more filing than cabbage leaves. (2lbs meat) It also filled 2 crockpots but I have 2 anyways.. and the leftovers are great.
      I love it when a recipe turns out awesome instead of ok. this was a hit..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Wonderful recipe. I never thought of adding the sauerkraut before, but it does really make a difference. Some people find Polish stuffed cabbages boring and bland, well..... I think they need to try these! I had plenty extra to freeze and send home with my mom. She loved them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Very good - made exactly as stated...but lacking something... can't figure it out - perhaps more salt and pepper - perhaps ??? more spice of somekind - help here, anyone?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      A big hit with the whole family. Didn't have tomato soup on hand so used tomato sauce instead of the canned tomatoes. Worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      These were delicious! I took Kachup's advice on this and used only 1 can of tomatoes and doubled the sugar. I used a can of rotel tomatoes because that was all I had since I forgot to buy a regular can. It was really tasty! I made half a recipe and the crockpot I have has keep warm, low, and high settings, it was done in 2 hours on low. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This was absolutley wonderful. I followed the recipe with only a minor change - had no tomatoe soup so substitued tomatoe sauce w/ a small amount of water. Hot Hungarian Paprika, oh yeah. Yummo. The only reason I can't give this 5 stars is that it was more than my crock pot could hold. I have a 3 1/2 and there was no way it was going to hold everything. Worked around it with good results, but be forewarned, this recipe is for the larger crock pots. If you have the smaller crock, half the recipe will work fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      My DH really liked the flavor of this dish..Reminded him of a dish his Mother use to make when he was a kid.She called it, sarma casserole...I took one reviewers idea of chopping up the cabbage and layering in the crock pot,just like my MIL use to do...I didnt like it as well ..,was just too muchy this way..I will try making the rolls next time ...Youve made my DH a happy man...Thank U for this recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Served as one of the main entrees for our Easter dinner and everyone loved them. I used a 28 oz can of tomatoes for the sauce and omitted the tomato soup. I substituted 2 Tbl brown sugar for the 1 Tbl of white sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I make these often from a recipe for a slightly different version. Mine calls for ground pork instead of sausage. Also, includes a sauce for the finished rolls that calls for cooking two small onions, chopped in one tablespoon butter. To this add 8 oz. sour cream and 1 pound can tomatoes mashed, juice retained. Since we're into spicy, I use Ro-Tels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I once again logged on to find this specific recipe and realized I had not reviewed it even though this has become the standard recipe for me for cabbage rolls. The only thing I do differently is to cook them slowly in a roaster in the oven and this I do only because I make multiple batches at a time. The aroma, when these are cooking, is terrific ... just makes you happy to be in the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      Good! The sausage and the sauerkraut add something unique and delicious to this dish. I still make our Grandmom's traditional cabbage rolls but these are our second favorite. I should mention that I halved the recipe and it barely fit into my standard size crockpot. Easy, filling and great family meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      Amazing cabbage rolls! I've never made cabbage rolls before, but in a fit of nostalgia went looking for a recipe like the one my grandmother used to make. This suited it to a T!! Everyone from my inlaws to my coworkers really enjoyed this. My husband even went back for seconds. The only think I will do differently is to add another can of tomatoes as they seemed to be very popular & made the leftovers a little moister. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      FANTASTIC recipe!!!!!! I used only ground sirloin and substituted tomato sauce for the soup. I am making some with TVP (textured vegetable protein) for my vegetarian daughters. THANK you for sharing - I LOVE this recipe! *****

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Just Like Tony Packos Cabbage Rolls-Crock Pot - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (837 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 829.7
     
    Calories from Fat 387
    46%
    Total Fat 43.0 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 188.7 mg
    62%
    Sodium 2720.8 mg
    113%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 22.7 g
    91%
    Protein 39.6 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites