Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Just Like Lambert's "throwed" Rolls - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Just Like Lambert's "throwed" Rolls - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2009

      I was nervous when I used a lot more flour than the recipe called for but when my Mom (whose bread is repeatedly asked for at dinners) asked me "these were store bought, right?" I knew I'd done good. She went on to say "are you kidding me, yeast breads don't usually rise this much in the cold weather" My little trick: When letting bread rise during the winter, I heat my oven to 200 and then turn it off, letting the covered bread rest in the warmed oven. This method has never failed me. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      I wish my rolls looked like the ones in the photo. Honestly, I was pretty disappointed....wasted good ingredients. My issue was while the rolls were pretty light...they HAD NO FLAVOR AT ALL! I followed the recipe to the letter expecting a great roll. I am glad I did a test batch before I made a batch for a church pot luck. I can only recall one other time in the last year when I've had such a tastless roll. What a waste!! Look for another recipe because this is not the one!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      I subbed white whole wheat flour for the AP. I also had the website reconfigure the ingredients to make 18 rather than 12 rolls. That was a mistake. These are huge! I could easily have made 18 normal sized rolls from the original recipe. I used roughly 90g of dough per roll. Next time, I'd probably go somewhere between 50-60. I also baked them side by side on a parchment lined cookie sheet rather than in a muffin pan and put an egg wash on top.

      I never measure flour by volume, always by weight. My converted recipe called for 6c of flour, which is 240g. It was nowhere near enough. I added at least 1.5 cups while my Kitchenaid was mixing this and I was still adding when I did a little bit of hand kneading at the end.

      The verdict: Texturally, these were great. I was (apparently unnecessarily) worried about all of the extra flour. Flavor-wise, they need a little something more. I think next time I make these, I'll try buttermilk instead. It would have helped if I had remembered salted butter for the table too. I haven't been to Lambert's in at least 5 years but I'm willing to say these are comparable to their rolls. Even people who know I'm serious about cooking were asking me where I bought them. :) This one is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Yep... these are amazing! I typically make my rolls with whole wheat flour, which I also did in this case... and they turned out decent. I figured that the 52 positive reviews were likely on account of the white flour - and sure enough, once prepared accurately they were to-die-for! Do not forego the white flour on this recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Did just as stated. Came out perfect. Great flavor and awesome texture. Keeper for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      Seriously the BEST homemade rolls!! They do taste just like Lambert's "throwed" rolls. My entire family devoured these babies! They were so easy to make. These will definitely be a new family tradition. And my kids love to "throw" them before they eat them :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      good, but not worth the work. And we had one that sat uneaten for a week too so they're not craveable enough for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      I made these today exactly as written except I used my bread machine to make the dough. I didnt think they were as sweet as I would have like them, I will adjust the sugar next time. Also watch them close when baking as I didnt bake them as long as was called for and almost burnt them(I only baked for 15 min and probably should have checked them around 10 min) I will try tio let them rise in the pan more next time as they werent as big as Lamberts rolls, that was my fault for sure, but live and learn. right? Thanks KC for a great recipe......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      My family and I have ate at Lamberts a few times and the food was delicious.

      I made these rolls and while they were beautiful just like the pictures however, they didn't have much of a taste. Very bland. They need more salt and a little more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      These smelled and tasted deliscious! I also loved how easy it was to pull them apart to spread butter. My family of four ate them up quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      KC_Cooker, thank you so much for sharing this recipe! These rolls were perfect: Tender, buttery goodness! YUM! The only thing I had trouble with was rolling the dough into balls for the second rise. My dough was REALLY sticky! I coated my hands with butter, which really helped! Thanks again for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      These were AWESOME!! I made one change, I didn't butter the muffin tins, I used the recipe found here BETTER THAN PAM, and wiped the inside of the muffin tins with that. THEY RELEASED SO EASILY! I will be making these again, IN FACT, I am going to make them as far as to the putting the 2 in the pan for the 2nd rise, and make my own "use only what's needed". LOVE IT!! Thanks bunches!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I will gladly add another 5 star rating to these rolls. I just love everything about these rolls, they rise so nicely and are just wonderful to eat. I made 1/2 of the recipe which still yeilded 8 large rolls. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      KC, the only thing I did not do was "throw" the rolls. The only thing extra that I added was 1 tablespoon of freshly squeeze lemon juice to enhance the rising of the dough, worked so beautifully. The rolls turned out absolutely perfect, they were a beautiful light brown. My DW who will not eat my breads or buns, ate one and I now have her convinced as to how good these are. KC, thank you for sharing this recipe, it is now on the number one hit list. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      KC, you are awesome! I am from Springfield MO, and Lambert's is my husbands favorite place to eat! He is in the Army and last year was our first Thanksgiving together in 5 years! And his request was he wanted rolls like at Lamberts! These were so good and made us feel like we were home! Thank you so much for this recipe, you made him one happy man!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      These are absolutely incredible!!!! They don't taste yeasty at all. I used bread flour instead of regular. Definitely taste like they came from a restaurant! Thank you for a fabulous recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      YUM and PERFECT! Nobody could figure out how I made them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I was wondering......Do you have to use real butter?????????????????????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Oh My!!!...These are Outstanding!!!....Taste!!!...Smell.....Ease of Making....Will make these all the time!!!...Thank you so much!!!...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      AMAZING! I have tried many, many rolls in the last year or two, and these are the very best! They rise alot and very quickly too, but have enough density they hold a beautiful shape. Thank you SO much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Just Like Lambert's "throwed" Rolls - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.9
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    21%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 28.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 244.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes