69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I grew up in Missouri and am a GREAT FAN of Lambert's throwed rolls and I must say that this recipe was SPOT ON! If they weren't so good I might have been tempted to throw one! (I just couldn't take the chance of it dropping on the floor. But then... I probably would have eaten it anyway!) Well done!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cprosperity4me February 21, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly but these did not turn out quite how they should have.The dough was quite tough and hard to work with.They did not rise as high as they should have either.The yeast I used was fresh so it couldn't be that.These tasted great though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny February 01, 2009

We have never been to Lamberts..But I did see the segment on the food channel,where they were throwing rolls at the customers..We perferred these rolls cooled,the yeasty flavory came thru better.I did add the 1/8 c sugar, a couple of reviewers added,I believe it needed it...Next time I will bake less time,so they will be a little softer ,15-20 minutes or slightly browned.Of all the dinner roll recipes I have tried,my DH liked this one the best..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck January 13, 2009

These are absolutely delicious and pretty foolproof. A beginner with breads here and they came out AWESOME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Butter Biatch January 08, 2009

Have been to Lamberts a few times and these rolls are just as good and easy to make. I added an 1/8c. more of sugar to the mix just to sweeten up a little. They were great and everyone loved them. Make these for your holiday meals and you will not be sorry, only if you do not make enough. They dissappear fast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keithceleste December 12, 2008

These do taste like Lambert's rolls. Very delicious. Can't stop eating them. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 09, 2008

Yum, Yum, Yum, Yummy! These are delicious! I served with Lasagna and salad and all I wanted to eat once I tasted the roll were the rolls!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
antilla22@gmail.com November 08, 2008

I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. These are some of the best rolls that I have ever had the pleasure of making and eating. They are light and airy with a bit of chewiness. I sprayed the outside of the rolls with water before I placed them in the oven so the they would form a nice crust. The only thing that I will do differently next time is to increase the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons, as they were just on the edge of tasting like they had no salt at all. I mixed 2 tablespoons of butter with 1 tablespoon of honey; melting it in the microwave for 15 seconds and mixed well. I brushed the honey butter on the rolls as soon as they came out of the oven. These rolls really are to die for and I plan on adding them to my Thanksgiving table 2008!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandess November 07, 2008

Excellent roll recipe! They turned out really sweet which I loved. Because I had rapid rise yeast I just threw it in with the milk and everything else. It worked wonderful. They rise well and are very fluffy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
playingw/flavors March 23, 2008

My daughter has made these for some time and recently I started making them, too. I've had Lambert's before and these are just as good. And with gas prices as they are now, there is money to be saved by making them at home. Didn't change a thing. Really easy to make and we enjoy them everytime we have them. Thanks for posting this recipe!!! It gets 5 stars from me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alice, ma March 14, 2008
Just Like Lambert's "throwed" Rolls - Copycat