Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Just Like Dewey's Candied Walnut and Grape Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Just Like Dewey's Candied Walnut and Grape Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2013

      Love this Salad! The only thing I changed was instead of grapes I put dried Cranberries and will try the grapes next time for sure! I also added Grilled Chicken to make a meal of it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Fabulous! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I don't even like balsamic vinegar, yet somehow this sounded appealing and boy am I glad I gave it a try. I even sent my husband on a special trip to the store to get gorgonzola, but forgot to put it on the salad!! It was wonderful anyway! Will definitely be making this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      "Loved it" I had to make one minor substitution; I didn't have any lemon juice so I used lime. This will most definitely be a salad I make from time to time (when I'm not trying other recipes off this site).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      yummy. easy salad to throw together, and the dressing is fantastic - i did use feta instead of gorgonzola, but, it worked - i'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Very yummy! I made my own candied pecans. I was temped to throw in a few pears, but I decided to make it as is this time around. Thanks so much for a fabulous salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      What a totally awesome salad! I've never eaten at Dewey's Pizza so cant compare it to theirs, but this is simply great! I used a combo of red & green grapes. I did use candied pecans from the store already made. I'll be making this one over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This was sooo good! Lovely presentation and the flavors were divine! I actually forgot to add in the basil and used shaved parmesan instead of gorgonzola but the taste was still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      This recipe is very similar to the salad served at Dewey's. I doubled the amount of grapes. I messed up when I was shopping and bought feta instead of gorganzola. The gorganzola would be better but it was still a hit with the feta. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      UPDATED: We still love the taste of this recipe but beware when serving to guest--the orange juice and dark vinegar in the dressing combine and become an unappetizing shade of green-gray in the bottom of bowl. I will purchase white balsamic vinegar to try and update again. Please note: The shade of dressing will NOT STOP us from eating (or serving) this salad because we loved the flavors but just wanted to let others know! ORIGINAL REVIEW: Loved this recipe! The tang of the oj and mustard played perfectly against the creamy gorgonzola, juicy grapes and crunchy sweet almonds. (We had no walnuts or pecans, so I subbed candied almonds.) Will add chives/red onions and maybe avocado next time but this is wonderful as written. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I made this salad for my daughter's graduation party. It was a HUGE hit. Everyone dug in and the salad disappeared in no time at all! I would have to say everyone loved it by the looks of the bowl when I went to get some and it was gone! Good thing I tried some before the party! LOL Thanks for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      This is such a good salad...colourful, flavourful, and delicious, with the added bonus of only 2 tablespoons of oil in the dressing. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Great! I used a spring mix bagged salad for the greens. I loved the flavors, I think that thinly sliced red onion would also go well in this salad. I will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I can't believe more people haven't reviewed this salad. It is delicious all year around and is a crowd pleaser each time I serve it. Grapes and gorgonzola match nicely with the dressing for great flavor. There was no need for any changes, and it really is as good as Drewey's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Wonderful salad. I used the candied walnut Candied Walnuts and they were fantastic. I had no fresh basil and put in a fat pinch of dried. I forgot about the garlic (meant to use some frozen roasted that I had on hand) so stirred in about 1/4 tsp of garlic powder last minute. And finding no gorgonzola at my store I use roquefort. Sounds like a lot of changes but still made a great salad. Will definitely make again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      I made this tonite and am so happy to have a new salad for summer! Very different and unexpected flavor. We used fresh salad greens from our garden and cubed an avacado on top. YUM! Next time I'm slicing vidallia or walla walla onions on top! We also substituted candied pecans because I couldn't find any walnuts in my pantry! Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      I just discovered this salad, it has the most, unexpected and, unbelievable, flavor!!!A+++ My family will be enjoying this recipe for a long time!!! Thanks, Sue L

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Just Like Dewey's Candied Walnut and Grape Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.2
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    61%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 518.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    candied walnuts

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes